Because of computers, I may lose my job

Suzuka

25 posts in this topic

Well, as some people may know, every summer I go to work at a pediatrics office, I mostly filed charts and did some insurance forms. However, this year, they changed the system, so insted of charts, all the information will be stored on computers, which means, I may lose my job, unless something else comes up for me to do. So now I'm sad, I was planing to get a PS3 this summer, but now its gunna be tough getting enough money.

Has anyone else here been replaced by a machine?

In a sense, yes. When I was younger I worked as a projectionist (very good job if you were studying, afternoon/evening and very little to do)

Originally the law said that there had to be 2 projectionists for each screen.

Eventually with automation they needed just one projectionist for several screens.

I'm firmly in support of labor being replaced by machines.

I agree, provided everybody is guaranteed a decent income.

Many years ago they were saying that eventually we would work only a few hours a week for the same wages.

What happened is just the opposite. People still work 40 hours (if they are lucky) for less money and a lot less social security.

In some cases, I agree, then we need more persision than humans, but in this case, no (Not because it is my job) for a few reasons. first off, its more inconvinient to the doctors, my dad (who is a doctor) has tried the idea at another hospital, he complained about typing any information was more trouble than just writing it. There are a few upsides, People don't have to worry about hte doctors mmessy handwriting, and you don't need to fax the information everywhere.

But not, what happens when I'm 20? will machines be the cashier (that's already started) at the grocery store?

It would be nice if a machine could provide customer service.