[SOLVED] Lenovo X1 Extreme on OpenCore unable to get to installer

xefyr0

27 posts in this topic

Hello, yet another hackintosh newbie here who's found himself in need of help.

I was trying to make my first hackintosh on a Lenovo ThinkPad X1 Extreme Gen 3 (Serial 20TK001JUS) with OpenCore by following Dortania's guide.
I got to the installation process section of the guide and of course hit a brick wall. Booting up from my thumb drive yielded a result similar to the one found in 1.jpeg in the drive link below, so I immediately went and attempted a bunch of fixes I found in and out of the guide. None of them actually got the verbose log to continue past that point, however, and I'm not so confident that I got all of them working properly before I moved on to the next one.
Moving on, I decided to try again with a clean slate and reassembled the EFI folder from scratch and wound up with the same result I had before. This time, however, a few seconds after reaching that point the screen got scrambled as can be seen in 2.jpeg. I assumed this was the same issue as described in the troubleshooting section of the Dortania guide, but unfortunately there is no CSM or "Boot Legacy ROMs" setting in my BIOS.

That brings me here. From what I can tell I've encountered two separate issues, but the screen smearing has only occurred twice so far while the verbose log stopping has been more consistent throughout my attempts.

Some information not present in the drive link below:
CPU: Intel i9-10885h (Comet Lake)
Mobo: WM490 chipset
iGPU: Intel UHD Graphics (device ID 9BC4)
dGPU: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1650 Ti with Max-Q Design (Turing Architecture)
Builtin screen resolution: 1920x1080

I'm trying to boot macOS Big Sur 11.2.3 (Most recent version at the time of writing)

UEFI BIOS version is N2VET29W (Most recent version at the time of writing)
I've been using a 2015 MacBookPro to create and modify the 32 GB boot USB

EFI, screen photos & and OpenCore log: