All displays go black after turning on the second display

GroundedCopilot

3 posts in this topic

Hi Team, 

This is my first time in the forum and I need your help because I am frustrated with the problem I am facing. I have read many forums and tried many tweaks but my issue hasn't been resolved. 

My issue: I have 2 x U2515H displays connected through a daisy chain. My main display is connected through a DP. When I boot up my Hackintosh running Catalina (happened with Mojave) and the main display is turned on a the second is turned off it all boots fine. However after Catalina has boot up and then I try to turn on the second display both displays go black and enter a power saving mode. The only way to get my displays working after this is to connect my displays to my HDMI port. What us also really interesting is when I boot with both displays on, they are mirror images. If I then try to go into the display settings the arrangement tab is missing.

I really need my 2 displays to work in extended view mode for productivity.

Your help would be greatly appreciated

My build is: z390 Aorus Pro WiFi | Sapphire Nitro+ Radeon RX 580 8 GB GDDR5 | i5 9600k Coffee Lake | Samsung Pro 970 M.2 | Dell U2515H

Key Bios settings: CSM - enabled | Internal graphics - disabled | 4G decoding - disabled

Screen Shot 2019-10-19 at 7.44.49 am.png

Screen Shot 2019-10-19 at 7.44.37 am.png

Screen Shot 2019-10-19 at 7.46.43 am.png

Screen Shot 2019-10-19 at 7.46.56 am.png

Screen Shot 2019-10-19 at 7.44.13 am.png

Screen Shot 2019-10-19 at 7.44.26 am.png

Well, you must take a look in some things:

1st point: Whatevergreen can perform most required patches to enable video automatically. But to do it, yout must disable and/or remove DSDT patch GFX0->iGPU and all fixes related to audio/video, like: FixDisplay, AddIMEI, FixIntelGfx, AddHDMI, etc and set Inject » ATI and Intel to No (select and then deselect).