USB 3.0 Problem Hackintosh Mojave 10.14.1

rdall96

10 posts in this topic

Hello everyone!

I am fairly new to the world of Hackintosh. I recently moved my previous build into a smaller form factor. However, I am running into a series of problems with the USB ports on the new case and the new motherboard.

Part List:

- i7-7700k

- Gigabyte Z270N Gaming 5

- 16GB Trident Z RGB 3200 MHz

- Sapphire RX 470

- NZXT Kraken x62

- NZXT H200 for the case

Everything in the Hackintosh works just like it did before, nothing changed in the hardware department other than the motherboard (previously a gigabyte Z20X Ultra) and the case.

This motherboard does not have any USB 2.0 ports in the back, there is only one header on the board, currently taken by the Kraken x62. The rest of the ports are all either USB 3.1 Gen1 or USB 3.1 Gen2, and the front of the case has 3.1 Gen1 ports as well.

This is my current problem:

When I plug something into either the type A or type C Gen2 ports, it works fine as a normal USB 3.x device with normal speeds, but when I plug something into any other USB port, it only works at lower 2.0 speeds. This is a big problem for me, since I have a few external devices that need the 3.0+ speeds and I don't know what to do.
I tried to follow many different guides on how to patch USB ports, remove the limits, etc... But nothing seems to work.

Please someone help me!

4 hours ago, styrian said:

Hello and welcome!

You could try this solution: https://www.insanelymac.com/forum/topic/335018-intel-fb-patcher-v163/

Have fun.

I tried this, but with zero success. The problem persists and when I plug in a USB 3.0 drive and run a speed test, it still goes at 2.0 speeds.

Any other ideas of what could be causing this?

Hello!

Platform search give this matches: https://www.insanelymac.com/forum/search/?&q="gigabyte z270n"&search_and_or=or&sortby=relevancy