Stuck at Apple logo | i8700k | ROG STRIX Z370-G GAMING | RX 580

petkovea

11 posts in this topic

Hi all, a newbie here!

I just built the following machine but can't get past the Apple logo during installation:

Intel® Core™ i7-8700K Processor

ROG STRIX Z370-G GAMING (WI-FI AC)

ROG-STRIX-RX580-O8G-GAMING

RAM Kingston 32GB (2x16) (2400mHz)

2 x SAMSUNG 960 EVO M.2 250GB

2 x Seagate SkyHawk 4TB Surveillance Hard Drive 64MB

NZXT Kraken X62 liquid cooler

I followed this guide for my hack https://www.insanelymac.com/forum/topic/321872-guide-sierra-high-sierra-on-mobos-serie-100-200-300-skylake-kabylake-coffeelake-dsdt/ and did everything accordingly, used the provided EFI folder as well.

BIOS settings

Exit → Load Optimized Defaults : Yes
Advanced \ System Agent(SA) Configuration → Vt-d : Disabled
Advanced \ PCH Configuration → IOAPIC 24-119 Entries : Enabled
Advanced \ APM Configuration → Power On By PCI-E/PCI : Disabled
Advanced \ Network Stack Configuration → Network Stack : Disabled
Advanced \ USB Configuration → Legacy USB Support : Auto ( needs to be auto for SSDT-UIAC.aml to work )
Boot → Fast Boot : Disabled
Boot → Secure Boot → OS Type : Other OS
Boot → CSM : Disabled ( Only enable if using dual monitor setup)

Verbose outputs the following error after which the system reboots straight to the Clover bootloader.

r10): Starting \.IABootFiles\boot.efi

Hibernate wake: no

+++++++++++++++++++++

I tried fiddling with fakecpuid, various kext patches but no matter what I do I can never make it to the installation welcome menu.... I also tried everything Roberto suggests (even his EFI folder) in this video https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=URtiCmVewNA albeit all in vain.

Any help will be much appreciated, thank you in advance!

11 minutes ago, Gigamaxx said:

Use your cursor arrows at clover screen and go to “options” then go to CPU Tuning and uncheck halt enabler, and pstates.    Ty that and use verbose mode for error codes.