Windows & macOS dual boot on different drives (OSInstall.mpgk missing/damaged)

mrHooty

5 posts in this topic

Hello,

I would like to dual boot macOS and Windows 10,but with both on its own drive. Is this possible? Currently I'm having a Samsung 960 EVO 500GB M.2 where Windows is installed on and also a  Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SATA SSD where macOS should be installed on.

Please don't mind me if this post is not complete: I'm very new to this scene and 

After using Glasgoods Guide (because I have similar hardware) my PC installs macOS from a USB drive onto the 500GB SSD, but why trying to do the "post install installation" (completing the installation by booting into the installation) I just get the error, that the file "/System/Installation/Packages/OSInstall.mpgk" (don't mind me if this isn't 100% correct) is damaged or doesn't exists. After doing a bit research I found out, that this can be caused by so damn much. Could this be the case because I'm having two hard drives? It doesn't have anything to do with that one .kext file in the driver64UEFI folder, because I don't even have it there. My MB time is also correct.

I've also tried booting back into the setup and then copying the Packages folder out of the InstallESD.dmg to my system by hand, but I didn't really knew where to place them. When loading the setup there's an image mounted with the name "OS X Base System" but 1) I'm not able to copy them there (because for some reason there is no space) and 2) it feels wrong.

In the following I've listed my components. Maybe this helps:

• CPU: Intel i7 8700k
  • MB: ASUS ROG STRIX Z370-F GAMING
  • RAM: 32GB G.Skill Trident Z (4x8GB)
  • GPU: Nvidia GeForce GTX980
  • Drive 1: Samsung 960 EVO 500GB M.2: Windows sits here
  • Drive 2: Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SATA: macOS should be installed here

To create my install stick I've used the latest High Sierra image from the App Store (downloaded about 6hrs ago) with Clover 2.4 r4411.

I kindly appreciate your help.