Vitsa + OSX 10.4.6

TMB-X-

11 posts in this topic

Hello,

I have been running Vista for about 2-3 months and when I saw that RTM got leaked I jumped on it. Well meanwhile I found the amazing world of dualbooting with OSX 10.4.6.

So last night I spent most of the night trying to get the two to work together on my Sony VGN-SZ110 with one HDD partitioned 4 ways. I can get Vista to work then I can install OSX 10.4.6 and get it to run (but not without the DVD in the tray) but then Vista doesn't even see itself when I put in the install disk. So then I tried to do a clean install of Vista and while OSX 10.4.6 is installed on the harddrive Vista says it cannot find a partition needed for the install (even after I delete and reformat the Vista partition). It is only after I delete the OSX 10.4.6 that Vista will install. I cannot find any information (pouring over these boards) that really seems to be tailored towards this.

If anyone has done this they seem to say put this on and this will happen and then viola it works.

I cannot seem to do that.

So my questions:

Is there anyway to dual boot these two Operating Systems on one harddrive? If so how?

Is there a way to install one and then the other and get a bootloader working? If so how?

It seems Vista doesn't like OSX being on the same Harddrive so is there anyway around this? If so how?

I can get OSX 10.4.6 up and running and I can see my Vista partition but I cannot do anything but look. Any experience, comments, suggestions would be very helpful seeing that I am stuck in an infinite loop of installing one OS after the other then starting over again.

Oh. Also is there a way to set a partition active in the terminal in OSX 10.4.6?

Because right now at boot of OSX 10.4.6 I get the "HFS+ Partition Error" and there is no boot?

I'm thinking that if I can change the active partition I can get Vista to install? Maybe?

Can some one give me an example if so?

Ok let me set this up in the form of a guide or how to: