Won't boot without DVD

shep

13 posts in this topic

Hi everyone,

I'm fairly new to MAC, but worked with Linux a bit (Gentoo) so be easy on me...

I decided to check out OSX86 so I wiped out a drive and unplugged my XP drive so I didn't have to worry about the dual boot stuff right now to make sure I could even install it on my system. The install barked a bit after creating only 1 partition for the install so I created another partition and the installation seemed to go with out issue. But now it won't boot without the install disc in the drive? The XP drive is still unplugged so this isn't an issue. I'm in the OS now so it's working fine, but can't boot on it's own. If I insert the installation disc, it boots the disk and boots me into my installed OS. I know with Linux I used Lilo for a boot manager and worked without issue with multiboots no problem. Any idea's on how I can fix this problem and at least be able to boot the OS without the install disc? The hard drive is a SATA if that makes a difference. The installation disc used was JaS 10.4.8.

I hope I provided enough info, if not just let me know.

Any input is greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Shep

Format the entire drive as FAT32 using a Windows/Linux disk/partition utility.

Start the OSX installer and select Disk Utility in the Utilities menu. Format the primary partition (listed below the hard drive) as MacOS Extended Journaled.

Install OSX.

Hi Rammjet

Thanks for the input.

I did as you said. Used my XP install and formated the partition with FAT32 marked it as active. Booted the install disc and used the disc utility to format the partition as MacOS Extended (Journaled) and now all I get is:

There were error's [Restart]