zzz

Workaround for Ricoh card readers on Yosemite (PCI) Laptop

6 posts in this topic

Keywords:

Ricoh, PCI, SD, SDXC, VoodooSDXC, HSSDBlockStorage, T61, T61p, R61e.

Recently decided to get a T61p running Yosemite: Noticed a heap of people out in the cold with Ricoh based PCI card readers. 

I am no programmer, but I can google well and I do like to see how kernel extensions work with a bit of tweaking.

Noticed the HSSDBlockStorage.kext for JMicron based PCI cards exposes the PCI to JMB38X.kext

So I took a look at both kexts and a working kext for Mavericks for the "Ricoh Co Ltd R5C822 SD/SDIO/MMC/MS/MSPro Host Adapter [1180:0822] (rev 21)" (Perfect T61 Hacbook Bundle -Google -HackintoshOSX forums), added values from JMB38X.kext to VoodooSDHC.kext, added values from VoodooSDHC.kext to HSSDBlockStorage.kext and it loaded and read the cards, formatted etc.

I dont have source code for HSSDBlockStorage or coding knowledge, however AppleSDXC.kext is out there.  I have noticed Slice and Andy Val and a few over at OSXLattitude have been looking at Ricoh based cards. I am hoping this might shine some light. Who knows.

What I will say is I own a T61p from '07. Anyone who knows the backstory of Nvidia GPU's from back then knows that they are volatile - prone to atefacts and dieing. So I have to treat my computer with cotton wool, I have probably spent more time keeping this machine stable and looking at the console than most (no offence to those that do/don't).  If I didnt do GPU intensive tasks on a volatile GPU I would class this "hack" as OK to pass as a 100% working solution, but on this machine (untested on others -note: some bios's dont report IRQ's properly, FSB, etc etc) when I hit hi triangle counts I can get GPU errors with this "solution/hack". I attribute it to the way the PCIe is handing access to the VoodooSDHC kext.