AMD Hackintosh OSX Yosemite Only boots via safemode -x

Destroya01

4 posts in this topic

Hello,

I'm new to Hackintoshing and would appreciate some assistance.

My Hardware specs are:

Motherboard: AMD Crosshair V

CPU: Phenom II 1090t

RAM: 16GB DDR3

Graphics Card: Quadro FX 3800

HardDrive: Seagate 1TB

I was successfully able to install OSX Yosemite 10.10.1 via my USB Yosemite(installation drive) using AMD kernel (1010-SSEPLUS-Rev.2) from this thread:

http://www.insanelymac.com/forum/topic/302075-amd-yosemite-kernel-testing-for-help-use-the-help-topic/page-41

Currently I can get the system to boot from my hard drive installation via these flags: -x -v GraphicsEnabler=Yes npci=0x3000

However, If I want to boot into the Yosemite installer on my USB drive, I type these flags: -v GraphicsEnabler=Yes npci=0x3000

(Notice how if I boot into the Yosemite installer via the USB it does not require the safe mode -x flag.)

Anyway, I also noticed that if I removed all of the nvidia kexts from S/L/E folder, I actually can boot into my Yosemite hard drive installation without the safe mode flag. However, this method isn't really a fix because I obviously want to use my Nvidia card drivers or else the entire desktop will be laggy and I won't have any graphics acceleration.

Even if I place the nvidia kexts back into the S/L/E folder the system does not have graphics acceleration. However, when I check my the "About my MAC" it shows that my graphics card (Quadro Fx 3800) was detected properly.

I also tried an AMD 5850 in the same machine, but same problem, would only get to the login screen if I boot via safe mode.

If I do not use the safe mode flag when booting into my hard drive installation of Yosemite, I am stuck with the spinning color wheel cursor with a white background.

Is there any way to achieve full graphics acceleration and boot into Yosemite without the safe mode flag?

Am I experiencing two separate problems or are they related somehow?