mattsnowboard

TP-Link TL-WDN4800 - 5GHz issue/investigation

7 posts in this topic

I saw the TP-Link TL-WDN4800 was supported for OS X so I bought it but couldn't get 5GHz to work (it's my only 5GHz client right now and in an apartment, 5GHz is awesome...for the time being). I checked the console and noticed that the off-channel scans only do 1-13, 36-60. So it misses if your router defaults to one of the higher channels.

Any idea why that is? Does the AR93x driver not support those channels (on a real Mac)? Does the scan just have a bug?

It's also curious that the scan does 12/13, which aren't supposed to be used in North America.

It almost seems like the country configuration is just off: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_WLAN_channels

Israel? Singapore? China?

Anyone know if there is some locale setting that the wlan driver is getting? I'm interested in diving into this issue a bit more because I'm a developer for some of the WiFi components in Windows :whistle:   and look at similar issues to this every day at work.

Advertisement

I saw the TP-Link TL-WDN4800 was supported for OS X so I bought it but couldn't get 5GHz to work (it's my only 5GHz client right now and in an apartment, 5GHz is awesome...for the time being). I checked the console and noticed that the off-channel scans only do 1-13, 36-60. So it misses if your router defaults to one of the higher channels.

Any idea why that is? Does the AR93x driver not support those channels (on a real Mac)? Does the scan just have a bug?

It's also curious that the scan does 12/13, which aren't supposed to be used in North America.

It almost seems like the country configuration is just off: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_WLAN_channels

Israel? Singapore? China?