Jump to content
Kogen Mantis

Lenovo ThinkPad T420 with UEFI Only

4,550 posts in this topic

Recommended Posts

 

On 12/19/2018 at 6:06 PM, goodguess said:

So yeah, the procedure seems to be still doable.

Looks like I did not want to delete anything I had found, though it is not needed to get the downgrade done.

Follow these simple steps:

on Win 7 or earlier :

1. Grab a USB stick and format it FAT32 with the hidden DOS system files on it.

I think I used HPUSBDisk.exe and the files from usbdos.zip while running some Windows OS.

2. Copy over all needed files.

 You will need at least PFLASH.exe, B146.FL1, B146M.FL1 and the TP directory with the winflash.exe.

3. Boot from your USB device into DOS.

4. Type in: PFLASH /sa B146.FL1 (This should downgrade your T420 to BIOS 1.46)

5. Boot into Windows again, open a DOS window and navigate to USB/TP/bios_mod.

6. Type in: winflash /sa B146M.FL1

From the winflash GUI, select "Flash BIOS only" then click on the "Flash" button.

That should be it - reboot and enjoy your modded BIOS.

You may have guessed that M stands for the modded BIOS you finally want.

Besides the whitelist removal, some AMT features are also disabled with the mod.

 

Good luck!

 

For the rare possibility that you already ditched all your Windows installer DVDs:

The Internet Archive has one here: https://archive.org/details/HPOperatingSystemDVDWindows7ProfessionalSP164-bit650434-DN32012

No serial needed, but the install is not a "genuine" W7 of course. ;)

 

HPUSBDisk.exe

usbdos.zip

OpenMe.iso

 

@tluck : I think this procédure (goodguess' one) is great and may be added to your guide for those as me who update there BIOS to newer as 1.46 (DOWNGRADE)

 

@goodguess : THANKS AGAIN for your help :thumbsup_anim:

:thanks_speechbubble: thanks to you my DELL 1510 (BCM94322HM8L) is fully working now :-) :thanks_speechbubble:

For Europeen users : do not use channels 12 and 13 in 2.4GHz, if your BCM94322HM8L card come from China.

this huge tip was brought to me by goodguess too :-)

Edited by Tetonne

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Advertisement

@goodguess

I've done clear install, so that should be fine. System freezes are suddenly gone after few reboots, so it's really weird. But now I'm getting random graphic glitches (see picture attached), it is happening only in Firefox so maybe it's just its own problem. I'll probably try to install High Sierra instead as it seems to be more stable for now.

Screenshot 2018-12-29 at 17.50.01.png

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

@goodguess hmm. yeah just verified the odd behavior with JPG files. never noticed it before

 

SO switched the model to MBP9,1 vs MBP11,1

- jgp view works in Finder and Preview as well 

nightshift still works etc and will update as expected 

- mojave compatible.

 

I have not tried to see if running as MBP8,1 is more stable. I will run with mbp9,1 for awhile to see if it works better.

 

@bxe if you have 1600x900 LCD then maybe inject the "2e3" EDID. that ism,  move config.1600x900.2e3.plist to config.plist (default)

Edited by tluck

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thank you, Goodguess.  I'm running installs while I wait for the new wireless card.  I'm not getting any bluetooth right now, are there steps to get the onboard bluetooth working?

 

Also, my trackpad is working, but I'm not getting single touch, just x and y movement.  Any ideas?  Synaptics hardware, I believe.

Edited by namisloc

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
15 hours ago, namisloc said:

Thank you, Goodguess.  I'm running installs while I wait for the new wireless card.  I'm not getting any bluetooth right now, are there steps to get the onboard bluetooth working?

 

Also, my trackpad is working, but I'm not getting single touch, just x and y movement.  Any ideas?  Synaptics hardware, I believe.

what model do yo have?

 

if you read the guide, you will see the note:

Enable (turn on) Bluetooth so the green light is showing on the LCD bezel (do from Windows or Ubuntu).

  • Also make sure the side switch is set to green too!

on trackpad - use the apple system prefs to turn that feature on under trackpad - called tap to click

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
22 minutes ago, tluck said:

what model do yo have?

 

if you read the guide, you will see the note:

Enable (turn on) Bluetooth so the green light is showing on the LCD bezel (do from Windows or Ubuntu).

  • Also make sure the side switch is set to green too!

on trackpad - use the apple system prefs to turn that feature on under trackpad - called tap to click

 

Weird thing,  I can't access trackpad int he system pref.

  231710235_Screenshot2018-12-3116_02_33.png.7a63fd68634c3f36407b4041d0faa98f.png

 

Bluetooth: This can't be accessed in the BIOS by chance, can it?  I guess I'll have to make a USB bootable OS

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

@namisloc 

what model laptop do you have? 

what version macOS? 

did you put all the zip contents into the ESP as is?

Edited by tluck

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Posted (edited)
6 hours ago, tluck said:

@namisloc 

what model laptop do you have? 

what version macOS? 

did you put all the zip contents into the ESP as is?

Sorry friend, I meant to put my build in my signature before making my last post.

 

Bluetooth is working, however I'm unable to access any trackpad preferences.

 

My BIOS was 1.49, and I downloaded what I thought was a 1.52 whitelisted mod, however it rolled my BIOS back to 1.41.  Now, it's a modded 1.41, I have access to the advanced menu and whitelist removed.  Sierra installed smoothly so I decided to just leave it be.   I wanted the modded BIOS because I have 2x8gb DDR3 and an AR9280 on the way.

The EFI folders were copied to ESP.

Edited by namisloc

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Posted (edited)

Good you got your hack working so far, namisloc!

Did you repair/refresh kext cashes fequently?

If no, use Kext Utility to maintain system files after any changes you made to your hack.

I´ll attach Kext Utility, just in case.

 

Sierra is probably the best OS for a T420.

If you have a spare SSD, you may always clone what you got and upgrade the clone to HS or Mojave, if you feel the need.

 

A Atheros WLAN mPCIe should work as Airport.

I´m using these, as they are supported OOB:

https://www.ebay.com/itm/DELL-DW1510-Wireless-N-Wlan-Half-Mini-WIFI-Card-BCM94322HM8L-Dual-brand-0PW934/271557237987?epid=28023372237&hash=item3f3a129ce3:g:6oEAAOSwXeJXeTIW:rk:2:pf:0

 

Why your trackpad does not show up, remains a riddle to me. I have got a 4336-5U2 with everything working.

 

262369999_Screenshot2019-01-02at12_15_20.thumb.png.bfcc9409c7db14a90f11faf541fed362.png

 

EDIT:

Went back to Sierra and the Trackpad setting there is not found either.

Lenovo Trackpoint and Touchpad, do work though. ;)

 

 

Kext Utility.app.zip

Edited by goodguess
Sierra Trackpad

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

My Lenovo T420s is sierra,I have reinstall mojave on it,everything is perfect !! then someday I open apple maps ,it seem to be black screen.but I click "show all tabs".  I can see the map thumbnail.

Did anybody got the same problem ?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Tluck & all other contributors - Thank you for your work in keeping this topic current and for the work past/present.

 

I have been attempting to upgrade from El Capitan (HDD) on my T420 to High Sierra (SSD), but am unable to get the Dell 1510 card working with the 1.46 Bios mod.  I have attempted to use the Wifi kext through the kext utility2 from RehabMan with the FakePCIID kext as well with no luck.

 

Now that I punched my old HDD in to post, wifi does not work again so using a secondary PC.

 

Everything else appears to work on HS (bluetooth, good video) just need to do the iMessage fix but don't want to do that until I get the wifi working.

 

I may just pull the trigger and jump to Mojave, but wanted to talk to you all first.  Let me know what other PC info you needed/code run in order to help troubleshooting.  Thank you in advance.

 

PC Specs:

CPU: i5 - 2.59 GHz

RAM: 16GB 1333 MHz

Graphics: Intel HD 3000

SSD: Kingston 480GB

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

@alcheng3344

 

did you properly install the HD3000 in /S/L/E? if not you may not have fully accelerated graphics QE/CI with Mojave

 

@namisloc

- you need to see if the VoodooPS2 kexts are loading.

run:

$ kextstat|grep voodoo
   59    2 0xffffff7f82de1000 0xb000     0xb000     org.rehabman.voodoo.driver.PS2Controller (1.9.2) 39822203-AB99-38FA-85DB-A83BA02A60CA <11 7 5 4 3 1>
   87    0 0xffffff7f82e0f000 0x6000     0x6000     org.rehabman.voodoo.driver.PS2Keyboard (1.9.2) 3D5B784B-4D8C-3838-BD2F-3AB5E20742A9 <59 48 15 7 6 5 4 3 1>
   88    0 0xffffff7f82e15000 0xc000     0xc000     org.rehabman.voodoo.driver.PS2Trackpad (1.9.2) E616F856-B251-31D5-8A8F-767E322E1C24 <59 48 15 7 6 5 4 3 1>

should see 3 items

 

if good, then check ioreg:

 

$ ioreg -l -w0|sed -n "/o ApplePS2SynapticsTouchPad/,/RM,Build/p"  

 

should look like this:

    | |       +-o ApplePS2SynapticsTouchPad  <class ApplePS2SynapticsTouchPad, id 0x10000028d, registered, matched, active, busy 0 (32 ms), retain 10>

    | |         | {

    | |         |   "StickyMultiFingerScrolling" = No

    | |         |   "UnitsPerMMX" = 50

    | |         |   "DisableZoneBottom" = 4200

    | |         |   "HIDPointerConvertAbsolute" = <00>

    | |         |   "IOProviderClass" = "ApplePS2MouseDevice"

    | |         |   "HIDScrollResolution" = 52428800

    | |         |   "MomentumScrollTimer" = 10000000

 

@leaddonkey

 

did your wifi work before you upgraded from el cap to high sierra? if so, then maybe missing a kext?

 

@Dabman1988

 

moving to Mojave is almost as easy as upgrading from Sierra to HighSierra. but i dont know about nvidia ? other than to recommend to disable it.

1) update your ESP with a recent version

2) get your current system running with a mojave config.plist which essentially means you change the model from MPB8,1 to MPB9,1.

3) install Mojave

4) on the post install side you need to install the HD3000 in /S/L/E.

 

all of this is outlined in the Guide.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I saw that the latest EFI has HD3000 in EFI\CLOVER\kexts\10.14\ , if I have already installed the HD3000 in the /S/L/E and than update EFI , will it affect?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Posted (edited)
5 hours ago, tluck said:

@alcheng3344

 

did you properly install the HD3000 in /S/L/E? if not you may not have fully accelerated graphics QE/CI with Mojave

 

@namisloc

- you need to see if the VoodooPS2 kexts are loading.

run:


$ kextstat|grep voodoo
   59    2 0xffffff7f82de1000 0xb000     0xb000     org.rehabman.voodoo.driver.PS2Controller (1.9.2) 39822203-AB99-38FA-85DB-A83BA02A60CA <11 7 5 4 3 1>
   87    0 0xffffff7f82e0f000 0x6000     0x6000     org.rehabman.voodoo.driver.PS2Keyboard (1.9.2) 3D5B784B-4D8C-3838-BD2F-3AB5E20742A9 <59 48 15 7 6 5 4 3 1>
   88    0 0xffffff7f82e15000 0xc000     0xc000     org.rehabman.voodoo.driver.PS2Trackpad (1.9.2) E616F856-B251-31D5-8A8F-767E322E1C24 <59 48 15 7 6 5 4 3 1>

should see 3 items

 

if good, then check ioreg:

 


$ ioreg -l -w0|sed -n "/o ApplePS2SynapticsTouchPad/,/RM,Build/p"  

 

should look like this:

    | |       +-o ApplePS2SynapticsTouchPad  <class ApplePS2SynapticsTouchPad, id 0x10000028d, registered, matched, active, busy 0 (32 ms), retain 10>

    | |         | {

    | |         |   "StickyMultiFingerScrolling" = No

    | |         |   "UnitsPerMMX" = 50

    | |         |   "DisableZoneBottom" = 4200

    | |         |   "HIDPointerConvertAbsolute" = <00>

    | |         |   "IOProviderClass" = "ApplePS2MouseDevice"

    | |         |   "HIDScrollResolution" = 52428800

    | |         |   "MomentumScrollTimer" = 10000000

 

@leaddonkey

 

did your wifi work before you upgraded from el cap to high sierra? if so, then maybe missing a kext?

 

@Dabman1988

 

moving to Mojave is almost as easy as upgrading from Sierra to HighSierra. but i dont know about nvidia ? other than to recommend to disable it.

1) update your ESP with a recent version

2) get your current system running with a mojave config.plist which essentially means you change the model from MPB8,1 to MPB9,1.

3) install Mojave

4) on the post install side you need to install the HD3000 in /S/L/E.

 

all of this is outlined in the Guide.

@tluck - It did work in El Cap prior to the change.  I tried porting over the IO80211Family.kext from El Capitan to High Sierra for the Broadcom BCM94322HM8L.  I checked a few forms and did not see it on the list of kext which Apple did not bring forward and the data from https[:]//wikidevi[.]com/wiki/Broadcom_BCM94322HM8L showed BCM94322HM8L - 14e4:432b 802.11abgn 2T2R.  Still not working, so back at it in the morning. Thanks for any/all the help.

 

Also, tried bringing over my old config.plist to see if it "magically" worked for wifi.  It did not, but my Serial # came over, so one less thing to do!  (It's the little wins!!)

Edited by leaddonkey

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Posted (edited)

@leaddonkey - get these kext from the T460 repo vs T420 - 

 

these 4 kext may make it work:

FakePCIID.kext

FakePCIID_Broadcom_WiFi.kext

BrcmPatchRAM2.kext

BrcmFirmwareRepo.kext

 

@tonyyang123 - the HD3000 kexts are in the kext/10.14 folder just as part of the zip (people asked for them instead having to get them from a High Sierra install) - they don't work right fully unless you put them in /S/L/E in my experience.  

 

so having these kexts duplicated in ESP is ok - the ones in OS /S/L/E should be used

Edited by tluck

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 1/3/2019 at 1:06 AM, tluck said:

@leaddonkey - get these kext from the T460 repo vs T420 - 

 

these 4 kext may make it work:

FakePCIID.kext

FakePCIID_Broadcom_WiFi.kext

BrcmPatchRAM2.kext

BrcmFirmwareRepo.kext

 

@tonyyang123 - the HD3000 kexts are in the kext/10.14 folder just as part of the zip (people asked for them instead having to get them from a High Sierra install) - they don't work right fully unless you put them in /S/L/E in my experience.  

 

so having these kexts duplicated in ESP is ok - the ones in OS /S/L/E should be used

 

So tried the kexts from the T460 repo and did not work.  Dug into some of my old notes from El Capitan (again thanks tluck) and ran lspci on a Ubuntu USB and noticed that I am running BCM43224 [14E4:4353] which is the DW1520.  In reviewing other forums it looks like it might not work too well in High Sierra.  Trying to force load the \System\Library\Extensions\IO80211Family.kext\Contents\Plugins\AppleAirPortBrcm43224.kext from my El Capitan HDD.

 

I have the hex and a few other screenshots if anyone has a way to Force the kext to load or alter my kexts to patch.

 

Side Note:  If you got a system running, save that exact setup and write some notes in a textpad file.  Never know when you'll have to dig deep due to a fubar HDD or just because you want to upgrade and it doesn't work on that 1st attempt.

 

If this fails two questions:

1) Any other thoughts?  If not,

2) What is a good Half mini pci card that'll work in both High Sierra and/or Mojave?  want to attempt to "future" proof a bit because I like my hackbook!

 

Thank you all.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Posted (edited)

@leaddonkey I have the same card, DW1520 will work almost OOB, without any extra kexts in Sierra/Mojave with just a small config plist patch:

            <dict>
                <key>Comment</key>
                <string>DW1520 Whitelist Patch (MBP11,1)</string>
                <key>Disabled</key>
                <false/>
                <key>Find</key>
                <data>
                TWFjLTJFNkZBQjk2NTY2RkU1OEM=
                </data>
                <key>Name</key>
                <string>com.apple.driver.AirPort.Brcm4360</string>
                <key>Replace</key>
                <data>
                TWFjLTE4OUEzRDRGOTc1RDVGRkM=
                </data>
            </dict>
 

If you use for example MBP9,1, as tluck suggested recently, you will need to change the replace data appropriately (base64 encoding of Mac Board-Id). For MBP9,1 use 

TWFjLTRCN0FDN0U0Mzk0NTU5N0U=

 

For El Capitan search here for DW1520, you will find the solution with MBP8,1.

 

Edited by davidian

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
 

 

Not sure what you mean by optimizing it, I have this one too and it works out of the box, nothing needed (besides bios whitelist removal of course).

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Posted (edited)

 

 

 

Thats what I was asking myself either.

So far my two DW 1510 were working oob since ElCap IIRC.

If a config.plist edit would show the card as Apple instead of "Third-Party Wireless Card" it might be nice to have.

If channel 12 and 13 in the 2.4GHz band could be enabled that way, it would be a real improvement.

(I doubt that, flashing the card will be needed - not worth the hassle, I would suppose.)

 

MBP 8.1 / 9.1

On my side, re-enabling Preview is bettering things a lot.

However, I feel that a config.plist with MBP8.1 or MBP9.1 slows down things compared to MBP11.1.

E.g. opening "About This Mac" or inserting a text string here by copy/paste seems to lag for a second or so.

Which setting do you use or like best for Mojave?

 

 

 

Edited by goodguess

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 1/2/2019 at 5:04 PM, tluck said:

 

@namisloc

- you need to see if the VoodooPS2 kexts are loading.

run:


$ kextstat|grep voodoo
   59    2 0xffffff7f82de1000 0xb000     0xb000     org.rehabman.voodoo.driver.PS2Controller (1.9.2) 39822203-AB99-38FA-85DB-A83BA02A60CA <11 7 5 4 3 1>
   87    0 0xffffff7f82e0f000 0x6000     0x6000     org.rehabman.voodoo.driver.PS2Keyboard (1.9.2) 3D5B784B-4D8C-3838-BD2F-3AB5E20742A9 <59 48 15 7 6 5 4 3 1>
   88    0 0xffffff7f82e15000 0xc000     0xc000     org.rehabman.voodoo.driver.PS2Trackpad (1.9.2) E616F856-B251-31D5-8A8F-767E322E1C24 <59 48 15 7 6 5 4 3 1>

should see 3 items

 

if good, then check ioreg:

 


$ ioreg -l -w0|sed -n "/o ApplePS2SynapticsTouchPad/,/RM,Build/p"  

 

should look like this:

    | |       +-o ApplePS2SynapticsTouchPad  <class ApplePS2SynapticsTouchPad, id 0x10000028d, registered, matched, active, busy 0 (32 ms), retain 10>

    | |         | {

    | |         |   "StickyMultiFingerScrolling" = No

    | |         |   "UnitsPerMMX" = 50

    | |         |   "DisableZoneBottom" = 4200

    | |         |   "HIDPointerConvertAbsolute" = <00>

    | |         |   "IOProviderClass" = "ApplePS2MouseDevice"

    | |         |   "HIDScrollResolution" = 52428800

    | |         |   "MomentumScrollTimer" = 10000000

 

 

 

Cheers, appreciate the help!

Trackpad is blank in system preferences.  Ran both scripts, here are the results.

$ kextstat|grep voodoo
   49    2 0xffffff7f82af9000 0xb000     0xb000     org.rehabman.voodoo.driver.PS2Controller (1.9.2) 39822203-AB99-38FA-85DB-A83BA02A60CA <11 7 5 4 3 1>
   69    0 0xffffff7f82b3f000 0xc000     0xc000     org.rehabman.voodoo.driver.PS2Trackpad (1.9.2) E616F856-B251-31D5-8A8F-767E322E1C24 <49 41 15 7 6 5 4 3 1>
   70    0 0xffffff7f82b4b000 0x6000     0x6000     org.rehabman.voodoo.driver.PS2Keyboard (1.9.2) 3D5B784B-4D8C-3838-BD2F-3AB5E20742A9 <49 41 15 7 6 5 4 3 1>
$ ioreg -l -w0|sed -n "/o ApplePS2SynapticsTouchPad/,/RM,Build/p"  
    | |       +-o ApplePS2SynapticsTouchPad  <class ApplePS2SynapticsTouchPad, id 0x100000259, registered, matched, active, busy 0 (114 ms), retain 11>
    | |         | {
    | |         |   "StickyMultiFingerScrolling" = No
    | |         |   "UnitsPerMMX" = 50
    | |         |   "DisableZoneBottom" = 4200
    | |         |   "HIDPointerConvertAbsolute" = <00>
    | |         |   "IOProviderClass" = "ApplePS2MouseDevice"
    | |         |   "HIDScrollResolution" = 52428800
    | |         |   "MomentumScrollTimer" = 10000000
    | |         |   "SwipeDeltaY" = 800
    | |         |   "HIDResetPointer" = Yes
    | |         |   "ScrollDeltaThreshY" = 10
    | |         |   "BogusDeltaThreshY" = 800
    | |         |   "HIDClickTime" = 500000000
    | |         |   "ZoneRight" = 5200
    | |         |   "IOClass" = "ApplePS2SynapticsTouchPad"
    | |         |   "FakeMiddleButton" = No
    | |         |   "StickyVerticalScrolling" = No
    | |         |   "UnsmoothInput" = Yes
    | |         |   "HIDInterfaceID" = 5
    | |         |   "DisableZoneRight" = 1700
    | |         |   "VendorID" = 1452
    | |         |   "MaxTapTime" = 100000000
    | |         |   "HIDPointerResolution" = 209715200
    | |         |   "MomentumScrollMultiplier" = 98
    | |         |   "UnitsPerMMY" = 50
    | |         |   "HWResetOnStart" = Yes
    | |         |   "DoubleTapThresholdX" = 150
    | |         |   "TrackpointScrollXMultiplier" = 1
    | |         |   "Revision" = 24
    | |         |   "RM,Build" = "Release-"
    | |       +-o ApplePS2SynapticsTouchPad  <class ApplePS2SynapticsTouchPad, id 0x100000259, registered, matched, active, busy 0 (114 ms), retain 11>
    | |         | {
    | |         |   "StickyMultiFingerScrolling" = No
    | |         |   "UnitsPerMMX" = 50
    | |         |   "DisableZoneBottom" = 4200
    | |         |   "HIDPointerConvertAbsolute" = <00>
    | |         |   "IOProviderClass" = "ApplePS2MouseDevice"
    | |         |   "HIDScrollResolution" = 52428800
    | |         |   "MomentumScrollTimer" = 10000000
    | |         |   "SwipeDeltaY" = 800
    | |         |   "HIDResetPointer" = Yes
    | |         |   "ScrollDeltaThreshY" = 10
    | |         |   "BogusDeltaThreshY" = 800
    | |         |   "HIDClickTime" = 500000000
    | |         |   "ZoneRight" = 5200
    | |         |   "IOClass" = "ApplePS2SynapticsTouchPad"
    | |         |   "FakeMiddleButton" = No
    | |         |   "StickyVerticalScrolling" = No
    | |         |   "UnsmoothInput" = Yes
    | |         |   "HIDInterfaceID" = 5
    | |         |   "DisableZoneRight" = 1700
    | |         |   "VendorID" = 1452
    | |         |   "MaxTapTime" = 100000000
    | |         |   "HIDPointerResolution" = 209715200
    | |         |   "MomentumScrollMultiplier" = 98
    | |         |   "UnitsPerMMY" = 50
    | |         |   "HWResetOnStart" = Yes
    | |         |   "DoubleTapThresholdX" = 150
    | |         |   "TrackpointScrollXMultiplier" = 1
    | |         |   "Revision" = 24
    | |         |   "RM,Build" = "Release-"
sed: RE error: illegal byte sequence

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

@namisloc - odd i saw the same thing on Sierra . but installed the final Sierra Security patch and somehow the trackpad started showing up. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.

  • Similar Content

    • By Reel
      All work 10.10, 10.11, 10,12
      camera not work in 10.13, 10.14
      You need SwitchResX that the screen does not freeze
      Custom resolutions: Back porch - lines change to 2
      UEFI boot moded bios https://github.com/Thiblizz/l502x-modded-bios
       
      For 10.14 you need: HD3000 Fix for Mojave.zip
      Installed in S/L/E 
       
      SMBIOS: MacbookPro 8.3 or MacbookPro 9.1
       
       

       

       
       
    • By glasgood
      CLOVER DUAL BOOT MOJAVE & WINDOWS 10 GUIDE 
       

       
       
      INCLUDES  MBR / LEGACY BIOS  TO  GPT / EFI CONVERSION
      USING MBR2GPT TOOL
       
       
      PREREQUISITE: Two physical discs ( SSD’s or HDD’s )
       
       
       
       
       
      STEP 1 - Clover dual boot configuration 
       
      Open config.plist with Clover Configurator
       
      Boot
       Legacy = PBR Timeout = True ( will remove the Timeout countdown, from Clover boot menu)  

       
      GUI 
      Scan / Custom
       Entries = True  Tool = True  Legacy = False ( removes extra Windows 10 entries )  
      Hide Volume
      - Preboot ( macOS Preboot )
      - Recovery ( macOS Recovery )
       

       
      So at boot you will have two options: boot macOS Mojave or Windows 10 
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
      ————————————————————
       
       
      STEP 2 - Using a drive without Windows 10 installed
       
      Disconnect system drive that contains your macOS Mojave install from computer ( This is so that Windows does not overwrite existing macOS Mojave boot loader )
       
      Proceed with a Windows 10 UEFI install.  
      After installation reconnect macOS Mojave Drive, the Windows installation should now be detected and usable in Clover. 
      If Windows 10 is not detected or able to boot,  then verify you installed Windows 10 as UEFI and not MBR ---->  ( Read step 2 - For a drive with Windows 10 installed )
       
       
      OR
       
       
       
      STEP 2 - Using a drive with Windows 10 already installed
       
      Verify your Windows install is  GPT / UEFI or MBR / Legacy BIOS.   
      If Windows install is GPT UEFI then Windows 10 install is ready to use at Clover boot menu, you should be able to boot into Windows directly from Clover boot screen. 
       

       
       
      But if  Windows drive is detected at Clover boot screen, but when booting Windows you get a black screen with a cursor on the top left,
      then this is most likely because Windows drive is MBR ( Legacy BIOS ).  You can easily convert MBR to GPT using  Windows MBR2GPT tool ( this saves hours work having to reinstall Windows 10 and setting up all your applications again  ) 
       
      If Windows 10 install is MBR / Legacy BIOS  then simply convert to GPT / UEFI  following instructions below ( read video summary and view video )
       
       
      ** To use Windows 10  MBR2GPT tool  you must have Windows 10 version 1703 ( creators update  ) or later and less than 3 partitions on 
      the Windows 10 drive **
       
      Video summary:
       
      Confirm Windows 10 drive is MBR Legacy BIOS ( in Windows Disk Management ) Reboot into Windows PE ( Advanced Startup ) Convert from MBR Legacy BIOS to GPT UEFI ( using commands below ) mbr2gpt /validate mbr2gpt /convert Restart Verify Windows 10 drive has changed to GPT UEFI ( in Windows Disk Management )  
       
       
       
      After conversion Windows 10 is ready to use at the Clover boot menu 
       
       
    • By SepehrM
      I'm trying to install High Sierra 10.13.3 on an ASUS N552VW laptop, and I get stuck after this message:
      "could not recover SATA HDD after 5 attempts, terminating" 
      And some other warnings afterwards.
      Specs:
      CPU: Intel Skylake 6700HQ 2.6GHz
      RAM: 16GB DDR4
      2TB HDD + 128GB SSD
      GPU: Intel HD Graphics 530 + Nvidia GTX960m
      I'm installing using a 16GB USB3 flash drive on one of HDD volumes (UEFI Mode)
       
      I uploaded the verbose log and clover config.plist
      config-new.plist

    • By Leinad12
      Olá a todos.
      Estou com o macOS Mojave instalado num Lenovo 305 (com um i3 5005 e uma HD 5500) porém tou com um problema.
      Sempre que o computador entra em pausa (Sleep) não consigo voltar a "acordar" (Wake).
      Alguém pode me ajudar pf?
×