Jump to content
Zenith432

VoodooHDA with fix for random KP

38 posts in this topic

Recommended Posts

Link VoodooHDA 2.8.2d6.

 

Edit [Jan 29 2013]: Uploaded fresh build - v2.8.2d6 from branches/zdev@r86. Main changes are

  • Shows channel types in Sound preference Pane.
  • InhibitCache=false setting is safe now with ATI & Nvidia controllers, and probably also works with most HDA controllers.
  • Updated HDA & Codec lists.
  • Minor fix to MSI interrupt handling.

Older builds below

 

Link VoodooHDA 2.8.1.

 

Edit [Jan 13 2013]: Uploaded rebuild of 2.8.1 to fix regression described in post #10. There was a conflict with AppleHDA.kext. [They can coexist now.]

 

Edit [Jan 11 2013]: Uploaded rebuild of 2.8.1 with

  • Improvement for the delay at audio start.
  • Default sample rates are limited to 48KHz.

Edit [Jan 8 2013]: Rev 2.8.1 built from r78. Fixes some problems mentioned in svn check-in comments for r76-r78 following problems

  • some issues with data safely for multi-HDA-controller support.
  • panic when verbose level set to 2.
  • Updating of prefPane volume knob and settings at bottom of window.
  • Setting InhibitCache=false in Info.plist now really enables caching. [Note: keep this value at true if caching causes problems.]
  • Low volume after sleep (now all mixer settings restored.)

Updated were VoodooHDA.kext (2.8.1) and VoodooHDA.prefPane (1.2.1).

 

Edit [Jan 6 2013]: Slice has released 2.8.0, with bug fix and improvements to the codec component inter-connection algorithm. Output now mixes PCM and inputs from microphone/line-in. Some audio feedback loops are eliminated. Built from r75.

 

Link VoodooHDA 2.7.6.

 

Edit [Jan 3 2013]: New version based on r73. All component now support systems with multiple HDA controllers. This is useful for people who have a 2nd HDA controller providing HDMI audio on a video card.

  • prefPane has a new selector for choosing HDA controller to configure. Saves settings for all HDA controllers.
  • SettingsLoader loads settings for all HDA controllers.
  • Format of settings file has been changed (to support multiple HDA), and is now stored in ~/Library/Preferences/VoodooHDA.settings.plist.
  • If you have previous settings you'd like to keep, run VoodooHdaSettingsLoader once before running the prefPane. This will upgrade your old settings file (VoodooHDA.settings in same location) to the new format.
  • VoodooHDA.kext is now safe for multiple instances and getdump dumps codecs from all of them.
  • OS 10.6 and above.

I left the old build below for people who don't need multiple HDA support.

 

Link VoodooHDA 2.7.6d2.

 

I fixed a bug in VoodooHDA that was causing random KPs during startup, built a fresh version and uploaded.

 

Package Contains:

  1. Fresh of build VoodooHDA.kext with bugfix. Should work on OS 10.6 and above. Built from r70, versioned 2.7.6d2. [install in /S/L/E]
     
  2. Fresh build of VoodooHDA.prefPane. [install in ~/Library/PreferencePanes]
     
  3. VoodooHdaSettingsLoader from sourceforge.
     
  4. fresh build of getdump (r70), modified to dump codecs from all HDA controllers in the system.

Edit [12/27/2012]: Fix + getdump were incorporated into r69 by slice.

 

Edit [1/1/2013]: Fixed 2nd potential KP found by neurostatic (posts #2, #4), incorporated into r70.

Edited by Zenith432

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Advertisement

nope...

 

4 KP's in a row, went through on the 5th.

 

At least it doesn't want to tear my speakers anymore when loading and it fixed the clipping sound issues..

 

 

Motherboard (old and cheap, i know, but works fine):

Asrock Wolfdale1333-D667 R2.0 W/Patched bios

 

HD Audio (Realtek ALC662 Audio Codec)

post-203071-0-37448900-1356748564_thumb.jpg

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

4 KP's in a row, went through on the 5th.

It's best to boot with "-f" after freshly installing it, because sometimes there's a stale copy in kernelcache. Anyhow, I can't read the stack trace because of the "You need to restart your computer" window that's hiding the crash address in VoodooHDA (it's that line with 7f81dc...). If it's still giving you KPs after booting with "-f", look for a panic log in /Library/Logs/DiagonsticReports and upload it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It's best to boot with "-f" after freshly installing it, because sometimes there's a stale copy in kernelcache. Anyhow, I can't read the stack trace because of the "You need to restart your computer" window that's hiding the crash address in VoodooHDA (it's that line with 7f81dc...). If it's still giving you KPs after booting with "-f", look for a panic log in /Library/Logs/DiagonsticReports and upload it.

 

Sorry about the restart box, takes less than a second to appear and block the text. Will try right now.

 

 

Edit:

 

Tried with -f, and it crashed right away. Didn't change anything after, and it doesn't seem to generate a panic log either, i made sure to delete all logs before rebooting, and i find nothing in /Library/Logs/... /Users/.../Library/Logs/...

 

There are files that were generated in /Private/var/log but nothing that seems to concern the KP.

 

I tried to snap a picture in the half a second where the message is visible, which resulted in the blurry image attached to this post. Tell me if you can make out the important bits, otherwise I can try to take a better one, but it's a pain in the a** to try that way.

 

Btw, it just occurred to me - does -v force the console output to be logged on file ?

post-203071-0-45528400-1356959406_thumb.jpg

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I tried to snap a picture in the half a second where the message is visible, which resulted in the blurry image attached to this post. Tell me if you can make out the important bits, otherwise I can try to take a better one, but it's a pain in the a** to try that way.
I was able to read it. It's a different bug. Please find here a quick attempt to fix it [see post #1]. See if it still gives you KPs. I'll come up with a more thorough fix after some code analysis.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thank you for fixing it Zenith you saved me. It's years since I'm waiting for this update, now the tedius Kernel panic on boot is gone away million thanx!!!!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have a problem with all VoodooHDAs. My audio card is a SoundMax (Analog Devices) AD1981HD.

When i put my notebook in sleep and i immediately after wake it my sound is very low (also if it's mute!). To solve this, i must turn up and then turn down the volume.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

When i put my notebook in sleep and i immediately after wake it my sound is very low (also if it's mute!). To solve this, i must turn up and then turn down the volume.

This is solved in VoodooHDA 2.8.1 (commit r78 in svn.)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks a lot for No KP VoodooHDA,that I searched for years.

In rev. 2.8.1,my situation is that it is no sound from system start-up.

Once computer sleep-&-wake,VoodooHDA is worked again.

So I turned VoodooHDA back to rev. 2.8.0.

Maybe all mixer settings need to be restored from OSX boot-up.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Maybe all mixer settings need to be restored from OSX boot-up.

They are. This shouldn't happen. Do you have prefPane and VoodooHdaSettingsLoader set up? Does prefPane show zero settings? Please run 'ioreg -d 1 -rn VoodooHDADevice' from a Terminal (with 2.8.1) and upload the printout. Thanks.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Following information is from ioreg.

+-o VoodooHDADevice <class VoodooHDADevice, id 0x1000001eb, registered, matche$
{
 "IOAudioDeviceManufacturerName" = "Voodoo "
 "VoodooHDAEnableHalfVolumeFix" = No
 "CFBundleIdentifier" = "org.voodoo.driver.VoodooHDA"
 "IOMatchCategory" = "VoodooHDADevice"
 "VoodooHDAEnableHalfMicVolumeFix" = No
 "Boost" = 2
 "IOPersonalityPublisher" = "org.voodoo.driver.VoodooHDA"
 "NodesToPatch" = ({"Node"=17,"Config"="0x03211040","Codec"=0},{"Node"=20,$
 "VoodooHDAVerboseLevel" = 0
 "IOAudioDeviceModelID" = "VoodooHDA:27d8 "
 "IOAudioDeviceTransportType" = 1869899890
 "VoodooHDAEnableVolumeChangeFix" = Yes
 "IOProbeScore" = 0
 "IOClass" = "VoodooHDADevice"
 "IOProviderClass" = "IOPCIDevice"
 "AllowMSI" = Yes
 "IOAudioDeviceName" = "VoodooHDADevice27d8"
 "InhibitCache" = No
 "Noise" = 0
 "IOAudioDeviceShortName" = "VoodooHDA "
 "IOPowerManagement" = {"DriverPowerState"=1,"CurrentPowerState"=1}
 "MixerValues" = {"iGain"=0,"PCM"=100,"Rec"=100,"iMix"=0}
 "VoodooHDAEnableMuteFix" = No
 "IOPCIClassMatch" = "0x04030000&0xffff0000"
 "IOUserClientClass" = "VoodooHDAUserClient"
 "IOAudioDeviceCanBeDefaults" = 7
 "Vectorize" = No
}

Yes,prefPane and VoodooHdaSettingsLoader installed.

KEXT is loaded without problem.

My sound device AD1984a need VoodooHDAEnableVolumeChangeFix enabled in order to adjusting volume.

But,it is no sound at all before system sleep.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thank you Zenith. For the longest time the only audio option I've had for my ASUS MOBO 1828S Via chip has been VoodooHDA 0.2.1 and this only worked through SPDIF fiber out to an amplifier. My preferred method has always been to output through my GTX 465 HDMI audio chip.

 

The 2.8.1 compilation worked for HDMI as long as I have midi output set to 48KHz or less. I cannot figure out how to make midi output frequency stick at 48KHz. Even so this is very encouraging and I've had no KPs.

 

 

VoodooHDADevice <class VoodooHDADevice, id 0x100000318, registered, matche$

{

"IOClass" = "VoodooHDADevice"

"Boost" = 0

"AllowMSI" = Yes

"VoodooHDAEnableMuteFix" = No

"IOAudioDeviceName" = "VoodooHDADevicebe5 "

"IOAudioDeviceModelID" = "VoodooHDA:be5 "

"IOAudioDeviceShortName" = "VoodooHDA "

"NodesToPatch" = ()

"Noise" = 0

"VoodooHDAEnableHalfVolumeFix" = No

"IOProviderClass" = "IOPCIDevice"

"IOAudioDeviceManufacturerName" = "Voodoo "

"IOAudioDeviceTransportType" = 1869899890

"IOPowerManagement" = {"DriverPowerState"=1,"MaxPowerState"=1,"CurrentPow$

"Vectorize" = No

"IOProbeScore" = 0

"IOUserClientClass" = "VoodooHDAUserClient"

"VoodooHDAEnableHalfMicVolumeFix" = No

"VoodooHDAVerboseLevel" = 0

"VoodooHDAEnableVolumeChangeFix" = No

"CFBundleIdentifier" = "org.voodoo.driver.VoodooHDA"

"IOMatchCategory" = "VoodooHDADevice"

"IOAudioDeviceCanBeDefaults" = 7

"MixerValues" = {"iMix"=0,"PCM"=90,"Rec"=70,"iGain"=0}

"InhibitCache" = Yes

"IOPCIClassMatch" = "0x04030000&0xffff0000"

}

 

 

+-o VoodooHDADevice <class VoodooHDADevice, id 0x100000317, registered, matche$

{

"IOClass" = "VoodooHDADevice"

"Boost" = 0

"AllowMSI" = Yes

"VoodooHDAEnableMuteFix" = No

"IOAudioDeviceName" = "VoodooHDADevice3b56"

"IOAudioDeviceModelID" = "VoodooHDA:3b56 "

"IOAudioDeviceShortName" = "VoodooHDA "

"NodesToPatch" = ()

"Noise" = 0

"VoodooHDAEnableHalfVolumeFix" = No

"IOProviderClass" = "IOPCIDevice"

"IOAudioDeviceManufacturerName" = "Voodoo "

"IOAudioDeviceTransportType" = 1869899890

"IOPowerManagement" = {"DriverPowerState"=1,"MaxPowerState"=1,"CurrentPow$

"Vectorize" = No

"IOProbeScore" = 0

"IOUserClientClass" = "VoodooHDAUserClient"

"VoodooHDAEnableHalfMicVolumeFix" = No

"VoodooHDAVerboseLevel" = 0

"VoodooHDAEnableVolumeChangeFix" = No

"CFBundleIdentifier" = "org.voodoo.driver.VoodooHDA"

"IOMatchCategory" = "VoodooHDADevice"

"IOAudioDeviceCanBeDefaults" = 7

"MixerValues" = {"iMix"=0,"PCM"=90,"Rec"=70,"iGain"=0}

"InhibitCache" = Yes

"IOPCIClassMatch" = "0x04030000&0xffff0000"

}

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

+-o VoodooHDADevice <class VoodooHDADevice, id 0x1000001eb, registered, matche$
{
 "InhibitCache" = No
}

But,it is no sound at all before system sleep.

Set InhibitCache to true in Info.plist. It's not a safe setting. On some systems it works, on others it doesn't. Before 2.8.1, setting this to "false" didn't really do anything (caching was still off.) From 2.8.1, setting this to "true" enables caching. If it gives you problems, set it back to true.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This is solved in VoodooHDA 2.8.1 (commit r78 in svn.)

 

Great great great! Finally!

 

Is there a solution for the audio delay (about 1 second)? I tried the solutions in the common problems topic but no one didn't work.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Set InhibitCache to true in Info.plist. It's not a safe setting. On some systems it works, on others it doesn't. Before 2.8.1, setting this to "false" didn't really do anything (caching was still off.) From 2.8.1, setting this to "true" enables caching. If it gives you problems, set it back to true.

 

Sadly,I set it to true and still had no sound.

I tested rev 2.8.1 on desktop without prefPane and VoodooHdaSettingsLoader.

And it is no sound too.

Thanks for help anyway.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Installed modified 2.8.1 and HDMI audio still works perfectly with MIDI sample rate automatically set to 48KHz.

 

Great work Zenith!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi I have a problem with my sound this is what I got

Asrock B75 Pro 3 motherboard

i5 3550

4gig memory

Nvidia Ti 550

OsX 10.8.2

Alc 892

Voodoo 2.8.1

 

So install went great and all works my problem is I can get Hdmi audio but only 2 channels and would like to get 5.1 or 7.1 audio either through the hdmi or the Alc 892 optical out( right now only 2 channels ) I am a newb when it comes to dsdt so I am hoping for an easy fix but if not maybe a simple guide thanx peace also on the hdmi there are four shown in audio midi and the second says 8 channels but only the 2 front play on the test on a movie it is the 2 front without center vocals so I think Im close

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I found another thing.

It is no sound and when changing volume made loginwindow process took high CPU loading with rev 2.8.1.

 

New rev 2.8.1 works great.

Great thanks!!!

Edited by Eps

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Sorry foe my english, but voodoohda 2.8.1 with prefpane e voodoohdasettingloader installed, I have no sound on via vt1705 codec id 0x27d88086. I have sound only with voodoohda 2.7.4. Thanks.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Sorry foe my english, but voodoohda 2.8.1 with prefpane e voodoohdasettingloader installed, I have no sound on via vt1705 codec id 0x27d88086. I have sound only with voodoohda 2.7.4. Thanks.

I thought the same, but after tweeking with the VoodooHDA pref pane in settings, I got sound to work.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi Zenith,

 

I've just come back to VoodooHDA and I am happpy to see how much it has progressed! I have an MSI Z77MA-G45 with 892. I'm using VoodooHDA 2.8.2. I can't get auto switching between Line Out (Green Rear) and Headphones (Green Front.)

 

I've searched for "auto switching headphones" endlessly but there are many similar questions as mine but could not find the answers. I have attached my plist from the voodoohda kext and a dump. I only changed my device ID in the Info.plist.

 

Can you help out or point me towards the solution?

 

Thanks

dumpandplist.zip

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi!

 

I've installed 2.8.0, then 2.8.1 and now 2.8.2b6 - but still have a problem with volume - it's too low and volume knob in preferencepane does nothing. I have MSI H55M-P31 motherboard, my device id is: 0x3b568086, ioreg:

bash-3.2# ioreg -d 1 -rn VoodooHDADevice

+-o VoodooHDADevice <class VoodooHDADevice, id 0x10000028f, registered, matched, active, busy 0 (269 ms), retain 7>

{

"IOClass" = "VoodooHDADevice"

"Boost" = 0

"AllowMSI" = Yes

"VoodooHDAEnableMuteFix" = No

"IOAudioDeviceName" = "VoodooHDADeviceaa68"

"IOAudioDeviceModelID" = "VoodooHDA:aa68 "

"IOAudioDeviceShortName" = "VoodooHDA "

"NodesToPatch" = ()

"Noise" = 0

"VoodooHDAEnableHalfVolumeFix" = No

"IOProviderClass" = "IOPCIDevice"

"IOAudioDeviceManufacturerName" = "Voodoo "

"IOAudioDeviceTransportType" = 1651274862

"IOPowerManagement" = {"DriverPowerState"=1,"MaxPowerState"=1,"CurrentPowerState"=1}

"Vectorize" = No

"IOProbeScore" = 0

"IOUserClientClass" = "VoodooHDAUserClient"

"VoodooHDAEnableHalfMicVolumeFix" = No

"VoodooHDAVerboseLevel" = 0

"VoodooHDAEnableVolumeChangeFix" = No

"CFBundleIdentifier" = "org.voodoo.driver.VoodooHDA"

"IOMatchCategory" = "VoodooHDADevice"

"IOAudioDeviceCanBeDefaults" = 7

"MixerValues" = {"iMix"=0,"PCM"=90,"Rec"=70,"iGain"=0}

"InhibitCache" = Yes

"IOPCIClassMatch" = "0x04030000&0xffff0000"

}

 

 

+-o VoodooHDADevice <class VoodooHDADevice, id 0x10000028e, registered, matched, active, busy 0 (235 ms), retain 11>

{

"IOClass" = "VoodooHDADevice"

"Boost" = 0

"AllowMSI" = Yes

"VoodooHDAEnableMuteFix" = No

"IOAudioDeviceName" = "VoodooHDADevice3b56"

"IOAudioDeviceModelID" = "VoodooHDA:3b56 "

"IOAudioDeviceShortName" = "VoodooHDA "

"NodesToPatch" = ()

"Noise" = 0

"VoodooHDAEnableHalfVolumeFix" = No

"IOProviderClass" = "IOPCIDevice"

"IOAudioDeviceManufacturerName" = "Voodoo "

"IOAudioDeviceTransportType" = 1651274862

"IOPowerManagement" = {"DriverPowerState"=1,"MaxPowerState"=1,"CurrentPowerState"=1}

"Vectorize" = No

"IOProbeScore" = 0

"IOUserClientClass" = "VoodooHDAUserClient"

"VoodooHDAEnableHalfMicVolumeFix" = No

"VoodooHDAVerboseLevel" = 0

"VoodooHDAEnableVolumeChangeFix" = No

"CFBundleIdentifier" = "org.voodoo.driver.VoodooHDA"

"IOMatchCategory" = "VoodooHDADevice"

"IOAudioDeviceCanBeDefaults" = 7

"MixerValues" = {"iMix"=0,"PCM"=90,"Rec"=70,"iGain"=0}

"InhibitCache" = Yes

"IOPCIClassMatch" = "0x04030000&0xffff0000"

}

 

 

second device is main. I've tried too enable halfvolumefix to no avail, so left it as it was before. Any ideas?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.

  • Similar Content

    • By giacomo.furlani
      Salve, il mio portatile ha la scheda audio  Realtek ALC3234, uso voodoo hda ma con questo Kext l'audio è più basso del normale.. cosa posso fare? Si sente più basso anche il microfono, infatti spesso siri non capisce cosa dico
    • By Tom Snow
      Hello everyone, ever since installing the security update at the end of January, I've been having two issues.
       
      The first is the kernel panic that happens every time I try to boot. After much research, here and elsewhere, I learned that the issue is Lilu.kext which I did not update prior to installing the security update. So now I have the latest version downloaded to a USB drive, but I cannot copy it to the hackintosh...
       
      Every time I try to boot into Recovery, the system just locks up. So I tried replacing the file via the UEFI shell and again from Kali, and in both cases I couldn't because both OS's see the Mac's file system as "read-only." I did some research on how to fix Recovery and found that I need to put FakeSMC.kext in the /EFI/CLOVER/Kexts/Other directory on the Recovery HD, which I cannot do for the same reason I can't replace the Lilu file (the HD is read-only to all other OS's).
       
      I tried booting off my old Snow Leopard CD, and that doesn't work either; every time I try it just quits mid-boot, resets the computer and reboots into Clover.
       
      Can anyone give me any suggestions? I'm out of ideas at this point.
    • By SAMEH209
      I'm trying to install Yosemite on my HP XW6600 Workstation.
      Specs:
      CPU: Dual Intel Xeon E5410 @ 2.3GHz
      RAM: 16GB
      GPU: GTX 950 1GB
      When trying to get to the installer I got a kernel panic saying "Unable to find driver for this platform: \"ACPI"\"

      but I managed to bypass that by booting with "-f -v -x acpi=off" and now I get another KP saying "pmap_steal_memory" and I have no idea what's the cause of this.

       
    • By pf4351
      Hi, I recently began turning a pretty good Windows laptop into a Hackbook, but I've run into a problem that has me completely stumped. 
      I cannot for the life of me figure out how to get audio working. Apparently, this laptop uses Intel HDA instead of any Realtek ALC, and since I can't find out any more than "Its Intel HDA", I don't know where to start for a fix. Attached will be my vanilla DSDT (since I have no idea how to patch them), the hex values that my device manager returns, and my config.plist.
       
      Hex values:
       
      Audio Device: 0x80860A0C - Sub Device: 0x1179F900
       
      Audio Device: 0x80869C20 - Sub Device: 0x1179F909
       
      Config.plist and DSDT.aml: https://www.dropbox.com/sh/1b66y4nic4fw923/AAA_qEgSdlJQubuezNfLNDLoa?dl=0
    • By theblackpower
      Ciao raga,
      Ho problemi ad installare Sierra sulla mia mobo, dopo aver eseguito le guida per la creazione della chiavetta e installando clover mi esce l'errore della capture in allegato, cosa potrebbe essere? sarà che non si puo installare Sierra su schede non uefi ancora con Clover? qualcuno che mi dia qualche delucidazione al riguardo.
       
      grazie
       

×