Jump to content
Welcome to InsanelyMac Forum

Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to contribute to this site by submitting your own content or replying to existing content. You'll be able to customize your profile, receive reputation points as a reward for submitting content, while also communicating with other members via your own private inbox, plus much more! This message will be removed once you have signed in.

  • Announcements

    • Allan

      Forum Rules   04/13/2018

      Hello folks! As some things are being fixed, we'll keep you updated. Per hour the Forum Rules don't have a dedicated "Tab", so here is the place that we have our Rules back. New Users Lounge > [READ] - InsanelyMac Forum Rules - The InsanelyMac Staff Team. 
dukzcry

Driver for LSI MegaRAID SAS family

384 posts in this topic

Recommended Posts

Okay, did some rewrite:

From commit log

changes in interrupts field:

1. Don't lockup the system if intrs don't come;

2. Add PCI flush in intr handler, in rare cases it should cure lockups when on *legacy* intrs;

3. Don't wait when intr handler finish it's work on mutex lock, catch timeouts in HandleTimeout() instead.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

So after some more testing, MSI doesn't lock up my computer like you said and the card does show up as a Parallel SCSI card in System Profiler, but no drives are detected at all. They not only don't mount, but they aren't visible either. That being said, when I use IRQ mode, it seems to work only if I don't do a "-f" at the bootloader. If I do a "-f", no drives mount, though they are visible.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks.

 

MSI doesn't lock up my computer like you said and the card does show up as a Parallel SCSI card in System Profiler, but no drives are detected at all.

That's now a correct behaviour for situation with broken MSI. You'll also see "COMMAND TIMEOUT" notices in log.

 

it seems to work only if I don't do a "-f" at the bootloader. If I do a "-f", no drives mount, though they are visible.

I may check this once. By the way, why not use cvad's kext utility instead for kexts pokery?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Is it possible to run the OS from the raid array? Granted we would have to install it first and add the driver. Do you think this is possible?

 

I have snow leopard running on an ssd with windows I'd like to install lion or ml but I don't want to give up the partition. Kiev been spoiled by ssd performance and can't imagine going back to anything less than raid.

 

Removing windows is not an option, its the only windows machine in the house and iev been in the dog house with the wife before for deleting it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Is it possible to run the OS from the raid array?

Yes it's possible. Few people there are doing this, counting myself:

$ mfiutil show volumes

mfi0 Volumes:

Id Size Level Stripe State Cache Name

mfid0 ( 931G) RAID-1 128K OPTIMAL Disabled <DATA>

mfid1 ( 465G) RAID-1 128K OPTIMAL Disabled <OS X>

 

$ dmesg

...

Got boot device = IOService:/AppleACPIPlatformExpert/PCI0@0/AppleACPIPCI/PEX0@1C/IOPCI2PCIBridge/pcibridge@0/IOPCI2PCIBridge/pci1028,15@E/SASMegaRAID/IOSCSIParallelInterfaceDevice@1/IOSCSITargetDevice/IOSCSIHierarchicalLogicalUnit@0000000000000000/IOSCSIPeripheralDeviceType00/IOBlockStorageServices/IOBlockStorageDriver/DELL PERC 5/E Adapter Media/IOGUIDPartitionScheme/OS X@2

 

Granted we would have to install it first and add the driver. Do you think this is possible?

Same. Although it's simplier to add kext to USB flash and do "kextload <kext>" from terminal within system installer from that stick, then do os setup directly to the media attached to controller. To extract kext from driver's package use unpkg tool.

For the scheme of your wish you'll need to do all the same, but run "Disk Utility" and use it's "Restore" option, instead of doing installment.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

@dukzcry, I found the command lines that I'm sure cvad's utility uses and they seemed to work fine. I've always been able to do -f -v at bootup when I needed to add drivers and never had a problem with it before now, but whatever. No big deal.

 

Any idea why your 64bit LBA still isn't detecting my 2.5TB drives properly? The drives show up as 2.2TB and don't even show the data partition. They show up in Windows as 2.47TB drives so I don't think it's the controller, but rather the driver. Has anyone been successful in running a 3TB+ RAID array using your driver yet?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I don't think it's the controller, but rather the driver.

Or the stack which driver uses. I'll try to figure what's wrong by myself, or 'll ask an Apple expert. For most of your issues: please understand that it's hard to work blindly for myself not having an actual hw of problem.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

No, I never meant to imply that your driver was the cause. I definitely didn't mean to defame your driver and I'm sorry you took it that way. I'm just trying to figure out what changed during my testing and I was letting you know what the differences were so we could figure it out. Now that you've told me that it's not the driver upon further testing, I now know to check elsewhere. When I said "whatever", I just meant that if something had changed in newer versions of OSX that the -f flag no longer worked the way I expected, that I would just use the newer method you suggested instead.

 

I just want to thank you for making this driver available and to continue working on it for us. Sorry for the misunderstanding.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

hello,

i have bought IBM M1015 and reflashed it to LSI9220-8i with P16 IR Firmware.

On the beginning the device was not discovered and I got nothing in logs so I checked PCI ID and add 0x00721000 to IOPCIMatch.

Now i'm getting :

 

 

sh-3.2# dmesg |grep SAS

[sASMegaRAID] super->InitializeController

[sASMegaRAID] Device matching failed

[sASMegaRAID] IOService->free

 

is this controller compatible ? Is there anything else i should check ?

 

thanks !

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

is this controller compatible ?

You seem to have an uncommon ID. They are usually 0073.

Adapter 0: ServeRAID M1015 SAS/SATA Controller

Vendor ID: 0x1000, Device ID: 0x0073

I'm not much sure that yours is compatible, but please try a kext from attach.

SASMegaRAID.kext.zip

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Unfortunately your newer version doesn't help however i'm getting more info from log:

 

 

sh-3.2# dmesg |grep SAS

[sASMegaRAID] super->InitializeController

[sASMegaRAID] [Helper] Region starting at 0xfd9fc000

[sASMegaRAID] Memory mapped at virtual address 0x5ecad000, length 8192

[sASMegaRAID] Attach

[sASMegaRAID] Transition_Firmware

[sASMegaRAID] Firmware state: 0

[sASMegaRAID] Waiting for firmware to become ready

[sASMegaRAID] Firmware stuck in state: 0

[sASMegaRAID] Can't attach device

[sASMegaRAID] IOService->free

 

 

I tried 9211 IT firmware, IR firmware, version P16 and P11 -- no changes. What is interesting when I flashed the card back with original IBM M1015 code it changed the device ID from

0x00721000 to

0x00731000. With original firmware the situation is even worst as the system gives me kernel panic just after Chameleon screen.

I suppose this is something with card itself or my motherboard GA-EP45-DS4 flashed with Cartri Mac Bios 0.8. The motherboard works perfectly well but maybe there is some conflict with this M1015.

The M1015 has IBM P/N FRU 46M0861

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

With original firmware the situation is even worst as the system gives me kernel panic just after Chameleon screen.

Please don't install test kexts into the system. Use kextutil/kextload on which ever location the kext is (shouldn't be in S/L/E for sure) after OS X has loaded.

 

Ok, next try.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

this time long boot time, hang on login screen for some minutes and same result at the end

 

mbinit: done [96 MB total pool size, (64/32) split][sASMegaRAID] super->InitializeController

[sASMegaRAID] [Helper] Region starting at 0xfd9fc000

[sASMegaRAID] Memory mapped at virtual address 0x576dd000, length 8192

[sASMegaRAID] Attach

[sASMegaRAID] Transition_Firmware

[sASMegaRAID] Firmware state: 0

[sASMegaRAID] Waiting for firmware to become ready

[sASMegaRAID] Firmware stuck in state: 0

[sASMegaRAID] Can't attach device

[sASMegaRAID] IOService->free

[sASMegaRAID] IOService->free

 

Give me some time to rollback the bios to original one, install linux and check if this work with that controller.

Thanks for all your efforts.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Any idea why your 64bit LBA still isn't detecting my 2.5TB drives properly? The drives show up as 2.2TB and don't even show the data partition. They show up in Windows as 2.47TB drives so I don't think it's the controller, but rather the driver. Has anyone been successful in running a 3TB+ RAID array using your driver yet?

Because your card doesn't return 0xFFFFFFFF LBA value for Read Capacity 10 command on 2 Tb+ drives as we cleared up via private conversation.

 

That's not good. Your controller should report 0xffffffff for Read Capacity 10 command on disks > 2 Tb to show that LBA number can't be put in 32-bit field limit, in this case os will issue Read Capacity 16 cmd and your card should return LBA num in data block with 64-bit lba field. That's what OS X awaits from your controller.

 

upd: It's a decade passed, but anyway, to end this topic. Apple wasn't helpful and that's seems to be a hardware/firmware issue. As you said that it worked for you in Windows, i suppose drivers for win use some workaround for this particular hw. But on the thread link to which i provided people talking that PERC6/i doesn't handle 3 Tb up drives, and some have this issue even with a PERC6/IR. In general 64-bit LBA works with this kext. At least few reported that there is no such issue with PERCs H310 and H700 upon using this driver.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hello,

 

I've upgrade PERC6 Firmware with last revision from Dell. (6.3.3.0002)

Try with last revision of

SASMegaRAID.kext PreferMSI=true and it works.

:) (was not working with old firmware and kext)

 

I would like to build kext without debug but i get compil error.

 

Perc6.tiff

 

Regards

 

Fred

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

FredWst,

 

According to your screen, that's not the latest revision. There should be 0x00721000 device in plist's at the end of IOPCIMatch in latest revision. I've also reverted some changes without proven usefulness after the revision you've compiled. Maybe one of them is a must for working MSI on your hw. So it's better to pull really latest commit.

 

I would like to build kext without debug but i get compil error.

Normal kext building should give you an error too. So you're probably installed a kext that stayed after last successful build.

The error is caused by absence of mfi_ioctl.h header in my code base. It belongs to FreeBSD team and is required for purpose of interaction with a mfiutil tool. You should run bring-mfiutil.sh script once, after that you'll be able to build kexts without errors.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

FredWst,

 

According to your screen, that's not the latest revision. There should be 0x00721000 device in plist's at the end of IOPCIMatch in latest revision. I've also reverted some changes without proven usefulness after the revision you've compiled. Maybe one of them is a must for working MSI on your hw. So it's better to pull really latest commit.

 

 

Normal kext building should give you an error too. So you're probably installed a kext that stayed after last successful build.

The error is caused by absence of mfi_ioctl.h header in my code base. It belongs to FreeBSD team and is required for purpose of interaction with a mfiutil tool. You should run bring-mfiutil.sh script once, after that you'll be able to build kexts without errors.

 

 


A mfiutil/mfi_evt.c
A mfiutil/mfiutil.c
A mfiutil/mfi_show.c
A mfiutil/Makefile
A mfiutil/mfi_patrol.c
A mfiutil/mfi_cmd.c
A mfiutil/mfiutil.8
A mfiutil/mfiutil.h
A mfiutil/mfi_config.c
A mfiutil/mfi_volume.c
A mfiutil/mfi_drive.c
A mfiutil/mfi_flash.c
U mfiutil
Checked out revision 249696.
Checked out revision 249696.
Checked out revision 249696.
Checked out revision 249696.
patching file mfiutil.h
./bring-mfiutil.sh: line 131: bsdmake: command not found

 

it gave me error.

 

Regards

Fred

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ok , with Linux it works , the card gives me:

 

dmesg:

root@sanextrem:/home/kuba# dmesg | grep sas
[    3.501541] mpt2sas version 13.100.00.00 loaded
[    3.507866] mpt2sas0: 64 BIT PCI BUS DMA ADDRESSING SUPPORTED, total mem (12305636 kB)
[    3.507962] mpt2sas 0000:02:00.0: >irq 48 for MSI/MSI-X
[    3.507992] mpt2sas0-msix0: PCI-MSI-X enabled: IRQ 48
[    3.507994] mpt2sas0: iomem(0x00000000f0840000), mapped(0xffffc900065d0000), size(16384)
[    3.507995] mpt2sas0: ioport(0x000000000000be00), size(256)
[    3.796021] mpt2sas0: sending message unit reset !!
[    3.804018] mpt2sas0: message unit reset: SUCCESS
[    3.959122] mpt2sas0: Allocated physical memory: size(7418 kB)
[    3.959126] mpt2sas0: Current Controller Queue Depth(3307), Max Controller Queue Depth(3432)
[    3.959127] mpt2sas0: Scatter Gather Elements per IO(128)
[    4.192411] mpt2sas0: LSISAS2008: FWVersion(16.00.00.00), ChipRevision(0x02), BiosVersion(07.31.00.00)
[    4.192413] mpt2sas0: Protocol=(Initiator,Target), Capabilities=(TLR,EEDP,Snapshot Buffer,Diag Trace Buffer,Task Set Full,NCQ)
[    4.192524] mpt2sas0: sending port enable !!
[    4.194882] mpt2sas0: host_add: handle(0x0001), sas_addr(0x500605b0026ef9d0), phys(8)
[    4.208011] mpt2sas0: port enable: SUCCESS

 

ls pci -vvnn :

02:00.0 Serial Attached SCSI controller [0107]: LSI Logic / Symbios Logic SAS2008 PCI-Express Fusion-MPT SAS-2 [Falcon] [1000:0072] (rev 02)
    Subsystem: LSI Logic / Symbios Logic Device [1000:3020]
    Control: I/O+ Mem+ BusMaster+ SpecCycle- MemWINV- VGASnoop- ParErr- Stepping- SERR- FastB2B- DisINTx+
    Status: Cap+ 66MHz- UDF- FastB2B- ParErr- DEVSEL=fast >TAbort- <TAbort- <MAbort- >SERR- <PERR- INTx-
    Latency: 0, Cache Line Size: 4 bytes
    Interrupt: pin A routed to IRQ 16
    Region 0: I/O ports at be00 [size=256]
    Region 1: Memory at f0840000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=16K]
    Region 3: Memory at f0400000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=256K]
    [virtual] Expansion ROM at dff00000 [disabled] [size=512K]
    Capabilities: [50] Power Management version 3
		    Flags: PMEClk- DSI- D1+ D2+ AuxCurrent=0mA PME(D0-,D1-,D2-,D3hot-,D3cold-)
		    Status: D0 NoSoftRst+ PME-Enable- DSel=0 DScale=0 PME-
    Capabilities: [68] Express (v2) Endpoint, MSI 00
		    DevCap:	    MaxPayload 4096 bytes, PhantFunc 0, Latency L0s <64ns, L1 <1us
				    ExtTag+ AttnBtn- AttnInd- PwrInd- RBE+ FLReset+
		    DevCtl:	    Report errors: Correctable+ Non-Fatal+ Fatal+ Unsupported+
				    RlxdOrd+ ExtTag- PhantFunc- AuxPwr- NoSnoop+ FLReset-
				    MaxPayload 128 bytes, MaxReadReq 512 bytes
		    DevSta:	    CorrErr- UncorrErr- FatalErr- UnsuppReq- AuxPwr- TransPend-
		    LnkCap:	    Port #0, Speed 5GT/s, Width x8, ASPM L0s, Latency L0 <64ns, L1 <1us
				    ClockPM- Surprise- LLActRep- BwNot-
		    LnkCtl:	    ASPM Disabled; RCB 64 bytes Disabled- Retrain- CommClk+
				    ExtSynch- ClockPM- AutWidDis- BWInt- AutBWInt-
		    LnkSta:	    Speed 5GT/s, Width x8, TrErr- Train- SlotClk+ DLActive- BWMgmt- ABWMgmt-
		    DevCap2: Completion Timeout: Range BC, TimeoutDis+
		    DevCtl2: Completion Timeout: 50us to 50ms, TimeoutDis-
		    LnkCtl2: Target Link Speed: 5GT/s, EnterCompliance- SpeedDis-, Selectable De-emphasis: -6dB
					 Transmit Margin: Normal Operating Range, EnterModifiedCompliance- ComplianceSOS-
					 Compliance De-emphasis: -6dB
		    LnkSta2: Current De-emphasis Level: -6dB, EqualizationComplete-, EqualizationPhase1-
					 EqualizationPhase2-, EqualizationPhase3-, LinkEqualizationRequest-
    Capabilities: [d0] Vital Product Data
		    Unknown small resource type 00, will not decode more.
    Capabilities: [a8] MSI: Enable- Count=1/1 Maskable- 64bit+
		    Address: 0000000000000000  Data: 0000
    Capabilities: [c0] MSI-X: Enable+ Count=15 Masked-
		    Vector table: BAR=1 offset=00002000
		    PBA: BAR=1 offset=00003800
    Capabilities: [100 v1] Advanced Error Reporting
		    UESta:	    DLP- SDES- TLP- FCP- CmpltTO- CmpltAbrt- UnxCmplt- RxOF- MalfTLP- ECRC- UnsupReq- ACSViol-
		    UEMsk:	    DLP- SDES- TLP- FCP- CmpltTO- CmpltAbrt- UnxCmplt- RxOF- MalfTLP- ECRC- UnsupReq- ACSViol-
		    UESvrt:	    DLP+ SDES+ TLP- FCP+ CmpltTO- CmpltAbrt- UnxCmplt- RxOF+ MalfTLP+ ECRC- UnsupReq- ACSViol-
		    CESta:	    RxErr- BadTLP- BadDLLP- Rollover- Timeout- NonFatalErr-
		    CEMsk:	    RxErr- BadTLP- BadDLLP- Rollover- Timeout- NonFatalErr+
		    AERCap:	    First Error Pointer: 00, GenCap+ CGenEn- ChkCap+ ChkEn-
    Capabilities: [138 v1] Power Budgeting <?>
    Capabilities: [150 v1] Single Root I/O Virtualization (SR-IOV)
		    IOVCap:	    Migration-, Interrupt Message Number: 000
		    IOVCtl:	    Enable- Migration- Interrupt- MSE- ARIHierarchy-
		    IOVSta:	    Migration-
		    Initial VFs: 16, Total VFs: 16, Number of VFs: 0, Function Dependency Link: 00
		    VF offset: 1, stride: 1, Device ID: 0072
		    Supported Page Size: 00000553, System Page Size: 00000001
		    Region 0: Memory at 00000000f0844000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable)
		    Region 2: Memory at 00000000f0440000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable)
		    VF Migration: offset: 00000000, BIR: 0
    Capabilities: [190 v1] Alternative Routing-ID Interpretation (ARI)
		    ARICap:	    MFVC- ACS-, Next Function: 0
		    ARICtl:	    MFVC- ACS-, Function Group: 0
    Kernel driver in use: mpt2sas
    Kernel modules: mpt2sas

 

i tried also commercial driver from http://newweb.astekcorp.com/macsrocket/a3drv-hba and it looks fine. The controller is visible under SAS.

Just to to remind if someone has similar issue -- the controller is

IBM

M1015

P/N FRU 46M0861

 

SAS Domain 0:
 Vendor: Unknown OEM/Astek Corp.
 Product: SAS9211-8i (Unlicensed)
 Revision:
 Initiator Identifier: 291
 Speed: 6 Gigabit

 

sh-3.2# dmesg | grep Astek
AstekFusion2 INFO - Using MSI Interrupts
AstekFusion2 INFO - Preparing Adapter...
AstekFusion2 WARN - Non-Astek SASFusion device discovered, allowing driver-load, some features may not be available
AstekFusion2 INFO - SAS2 device reset success
AstekFusion2 INFO - Device is ready!
AstekFusion2 WARN - NO VALID LICENSE FOUND, LIMITING FUNCTIONALITY
AstekFusion2 INFO - InitialzeController complete
AstekFusion2 INFO - Services are resumed.
AstekFusion2 INFO - Enabling Trace Buffer!
AstekFusion2 INFO - Enabling Snapshot Buffer!
AstekFusion2 INFO - Discovery started...
AstekFusion2 INFO - SAS Enclosure Added - Handle:0x0001
AstekFusion2 INFO - ...Discovery is complete

 

and ioreg:

| |   | +-o IOPCI2PCIBridge  <class IOPCI2PCIBridge, id 0x1000001ba, registered, matched, active, busy 0 (1526 ms), retain 8>
 | |   |   | {
 | |   |   |   "IOProbeScore" = 18446744073709551516
 | |   |   |   "CFBundleIdentifier" = "com.apple.iokit.IOPCIFamily"
 | |   |   |   "IOProviderClass" = "IOPCIDevice"
 | |   |   |   "IOClass" = "IOPCI2PCIBridge"
 | |   |   |   "IOMatchCategory" = "IODefaultMatchCategory"
 | |   |   |   "IOPCIClassMatch" = "0x06040000&0xffff0000"
 | |   |   |   "IOPowerManagement" = {"ChildrenPowerState"=2,"CurrentPowerState"=2,"ChildProxyPowerState"=2,"MaxPowerState"=2}
 | |   |   | }
 | |   |   |
 | |   |   +-o pci1000,72@0  <class IOPCIDevice, id 0x100000190, registered, matched, active, busy 0 (1526 ms), retain 10>
 | |   |	 | {
 | |   |	 |   "assigned-addresses" = <100002810000000000be00000000000000010000140002820000000000c09ffd00000000004000001c00028200000000000098fd0000000000000400>
 | |   |	 |   "IOInterruptSpecifiers" = (<1000000007000000>,<0200000000000100>)
 | |   |	 |   "IODeviceMemory" = ("IOSubMemoryDescriptor is not serializable",({"address"=4255105024,"length"=16384}),({"address"=4254597120,"length"=262144}))
 | |   |	 |   "class-code" = <00070100>
 | |   |	 |   "IOPowerManagement" = {"ChildrenPowerState"=2,"CurrentPowerState"=2,"ChildProxyPowerState"=2,"MaxPowerState"=2}
 | |   |	 |   "subsystem-vendor-id" = <00100000>
 | |   |	 |   "IOPCIMSIMode" = Yes
 | |   |	 |   "IOInterruptControllers" = ("io-apic-0","IOPCIMessagedInterruptController")
 | |   |	 |   "vendor-id" = <00100000>
 | |   |	 |   "IOChildIndex" = 1
 | |   |	 |   "device-id" = <72000000>
 | |   |	 |   "IOPCIResourced" = Yes
 | |   |	 |   "IOPCIExpressASPMDefault" = 0
 | |   |	 |   "name" = "pci1000,72"
 | |   |	 |   "compatible" = <"pci1000,3020","pci1000,72","pciclass,010700">
 | |   |	 |   "IOPCIExpressLinkCapabilities" = 1154
 | |   |	 |   "subsystem-id" = <20300000>
 | |   |	 |   "revision-id" = <02000000>
 | |   |	 |   "IOPCIExpressLinkStatus" = 4226
 | |   |	 |   "pcidebug" = "2:0:0"
 | |   |	 |   "IOName" = "pci1000,72"
 | |   |	 |   "reg" = <0000020000000000000000000000000000000000100002010000000000000000000000000001000014000202000000000000000000000000004000001c000202000000000000000000000$
 | |   |	 | }
 | |   |	 |
 | |   |	 +-o com_astekcorp_driver_AstekFusion2Adapter  <class com_astekcorp_driver_AstekFusion2Adapter, id 0x100000453, registered, matched, active, busy 0 (0 ms), retain $
 | |   |		 {
 | |   |		   "IOClass" = "com_astekcorp_driver_AstekFusion2Adapter"
 | |   |		   "Write Time Out Duration" = 30000
 | |   |		   "Helion_Activation" = ("removeme")
 | |   |		   "IOMaximumSegmentByteCountRead" = 16777215
 | |   |		   "IOMaximumSegmentByteCountWrite" = 16777215
 | |   |		   "Assembly" = ""
 | |   |		   "IOProviderClass" = "IOPCIDevice"
 | |   |		   "IOMediaIcon" = {"CFBundleIdentifier"="com.apple.iokit.IOSCSIArchitectureModelFamily","IOBundleResourceFile"="SASHD.icns"}
 | |   |		   "Tracer" = ""
 | |   |		   "IOMaximumSegmentCountRead" = 128
 | |   |		   "SCSI Initiator Identifier" = 291
 | |   |		   "IOProbeScore" = 100
 | |   |		   "IOUserClientClass" = "com_astekcorp_driver_AstekFusionUserClient"
 | |   |		   "Helion_OEM_Strings" = {" 7L-000012-A"="Xtore","7L-000003-A"="Astek Corporation","7L-000002-A"="Astek Corporation","OWCJ6GHPCI2E"="Other World Computing"}
 | |   |		   "IOMaximumSegmentCountWrite" = 128
 | |   |		   "IOMaximumSegmentAddressableBitCount" = 32
 | |   |		   "IOCommandPoolSize" = 496
 | |   |		   "Read Time Out Duration" = 30000
 | |   |		   "IOPowerManagement" = {"DriverPowerState"=1,"MaxPowerState"=1,"CurrentPowerState"=1}
 | |   |		   "IOPCIPrimaryMatch" = "0x00641000&0xFFFFFFFF 0x00651000&0xFFFFFFFF 0x00701000&0xFFFFFFFF 0x00721000&0xFFFFFFFF 0x007E1000&0xFFFFFFFF 0x00861000&0xFFFFFFFF 0$
 | |   |		   "Controller Characteristics" = {"Product Revision Level"="","Product Name"="SAS9211-8i (Unlicensed)","Vendor Name"="Unknown OEM/Astek Corp.","Port Speed"="6$
 | |   |		   "IOMatchCategory" = "IODefaultMatchCategory"
 | |   |		   "CFBundleIdentifier" = "com.astekcorp.driver.AstekFusion2Adapter"
 | |   |		   "WWID" = "500605b0026ef9d0"
 | |   |		   "IOMinimumSegmentAlignmentByteCount" = 4
 | |   |		   "Protocol Characteristics" = {"Physical Interconnect"="SAS","Read Time Out Duration"=30000,"SCSI Domain Identifier"=0,"Physical Interconnect Location"="Exte$
 | |   |		   "Manages Targets" = Yes
 | |   |		   "AdapterName" = "AstekFusion2"
 | |   |		   "IOPCITunnelCompatible" = Yes
 | |   |		   "SpinDown" = Yes
 | |   |		   "IOUnitName" = "disk"

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

 


it gave me error.

It doesn't matter. If you need to build mfiutil, install bsdmake (via homebrew for example) or use prebuilt binary, if not you may ignore this error and continue with kext step.

 

Build last revision Ok.

Good! Thanks.

 

 

 

mpt2sas

It's a new driver oriented on cards of fusion generation only. It's too different from this one, even in place of firmware transition. If you're testing under Linux, you should check how your card operates with "megaraid_sas" driver instead.

 

i tried also commercial driver from http://newweb.astekc...ocket/a3drv-hba and it looks fine.

Same here. That driver supports even more limited range of devices.

Anyway thanks for your reports. I'll see what i can do.

Offtopic: Wha...t? Astek guys are trying to sell just a simple driver? Wow those people trying to make money from everything are driving me to nuts.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.

×