Jump to content
InsanelyMac Forum
CamDAX

ATI 5770 Framebuffer

Recommended Posts

Hello everyone

 

I am posting this for help the myself and anyone else having Framebuffer problems with there ATI 5770 graphics card. As of right now my display resolution is great and dual monitors work as u can see bellow. The only problems I have are DVD Player crashes, desktop backgrounds don't load automatically, and I cant play any of my valve games. I tried booting with frame buffers: Pithecia, Bulrushes, Cattail, Hydrilla, Duckweed, Fanwort, Elodea, Kudzu, Gibba(Makes it boot into safemode), Lotus, Iomoea, Mangabey, Muskgrass, Juncus with no change. Bellow is what System Profiler says about my graphics.

 

ATI Radeon HD 5000:

 

Chipset Model: ATI Radeon HD 5000

Type: GPU

Bus: PCIe

PCIe Lane Width: x16

VRAM (Total): 1024 MB

Vendor: ATI (0x1002)

Device ID: 0x68b8

Revision ID: 0x0000

Displays:

 

E2060:

Resolution: 1600 x 900 @ 60 Hz

Pixel Depth: 32-Bit Color (ARGB8888)

Display Serial Number: 106LTPG05664

Main Display: Yes

Mirror: Off

Online: Yes

Rotation: Supported

DELL IN1910N:

Resolution: 1366 x 768 @ 60 Hz

Pixel Depth: 32-Bit Color (ARGB8888)

Display Serial Number: G510N97I45UI

Mirror: Off

Online: Yes

Rotation: Supported

Display Connector:

Status: No Display Connected

 

Here is what "ATIFramebuffer.kext" looks like

 

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
<plist version="1.0">
<dict>
<key>CFBundleDevelopmentRegion</key>
<string>English</string>
<key>CFBundleExecutable</key>
<string>ATIFramebuffer</string>
<key>CFBundleGetInfoString</key>
<string>ATIFramebuffer 1.6.36.10 (9792)</string>
<key>CFBundleIdentifier</key>
<string>com.apple.kext.ATIFramebuffer</string>
<key>CFBundleInfoDictionaryVersion</key>
<string>6.0</string>
<key>CFBundleName</key>
<string>ATI Framebuffer</string>
<key>CFBundlePackageType</key>
<string>KEXT</string>
<key>CFBundleShortVersionString</key>
<string>1.6.36</string>
<key>CFBundleSignature</key>
<string>????</string>
<key>CFBundleVersion</key>
<string>6.3.6</string>
<key>IOKitPersonalities</key>
<dict>
 <key>Framebuffer_Personality</key>
 <dict>
  <key>CFBundleIdentifier</key>
  <string>com.apple.kext.ATIFramebuffer</string>
  <key>IOClass</key>
  <string>ATIFramebuffer</string>
  <key>IOMatchCategory</key>
  <string>IOFramebuffer</string>
  <key>IONameMatch</key>
  <string>display</string>
  <key>IOProbeScore</key>
  <integer>65000</integer>
  <key>IOProviderClass</key>
  <string>AtiFbStub</string>
 </dict>
</dict>
<key>OSBundleLibraries</key>
<dict>
 <key>com.apple.iokit.IOACPIFamily</key>
 <string>1.2</string>
 <key>com.apple.iokit.IOGraphicsFamily</key>
 <string>1.3</string>
 <key>com.apple.iokit.IOPCIFamily</key>
 <string>1.2</string>
 <key>com.apple.kext.ATISupport</key>
 <string>1.1.36</string>
 <key>com.apple.kpi.bsd</key>
 <string>8.0.0</string>
 <key>com.apple.kpi.iokit</key>
 <string>8.0.0</string>
 <key>com.apple.kpi.libkern</key>
 <string>8.0.0</string>
 <key>com.apple.kpi.mach</key>
 <string>8.0.0</string>
 <key>com.apple.kpi.unsupported</key>
 <string>8.0.0</string>
</dict>
<key>OSBundleRequired</key>
<string>Safe Boot</string>
</dict>
</plist>

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Advertisement

Well I got DVD Player to stop crashing and I can play my valve games again. Dual monitors are not working though. :( Any ideas?

 

Boot.plist

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
<plist version="1.0">
<dict>
<key>AtiPorts</key>
<string>2</string>
<key>EthernetBuiltIn</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>GenerateCStates</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>GeneratePStates</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>GraphicsEnabler</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>Kernel</key>
<string>mach_kernel</string>
<key>Kernel Flags</key>
<string>npci=0x2000</string>
<key>Legacy Logo</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>Timeout</key>
<string>3</string>
</dict>
</plist>

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm using Vervet and just my DVI monitor works. My card has (from right to left) HDMI, VGA, & DVI. My second monitor is on the VGA port, unfortunately I do not have another DVI monitor.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I tried that ATI5000 kext and it booted safe-mode. I also tried "Hoolock" and that just wouldn't boot. I have the Asus not the MSI one with 1-VGA port, 1-DVI port, & 1-HDMI port. Is it posible to figure out what is enabling the dual monitors when I have "GraphicsEnabler=No" and reverse engineer that?

 

SCORE!! Vervet was the wrong Frame Buffer. Eulemur was the correct Frame Buffer for the Asus ATI5770 graphics card. I now have fully-working dual monitors, DVD Player doesn't crash, & Source games (eg. TF2, Garrys Mod, Portal) work!! Thanks for the help everyone! Tomorrow I am gonna try and see if the HDMI port works on my 40" flatscreen, then I will have 3 monitors.

 

 

ATI Radeon HD 5700 Series:

 

Chipset Model: ATI Radeon HD 5700 Series

Type: GPU

Bus: PCIe

PCIe Lane Width: x16

VRAM (Total): 1024 MB

Vendor: ATI (0x1002)

Device ID: 0x68b8

Revision ID: 0x0000

Displays:

 

E2060:

Resolution: 1600 x 900 @ 60 Hz

Pixel Depth: 32-Bit Color (ARGB8888)

Display Serial Number: 106LTPG05664

Main Display: Yes

Mirror: Off

Online: Yes

Rotation: Supported

DELL IN1910N:

Resolution: 1366 x 768 @ 60 Hz

Pixel Depth: 32-Bit Color (ARGB8888)

Display Serial Number: G510N97I45UI

Mirror: Off

Online: Yes

Rotation: Supported

Display Connector:

Status: No Display Connected

 

While Playing Garrys mod I tried to run a youtube video and I got a Kernel Panic.

 

After I rebooted I opened Console to fine the error message.

 

Console says:

9/15/12 11:26:28 PM com.valvesoftware.steam.ipctool[275] Error: ClaimLock by [390] on already claimed lock [392]: /MTX/fad5c6ab [GameOverlayRender_PaintCmdStream_390_mutex]
9/15/12 11:26:31 PM com.valvesoftware.steam.ipctool[275] Error: ClaimLock by [392] on already claimed lock [392]: /BSem/40f726f [GameOverlay_InGameRenderingCompleted_390.BinSemLock]
9/15/12 11:26:31 PM com.valvesoftware.steam.ipctool[275] Error: ClaimLock by [390] on already claimed lock [392]: /MTX/fad5c6ab [GameOverlayRender_PaintCmdStream_390_mutex]
9/15/12 11:27:14 PM com.valvesoftware.steam.ipctool[275] Error: ClaimLock by [390] on already claimed lock [392]: /MTX/fad5c6ab [GameOverlayRender_PaintCmdStream_390_mutex]
9/15/12 11:27:18 PM com.valvesoftware.steam.ipctool[275] Error: ClaimLock by [390] on already claimed lock [392]: /MTX/fad5c6ab [GameOverlayRender_PaintCmdStream_390_mutex]
9/15/12 11:27:28 PM com.valvesoftware.steam.ipctool[275] Error: ClaimLock by [390] on already claimed lock [392]: /MTX/fad5c6ab [GameOverlayRender_PaintCmdStream_390_mutex]
9/15/12 11:27:31 PM com.valvesoftware.steam.ipctool[275] Error: ClaimLock by [390] on already claimed lock [392]: /MTX/fad5c6ab [GameOverlayRender_PaintCmdStream_390_mutex]
9/15/12 11:27:32 PM com.valvesoftware.steam.ipctool[275] Error: ClaimLock by [390] on already claimed lock [392]: /MTX/fad5c6ab [GameOverlayRender_PaintCmdStream_390_mutex]
9/15/12 11:27:47 PM com.valvesoftware.steam.ipctool[275] Error: ClaimLock by [390] on already claimed lock [392]: /MTX/fad5c6ab [GameOverlayRender_PaintCmdStream_390_mutex]
9/15/12 11:27:48 PM com.valvesoftware.steam.ipctool[275] Error: ClaimLock by [392] on already claimed lock [392]: /BSem/40f726f [GameOverlay_InGameRenderingCompleted_390.BinSemLock]
9/15/12 11:27:58 PM com.valvesoftware.steam.ipctool[275] Error: ClaimLock by [392] on already claimed lock [392]: /BSem/40f726f [GameOverlay_InGameRenderingCompleted_390.BinSemLock]
9/15/12 11:28:19 PM com.valvesoftware.steam.ipctool[275] Error: ClaimLock by [390] on already claimed lock [392]: /MTX/fad5c6ab [GameOverlayRender_PaintCmdStream_390_mutex]

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have HD 5770 with Vervet Framenbufer and work good, all ports working, Graphics inject in DSDT and flags in boot plist: GraphicsEnabler=No PCIRootUID=0 Ati Config=Vervet Ati Ports=3 Use Ati Rom=Yes

Graphics Mode=1920x1200x32

 

and in Extra my rom= 1002_68B8.rom

 

 

Last login: Sat Sep 15 17:58:35 on ttys000

localhost:~ iFIRE$ ioreg | grep ATY

| | | | +-o ATY,Vervet@0 <class AtiFbStub, id 0x10000031c, registered, matched, active, busy 0 (733 ms), retain 8>

| | | | | +-o ATY_Vervet <class AMDFramebuffer, id 0x100000320, registered, matched, active, busy 0 (733 ms), retain 18>

| | | | +-o ATY,Vervet@1 <class AtiFbStub, id 0x10000031d, registered, matched, active, busy 0 (10 ms), retain 8>

| | | | | +-o ATY_Vervet <class AMDFramebuffer, id 0x100000326, registered, matched, active, busy 0 (10 ms), retain 15>

| | | | +-o ATY,Vervet@2 <class AtiFbStub, id 0x10000031e, registered, matched, active, busy 0 (2 ms), retain 8>

| | | | | +-o ATY_Vervet <class AMDFramebuffer, id 0x100000335, registered, matched, active, busy 0 (0 ms), retain 14>

| | | | +-o ATY,Vervet@3 <class AtiFbStub, id 0x10000031f, registered, matched, active, busy 0 (0 ms), retain 8>

| | | | | +-o ATY_Vervet <class AMDFramebuffer, id 0x10000033b, registered, matched, active, busy 0 (0 ms), retain 14>

localhost:~ iFIRE$

 

localhost:~ iFIRE$ sudo kextstat | grep AMD

Password:

55 2 0xffffff7f8153f000 0x1ea000 0x1ea000 com.apple.kext.AMDSupport (8.0.0) <54 10 9 7 5 4 3 1>

56 0 0xffffff7f81744000 0x49000 0x49000 com.apple.kext.AMD5000Controller (8.0.0) <55 54 10 9 5 4 3 1>

59 0 0xffffff7f81d77000 0x3cd000 0x3cd000 com.apple.AMDRadeonAccelerator (1.0.0) <58 57 54 10 7 5 4 3 1>

60 0 0xffffff7f81729000 0x13000 0x13000 com.apple.kext.AMDFramebuffer (8.0.0) <55 54 10 9 7 5 4 3 1>

localhost:~ iFIRE$

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Not all 5770 use same frame buffer, depends on cards port layout, most single slot 3 port with vga, dvi and hdmi (Hoolock) while other layout usually Eulemur or Vervet, but with all the variations to the 5770, you may need to manually edit the frame buffer, bcc9 has thread with more info on how to do this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.



  • Similar Content

    • By zeg66
      Please help me with this 10.9.5 system. Motherboard: Gigabyte 965p-s3 rev3.3, gpu: Ati Radeon HD6450 (dvi/hdmi/vga). 
      Using any of the 3 ports on the 6450 (dvi, hdmi, vga), I see all the white letters on black background during boot but when they complete and it's time for the graphics to start I get a black screen and sometimes a restart after that. Using Clover 4411. Is there any way to get past this?
    • By Soeren_DK
      Hi there.
      I'm new to this site but not totally new to hack. I've had a hack since 10.4 and the latest version I ran was 10.9, not totally fixed but it worked to what I needed. Now I want to make the machine run as good as it can. I can see there has been a lot of changes/upgrades/new solutions since I installed my hack and I have a hard time to catch up.  
      I've been able to boot and install macOSX and now I need the POST installation.
      I tried to install the clover EFI boot loader with these settings:
       
      and found the DSDT.aml and SSDT-0.aml from HERE
      found the apfs.efi
      and placed it in EFI -> EFI -> CLOVER -> driver64
      and these kext in here:

       
       
      But when I boot it up this is the first bootscreen I have. No partions, no mouse control, no nothing.

      if I exit clover this screen appear.

      and now everything works. 
       
      What is wrong?
      Cheers
      Soren
    • By sajiddesigner
      Hello,
       
      I am planning to build a budget hackintosh (under $120 in total) please suggest hackintosh High Siera comptabile Nvidia or ATI graphics card so i can build this budget hackintosh .
       
      Waiting for reply
       
      Sajid Manzoor
    • By Onestyle
      THIS IS STILL WORK IN PROGRESS
      Laptop : Sony Vaio- SVE1712W1EB



       
       
      OSX version : 10.13 - High Sierra - SMBIOS - MacBookPro9,1
       
      Motherboard : Intel HM76 Express
      DSDT FIX :



      Show Fan RPM's : Updated,now working with Latest Istat Menus and HWMonitor 



      CPU : i7 - 3632QM (2.2Ghz- 3.2Ghz) :



      Dedicated Graphics : AMD Radeon HD 7650M 2048MB 
      Full QE/CI and Resolution: 


      Fix gradient issue with AMD Graphics the fast way :


      Fix Brightness issue + brightness fn keys:


       
      Fix sleep issue  and naming issue with AMD Graphics :


       
      Integrated Graphics : Intel HD Graphics 4000 (can't be enabled in bios,no option)

      Touchpad and Keyboard :



      Wifi : AR9485 : 



      Ethernet : Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller : Works out of the box

      Sound : Realtek ALC269 -VC1 : 



      Battery: Works after patching : 





      Built-in Camera :




       
       

      OSX version : 10.12 - Sierra - SMBIOS - MacBookPro9,1
      Motherboard : Intel HM76 Express
      DSDT FIX :



      Show Fan RPM's : Updated,now working with Latest Istat Menus and HWMonitor 



      CPU : i7 - 3632QM (2.2Ghz- 3.2Ghz) :



      Dedicated Graphics : AMD Radeon HD 7650M 2048MB
      Full QE/CI and Resolution:


      Fix gradient issue with AMD Graphics the fast way :


      Fix Brightness issue + brightness fn keys:



      Integrated Graphics : Intel HD Graphics 4000 (can't be enabled in bios,no option)

      Touchpad and Keyboard :



      Wifi : AR9485 :



      Ethernet : Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller : Works out of the box

      Sound : Realtek ALC269 -VC1 :



      Battery: Works after patching :





      Built-in Camera :






      OSX version : 10.11.6 - El Capitan - SMBIOS - MacBookPro9,1

      Motherboard : Intel HM76 Express
      DSDT FIX :



      Show Fan RPM's : Updated,now working with Latest Istat Menus and HWMonitor 



      CPU : i7 - 3632QM (2.2Ghz- 3.2Ghz) :



      Dedicated Graphics : AMD Radeon HD 7650M 2048MB
      Full QE/CI and Resolution:


      Fix gradient issue with AMD Graphics the fast way :


      Fix Brightness issue + brightness fn keys:



      Integrated Graphics : Intel HD Graphics 4000 (can't be enabled in bios,no option)

      Touchpad and Keyboard :



      Wifi : AR9485 :



      Ethernet : Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller : Works out of the box

      Sound : Realtek ALC269 -VC1 :



      Battery: Works after patching :





      Built-in Camera :





      UPDATED : October 9. 2016.
    • By Morea
      Hi everybody! I need some help today: I’m trying to install Mac OS Sierra 10.12.5 on my friend’s laptop, which is an Acer Aspire 5250, but that’s quite a difficult task because it’s an AMD CPU. The model is AMD E-450 APU with Radeon HD Graphics (graphics model Radeon HD 6320). I need some help because I can’t boot the installer, when I select my USB from Clover, after the row of pluses in verbose mode instead of showing me all the booting commands it stucks on a black screen and the screen starts flickering along with a continuous beep sound and so I’m unable to get to the installer. Do I need a patched kernel or something else? Are you able to give me some help? Thanks!
×