please help me

djtd

12 posts in this topic

I want to install osx on my pc but not sure if it can be done.

My specs are

Mobo - asus p5n e-sli Ram - 12gb Cpu - intel q6600 core 2 quad Grafix - nvidia 8600GT

What are my options if any?

Thanks

Tony.

You can use myhack, that's your best option. You will be able to run Lion perfectly. Just search a DSDT for your motherboard witch are plenty and you're good

To

Go

You can use myhack, that's your best option. You will be able to run Lion perfectly. Just search a DSDT for your motherboard witch are plenty and you're good

To

Go

Sorry to be a complete newbie but what's myhack and a dsdt?

Myhack is a way to install osx just google myhack and go

To his website. It has a great noob tutorial. And DSDT, you don't need to know what it does, just search the matching file on the web and copy it to the root of your Mac hd after install

Thanks for your replies jack will have a go today and see if i can sort it.

Much appreciated.

Tony

Ok now im confused. Its saying i need to drag the myhack dmg to applications but my pc is still on windows. really Confused

There are lots of guides, just read over them.

Your best solution is to download i Boot, bun that to a CD, boot off of your cd-rom and and swap i boot cd for your snow leopard install disc.

Some basic termonology for you to understand:

Kext = driver (sort of)

bootloader = pre operating system booter

SL = Snow Leopard

i Boot is a from of a boot loader that will let you start the install process, once you've got OSX installed on your HDD you can install a boot loader on the HDD so you don't need the boot cd any longer.

You need a 2nd hard drive if you want to dual boot windows/mac osx.

My opinion is to have 3 drives. 1 drive for windows, 1 drive for your OSX install, and 1 drive for your osx backup so you can tweak things and if you break it, you can restore.

I personally used 2 internal drives for Win 7/OSX, and 1 usb driver for backups.