NullCPUPwm slowing down my machine / Idle Temp questions..

4 posts in this topic

I'm pretty new to this, so take it easy on me!

I have an HP xw8600 running 10.7.2 with the following:

no DSDT edits

2x x5450 Xeon

4gb RAM

Nvidia Quadro FX 1700

My question/problem..

With NullCPUPwm - My geekbench scores are kind of low - 8257, but idle temps are also low, at about 113f-117f (via iStat, and down to 111 as I type this). I also noticed that the CPU voltage always remains constant at 1.04v with NullCPUPwm installed.

Without NullCPUPwm - My geekbench scores are, in my opinion, awesome! - 11612 (destroying my 2010 17" i5 MBP 8gb RAM), but my idle temps are high (I think?) at about 126f - 129f and up to 140ish under load. But, the CPU voltage changes, so I guess speedstep must be working in some capacity without NullCPUPwm, going between 1.04v and 1.12v depending on load.

Its probably worth adding - I get this in my kernel log when booting without NullCPUPwm.

localhost kernel[0]: AppleACPICPU: ProcessorId=1 LocalApicId=0 Enabled
localhost kernel[0]: AppleACPICPU: ProcessorId=2 LocalApicId=4 Enabled
localhost kernel[0]: AppleACPICPU: ProcessorId=3 LocalApicId=2 Enabled
localhost kernel[0]: AppleACPICPU: ProcessorId=4 LocalApicId=6 Enabled
localhost kernel[0]: AppleACPICPU: ProcessorId=5 LocalApicId=1 Enabled
localhost kernel[0]: AppleACPICPU: ProcessorId=6 LocalApicId=5 Enabled
localhost kernel[0]: AppleACPICPU: ProcessorId=7 LocalApicId=3 Enabled
localhost kernel[0]: AppleACPICPU: ProcessorId=8 LocalApicId=7 Enabled
localhost kernel[0]: ACPI: System State [s0 S3 S4 S5] (S3)
localhost kernel[0]: ** AppleSMBusPCI::start failed to get acpi path for provider
localhost kernel[0]: ACPI_SMC_PlatformPlugin::pushCPU_CSTData - _CST evaluation failed
localhost kernel[0]: ACPI_SMC_PlatformPlugin::pushCPU_CSTData - _CST evaluation failed