How to clone a hard drive with chameleon? - SOLVED

Costanegra

6 posts in this topic

Hello,

My frist post here. So I've been running SL for a while (installed with the help of AndyBoot CD v4) and decided to finally upgrade to Lion. As a precaution measure, I did a full backup of my drive (clone) using SuperDuper. After a successful upgrade on my original drive, I started playing around with some preference files and graphics kexts. I did not know what I was doing, yet I was stupid enough to do it. Long story short, I messed up my Lion installation and I cannot boot it up from Chameleon. I can, however, choose my SL dive from Chameleon and work from it.

Cutting to the chase, I've noticed that my cloned drive does not have Chameleon installed. On my BIOS, the first boot drive is my original drive (the one with Lion) and my second one is the one with SL. If I switch the order and make my SL drive the first to boot, Chameleon will not load (I just see a black screen with a white ___ line). Even though I cannot boot my Lion drive from Chameleon, Chameleon works on that drive, but not on my SL one.

So, finally moving on to my point: I've asked for help on how to fix the bootloader problem on my Lion drive but so far I've had no luck. To avoid hassle, I've decided to clone my current SL drive onto my Lion drive (clone of a clone), and try to upgrade to Lion one more time, but I have some concerns:

1.- Why did SuperDuper did not make an exact clone of my drive with all the bootloaders included?