Jump to content
InsanelyMac Forum
Sign in to follow this  
kumori_hime

Sapphire 6770 Almost Fully Working

Recommended Posts

So I have a Sapphire HD 6770 that's almost fully working but I have no QE/CI. Here's what I've done so far:

 

 

I've added my device, vendor and subsys IDs to ATI.c in the latest Chameleon trunk (and told it to use Vervet as this seems to work the best) and compiled it and installed it.

 

Added GraphicsEnabler=Yes to boot.plist

 

I've added my device ID (0x68BA1002) to ATI5000Controller.kext and ATIRadeonX3000.kext. (Since the 6770 is a rebranded 5770 this makes sense. Adding it to the ATI6000 controller just locks up on boot.)

 

For good measure i've extracted my vbios in Windows with gpuz and put the rom file in /Extra and named it 1002_68ba.rom, adding UseAtiROM=Yes to boot.plist.

 

Now, sudo lspci -nnvd 0x1002: | grep -B2 Subsystem in terminal tells me:

 

01:00.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: ATI Technologies Inc Juniper XT [AMD Radeon HD 6000 Series] [1002:68ba] (prog-if 00 [VGA controller])
Subsystem: PC Partner Limited Unknown device [174b:1482]
--

01:00.1 Audio device [0403]: ATI Technologies Inc Juniper HDMI Audio [Radeon HD 5700 Series] [1002:aa58]
Subsystem: PC Partner Limited Unknown device [174b:aa58]

 

bdmesg tell me:

 

Framebuffer @0xD0000000  MMIO @0xFDDC0000  I/O Port @0x0000CE00 ROM Addr @0x00000000
ATI card POSTed, reading VBIOS from legacy space
ATI Juniper ATI Radeon HD 5770 1024MB (Vervet) [1002:68ba] (subsys [174b:1482]):: PciRoot(0x2)/Pci(0x2,0x0)/Pci(0x0,0x0)

 

ioreg | grep ATY tells me:

 

	| |   |	 +-o ATY,Vervet@0  <class AtiFbStub, id 0x1000002c4, registered, matched, act$
| |   |	 | +-o ATY_Vervet  <class ATIFramebuffer, id 0x1000002c8, registered, matched$
| |   |	 +-o ATY,Vervet@1  <class AtiFbStub, id 0x1000002c5, registered, matched, act$
| |   |	 | +-o ATY_Vervet  <class ATIFramebuffer, id 0x1000002df, registered, matched$
| |   |	 +-o ATY,Vervet@2  <class AtiFbStub, id 0x1000002c6, registered, matched, act$
| |   |	 | +-o ATY_Vervet  <class ATIFramebuffer, id 0x1000002e5, registered, matched$
| |   |	 +-o ATY,Vervet@3  <class AtiFbStub, id 0x1000002c7, registered, matched, act$
| |   |	 | +-o ATY_Vervet  <class ATIFramebuffer, id 0x1000002eb, registered, matched$

 

And because of my ati.c edits my System Profiler looks like this: (can't take a screenshot for some reason so i pasted the text)

 

Sapphire Radeon HD 6770:

 

Chipset Model: ATI Radeon HD 6770

Type: GPU

Bus: PCIe

PCIe Lane Width: x16

VRAM (Total): 1024 MB

Vendor: ATI (0x1002)

Device ID: 0x68ba

Revision ID: 0x0000

Displays:

JW199D:

Resolution: 1440 x 900 @ 61 Hz

Pixel Depth: 32-Bit Color (ARGB8888)

Display Serial Number: 625GT3JY08617

Mirror: Off

Online: Yes

CMC 22 W:

Resolution: 1680 x 1050 @ 60 Hz

Pixel Depth: 32-Bit Color (ARGB8888)

Display Serial Number: 0

Main Display: Yes

Mirror: Off

Online: Yes

Display Connector:

Status: No Display Connected

Display Connector:

Status: No Display Connected

 

As you can see there's no slot, ROM version or EFI details in there (although in -v i see DE. QE/CI isn't working but everything else is fine on dual monitors.

 

And I get this from -v at the end of boot:

 

7/4/11 11:14:34 AM	kernel	** Device in slot: SLOT--1 **
7/4/11 11:14:34 AM	kernel	RadeonPCI::start
7/4/11 11:14:34 AM	kernel	Range[0] d0000000:10000000
7/4/11 11:14:34 AM	kernel	Range[1] fddc0000:00020000
7/4/11 11:14:34 AM	kernel	Range[2] 0000ce00:00000100
7/4/11 11:14:34 AM	kernel	Range@0x10 d0000000:10000000
7/4/11 11:14:34 AM	kernel	Range@0x10 (d0000000) mapped to kernel virtual address 5c1ee000
7/4/11 11:14:34 AM	kernel	ATI ROM start at 000c0000 mapped to kernel virtual address 5b7df000
7/4/11 11:14:34 AM	kernel	ROM signature is read as: 0000aa55
7/4/11 11:14:34 AM	kernel	Config register@0x4 = 00100007
7/4/11 11:14:34 AM	kernel	** Device in slot: SLOT--1 **
7/4/11 11:14:38 AM	kernel	buffer size: 262144, channels: 2, bit depth: 16, # samp. frames: 65536
7/4/11 11:14:38 AM	kernel	buffer size: 262144, channels: 2, bit depth: 24, # samp. frames: 32768

 

So even though it says it's loading the Vervet framebuffer i'm not really seeing any effect because without the edits to ati.c it would load the generic framebuffer and everything works the same so I have no idea if Vervet is really being loaded at all. No other framebuffer will work either. I haven't gone through the whole range of buffers but Uakari leave me at a black screen (though i can tell it gets to desktop).

 

For what it's worth I'm running 10.6.8 on AMD with nawcom's legacy kernel. I'm considering returning this thing to Newegg and getting a better supported card but since this is a rebranded 5770 I would hope I could get this fully working. Does anyone have any real suggestions as to where I can go from here?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Advertisement
Easiest way to get a 6770 working is to use RBE and edit the device id in the vga bios to match the device id of a 5770.

how do I do that?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
how do I do that?

Try this:

 

Hi,

 

I've spent some hours yesterday finding a way to make my Saphire 6770 work with full 3D under lion.

Finally there is an easy way to do this.

 

1) Install the last Chimera

2) Download the Radeon Bios Editor here: http://www.techpowerup.com/rbe/

3) Read the flash with Radeon Bios Editor (also backup it)

4) Change the manufacturer id to ATI (0x1002)

5) Change the device id to Radeon HD5770

6) Flash the card

7) Reboot

 

That's it!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Easiest way to get a 6770 working is to use RBE and edit the device id in the vga bios to match the device id of a 5770.

 

it fully works on Lion and Snow !!! ;)

 

Lion 10.7.3 build 11D50

Capture d’écran 2012-01-28 à 01.11.59.png 6770_to_5770.PNG

 

Snow 10.6.8

Capture d’écran 2012-01-28 à 17.15.52.png

 

 

:)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ok so i modified mine, from asus 6770 to ati 5770. Tried it in windows first, got bsod, but that was a pagefile issue. Now im in windows ive installed the drivers again, and windwos has stopped the device code 43 on device manager. I also tried the ati 5770 drivers to no avail. Have you guys got it working on windows again once you modified them, or am i stuck with changing its bios everytime i switch between windows and os x?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

at the beginning, I had the same problem with the drivers, but that was because I had chosen for Subvendor ID (ATI 1002). As soon as I

 

put the default Subvendor ID from my Sapphire HD 6770 (174B), I had no problem. ;)

 

But in two cases, my card worked fine in Lion. :D

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

ok, so i modified the manufacture back, but kept it shoing as 5770, and lion boots, recognises it as 5700 series, but i cant change resolution from 800x600 :S there anymore steps i havent dont?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If this is a certain XFX 5770, it won't work w/ lion w/out flashing the bios

http://cosmo.2y.net/wordpress/2011/11/08/hd-577a-znfr-fixed-for-10-6-8-10-7-10-7-1-10-7-2/

 

Call with FONcall™

[phone]

Connecting

Connected

Call failed

bug?

 

Blogs being lame

Finally, after months of pissing around, i got the nerve up and fixed this HD 5770 card for OSX.

All you do is flash it.

First of all, grab the right BIOS file

XFX.HD5770.1024.090926.bin

Then grab the flashing utility

DOS

Windows

Flash how ever you want, this isn't a tutorial on making a dos USB boot disk..

Then remove any AtiConfig you have in org.chamelon.Boot.plist, set GraphicsEnabler=YES

reboot.

DONE.

 

 

Call with FONcall™

[phone]

Connecting

Connected

Call failed

bug?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hey guys. If I flash 6770 into 5770, in Windows it will be

recognises as 5770 or as 6770?

 

 

 

if you paint your green car in red, what color she'll have ? :idea::lol:

 

yes, if you flash your 6770 into 5770, it will be recognize as 5770 ! ;)

 

 

http://www.insanelymac.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=261483&view=findpost&p=1790274

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I did  flash my sapphire hd 6770
a couple of month ago to a paper weight.

 

I did flash bios on nvidia grafik or on my mainboard so I have little experiance.

I dont no what went wrong. After flashing screen was black

Be warned!

 

Maybe someone who made it will write a good tutorial with all details.

 

The card was brandnew so I did get a new on because of waranty.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.



×