Mac on AMD 64?

Zweekerboy

13 posts in this topic

Ok, so im pretty new to this. Can Mac OS X be installed and RUN on a AMD 64 3000? Even if it's a 64bit processor? is there a special hacked installation?

I downloaded a Mac OS X 10.4.6 , well i think it's .6 .

Any who..

I downloaded that DVD image, burned it, booted it, everything went fine, until an error message came up on DOS (It's a Darwin boot loader).

There was a time-out, when trying to install hardware. Then i let it restart the process until it stopped, and went back to the command prompt.

I tried it in safe mode, and still didn't work.

Im sure it has to be with my 64bit processor? am i right? :thumbsdown_anim:

i installed 10.4.3 on athlon64 3200+ (venice), so it works with amd64

but i had issue with motherboard (albatron k8nf4x), macos did not like usb contoller so i had to disable usb in bios prior to installation...

i installed 10.4.3 on athlon64 3200+ (venice), so it works with amd64

but i had issue with motherboard (albatron k8nf4x), macos did not like usb contoller so i had to disable usb in bios prior to installation...

Hmmm, what steps did u take? Also, what kinda install CD did u use?

So u know,

I have a...

AMD 64 3000

512mb RAM

120gig WD HD (with a unnalocated part. 20gb for OS X)

Asus K8V MB

and a AGP ATI x1300

I don't think it's uncompatible with any of the hardware, cause i disbabled it, and my current boot-loader crashes.

i have 10.4.3 patched with JaS1111a generic patch v4.2b

it went very smooth - i partitioned my hard disk, booted macos dvd, formated one partition with macos disk utility and installed the system without problem.

as i told you before, i just had to disable usb in bios - so i do not use usb mouse and keyboard.

when i left usb enabled it would try forever to enumerate some nonexistant usb device and it would not boot at al