Looking for a better understanding

nduetime

2 posts in this topic

Pretty new to the forum but have spent some time searching it for the last couple of weeks. I'm new to the OSx86 scene, looking forward to my first build. I haven't built anything from the ground up but I do have some limited experience with hardware upgrades. I was hoping someone might be able to clarify some pretty simple questions:

* Even with a factory copy of Leopard or Snow Leopard, kexts have to be installed in order to get the components of a build functioning properly with OSX?

* Kexts are basically just drivers for the hardware?

* Is it possible that kexts could include viruses?

* An install DVD is just a factory copy of OSX?

I know these are really basic questions, but I just want to make sure I fully understand it before I feel even more stupid than I do about this.

Pretty new to the forum but have spent some time searching it for the last couple of weeks. I'm new to the OSx86 scene, looking forward to my first build. I haven't built anything from the ground up but I do have some limited experience with hardware upgrades. I was hoping someone might be able to clarify some pretty simple questions:

* Even with a factory copy of Leopard or Snow Leopard, kexts have to be installed in order to get the components of a build functioning properly with OSX?

* Kexts are basically just drivers for the hardware?

* Is it possible that kexts could include viruses?

* An install DVD is just a factory copy of OSX?

I know these are really basic questions, but I just want to make sure I fully understand it before I feel even more stupid than I do about this.

Hi,

the right answer could give how programming the kext automatism ... im not the expert.