Jump to content
Kabyl

ATI Radeon HD6000, HD5000 and HD4000 series support in Chameleon

869 posts in this topic

Recommended Posts

Advertisement
FKA, sometimes I have the same situation on XFX 5870.

 

What about temperature ? My XFX 5870: in Windows 38-42*C, in Mac OS X 58-63*C (IDLE) !! Fan in mac os spins faster and it annoys me because I have 3 quiet fans (3x 120mm @ 900rpm - PSU, CASE, CPU)

 

And the last thing - performance. Any ideas how to increase performance ? Result in cinebench is about 34 fps.

 

Hi

 

My idle temps are around 53*C a few degrees higher than windows.

 

You can change the behaviour of the fans by using Radion Bios editor in windows, but that involves reflashing the GPU's BIOS.

 

Performance - I have no idea. I get a cinebench result in windows 52fps and the same as you in OS X around 34-35fps.

 

D

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I think the temperatures depends by framebuffer (AtiConfig).. My Sapphire HD4670 512DDR3 .. in Win has 30-32 degrees celsius .. In Snow Leopard with AtiConfig-Flicker, has about 10-13 degrees higher, but with "Motmot" is same that in Windows ..

If somebody tested HD4670 with diferent framebuffer (AtiConfig) can write to say something about the ports .. temperatures .. My config with "Motmot" detect VGA and DVI, but I can use just the VGA .. My DVI to VGA adapter isn`t work.. just blank screen .. I haven`t got original DVI to DVI cabel to test .. but if I find, I will post the result ...

PS: With this bootloader .. (the last version here), I also have about 10 degrees higher CPU temps.. than in Windows.., but when I enable SpeedStep, I`ve got just 2-3 degrees higher temps than Windows .. and this is not so bad..

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Hi

 

My idle temps are around 53*C a few degrees higher than windows.

 

You can change the behaviour of the fans by using Radion Bios editor in windows, but that involves reflashing the GPU's BIOS.

 

Performance - I have no idea. I get a cinebench result in windows 52fps and the same as you in OS X around 34-35fps.

 

D

 

Another Reason for higher Temps in Snow Leopard is the missing ATI Powerplay (low 2d Idle Clock Rates) Obviously the Atikexts cant run Ati Powerplay...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi all,

 

I have a HD5870 installed via "Chameleon 2.0 RC5 r700 by Kabyl" and DSDT system GA-P55-UD5 10.6.6

 

All work fine but there a strange issue:

 

when I boot my system just the video ketxt loading the monitor go to "no signal". Now I put my system to sleep e after the wake up the HD5870 work greit.

I have a Dell U2711 via DVI connector, this is my gfxutil output:

 

DevicePath = PciRoot(0x1)/Pci(0x3,0x0)/Pci(0x0,0x0)

 

I think the video output go to wrong connector after the first boot and whit the sleep-wake up the LCD are finally recognized.

Can I put the right pat for my device?

This is my log before the first sleep:

 

18/02/11 18.43.23	IncompatibleAppDisplay[144]	kCGErrorFailure: CGSColorProfileCreateWithColorProfileID: Cannot initialize color profile client
18/02/11 18.43.23	[0x0-0x5005].com.apple.IncompatibleAppDisplay[144]	Fri Feb 18 18:43:23 Mac-Pro-di-fabry.local IncompatibleAppDisplay[144] <Error>: kCGErrorFailure: CGSColorProfileCreateWithColorProfileID: Cannot initialize color profile client
18/02/11 18.43.23	IncompatibleAppDisplay[144]	kCGErrorFailure: Set a breakpoint @ CGErrorBreakpoint() to catch errors as they are logged.
18/02/11 18.43.23	IncompatibleAppDisplay[144]	kCGErrorFailure: CGSColorProfileCreateWithColorProfileID: Cannot initialize color profile client
18/02/11 18.43.23	[0x0-0x5005].com.apple.IncompatibleAppDisplay[144]	Fri Feb 18 18:43:23 Mac-Pro-di-fabry.local IncompatibleAppDisplay[144] <Error>: kCGErrorFailure: Set a breakpoint @ CGErrorBreakpoint() to catch errors as they are logged.
18/02/11 18.43.23	IncompatibleAppDisplay[144]	kCGErrorFailure: CGSColorProfileCreateWithColorProfileID: Cannot initialize color profile client
18/02/11 18.43.23	[0x0-0x5005].com.apple.IncompatibleAppDisplay[144]	Fri Feb 18 18:43:23 Mac-Pro-di-fabry.local IncompatibleAppDisplay[144] <Error>: kCGErrorFailure: CGSColorProfileCreateWithColorProfileID: Cannot initialize color profile client
18/02/11 18.43.23	IncompatibleAppDisplay[144]	kCGErrorFailure: CGSColorProfileCreateWithColorProfileID: Cannot initialize color profile client
18/02/11 18.43.23	[0x0-0x5005].com.apple.IncompatibleAppDisplay[144]	Fri Feb 18 18:43:23 Mac-Pro-di-fabry.local IncompatibleAppDisplay[144] <Error>: kCGErrorFailure: CGSColorProfileCreateWithColorProfileID: Cannot initialize color profile client
18/02/11 18.43.23	[0x0-0x5005].com.apple.IncompatibleAppDisplay[144]	Fri Feb 18 18:43:23 Mac-Pro-di-fabry.local IncompatibleAppDisplay[144] <Error>: kCGErrorFailure: CGSColorProfileCreateWithColorProfileID: Cannot initialize color profile client
18/02/11 18.43.23	IncompatibleAppDisplay[144]	kCGErrorFailure: CGSColorProfileCreateWithColorProfileID: Cannot initialize color profile client
18/02/11 18.43.23	[0x0-0x5005].com.apple.IncompatibleAppDisplay[144]	Fri Feb 18 18:43:23 Mac-Pro-di-fabry.local IncompatibleAppDisplay[144] <Error>: kCGErrorFailure: CGSColorProfileCreateWithColorProfileID: Cannot initialize color profile client
18/02/11 18.43.23	IncompatibleAppDisplay[144]	kCGErrorIllegalArgument: CGSGetDisplayBounds (display 0)
18/02/11 18.43.23	[0x0-0x5005].com.apple.IncompatibleAppDisplay[144]	Fri Feb 18 18:43:23 Mac-Pro-di-fabry.local IncompatibleAppDisplay[144] <Error>: kCGErrorIllegalArgument: CGSGetDisplayBounds (display 0)
18/02/11 18.43.23	IncompatibleAppDisplay[144]	CGSLookupServerPort: _CGSSessionDeathWatchPort(gSessionPort) returns 268435459
18/02/11 18.43.23	[0x0-0x5005].com.apple.IncompatibleAppDisplay[144]	Fri Feb 18 18:43:23 Mac-Pro-di-fabry.local IncompatibleAppDisplay[144] <Warning>: CGSLookupServerPort: _CGSSessionDeathWatchPort(gSessionPort) returns 268435459
18/02/11 18.43.23	IncompatibleAppDisplay[144]	kCGErrorFailure: CGSColorProfileCreateWithColorProfileID: Cannot initialize color profile client
18/02/11 18.43.23	[0x0-0x5005].com.apple.IncompatibleAppDisplay[144]	Fri Feb 18 18:43:23 Mac-Pro-di-fabry.local IncompatibleAppDisplay[144] <Error>: kCGErrorFailure: CGSColorProfileCreateWithColorProfileID: Cannot initialize color profile client
18/02/11 18.43.23	IncompatibleAppDisplay[144]	kCGErrorFailure: CGSColorProfileCreateWithColorProfileID: Cannot initialize color profile client
18/02/11 18.43.23	IncompatibleAppDisplay[144]	kCGErrorFailure: CGSColorProfileCreateWithColorProfileID: Cannot initialize color profile client
18/02/11 18.43.23	[0x0-0x5005].com.apple.IncompatibleAppDisplay[144]	Fri Feb 18 18:43:23 Mac-Pro-di-fabry.local IncompatibleAppDisplay[144] <Error>: kCGErrorFailure: CGSColorProfileCreateWithColorProfileID: Cannot initialize color profile client
18/02/11 18.43.23	IncompatibleAppDisplay[144]	kCGErrorFailure: CGSColorProfileCreateWithColorProfileID: Cannot initialize color profile client
18/02/11 18.43.23	[0x0-0x5005].com.apple.IncompatibleAppDisplay[144]	Fri Feb 18 18:43:23 Mac-Pro-di-fabry.local IncompatibleAppDisplay[144] <Error>: kCGErrorFailure: CGSColorProfileCreateWithColorProfileID: Cannot initialize color profile client
18/02/11 18.43.23	IncompatibleAppDisplay[144]	kCGErrorFailure: CGSColorProfileCreateWithColorProfileID: Cannot initialize color profile client
18/02/11 18.43.23	IncompatibleAppDisplay[144]	kCGErrorFailure: CGSColorProfileCreateWithColorProfileID: Cannot initialize color profile client
18/02/11 18.43.23	[0x0-0x5005].com.apple.IncompatibleAppDisplay[144]	Fri Feb 18 18:43:23 Mac-Pro-di-fabry.local IncompatibleAppDisplay[144] <Error>: kCGErrorFailure: CGSColorProfileCreateWithColorProfileID: Cannot initialize color profile client
18/02/11 18.43.23	[0x0-0x5005].com.apple.IncompatibleAppDisplay[144]	Fri Feb 18 18:43:23 Mac-Pro-di-fabry.local IncompatibleAppDisplay[144] <Error>: kCGErrorFailure: CGSColorProfileCreateWithColorProfileID: Cannot initialize color profile client
18/02/11 18.43.23	[0x0-0x5005].com.apple.IncompatibleAppDisplay[144]	Fri Feb 18 18:43:23 Mac-Pro-di-fabry.local IncompatibleAppDisplay[144] <Error>: kCGErrorFailure: CGSColorProfileCreateWithColorProfileID: Cannot initialize color profile client
18/02/11 18.43.23	IncompatibleAppDisplay[144]	(ipc/send) invalid destination port: CGSGetNextEventRecord (Inline) connection 0x7947, 16384 bytes
18/02/11 18.43.23	IncompatibleAppDisplay[144]	CGSShutdownServerConnections: Detaching application from window server
18/02/11 18.43.23	[0x0-0x5005].com.apple.IncompatibleAppDisplay[144]	Fri Feb 18 18:43:23 Mac-Pro-di-fabry.local IncompatibleAppDisplay[144] <Error>: (ipc/send) invalid destination port: CGSGetNextEventRecord (Inline) connection 0x7947, 16384 bytes
18/02/11 18.43.23	IncompatibleAppDisplay[144]	CGSDisplayServerShutdown: Detaching display subsystem from window server
18/02/11 18.43.23	[0x0-0x5005].com.apple.IncompatibleAppDisplay[144]	Fri Feb 18 18:43:23 Mac-Pro-di-fabry.local IncompatibleAppDisplay[144] <Warning>: CGSShutdownServerConnections: Detaching application from window server
18/02/11 18.43.23	[0x0-0x5005].com.apple.IncompatibleAppDisplay[144]	Fri Feb 18 18:43:23 Mac-Pro-di-fabry.local IncompatibleAppDisplay[144] <Warning>: CGSDisplayServerShutdown: Detaching display subsystem from window server
18/02/11 18.43.23	IncompatibleAppDisplay[144]	3891612: (connectAndCheck) Untrusted apps are not allowed to connect to or launch Window Server before login.
18/02/11 18.43.23	[0x0-0x5005].com.apple.IncompatibleAppDisplay[144]	Fri Feb 18 18:43:23 Mac-Pro-di-fabry.local IncompatibleAppDisplay[144] <Warning>: 3891612: (connectAndCheck) Untrusted apps are not allowed to connect to or launch Window Server before login.

 

 

 

I can put to sleep many time after the boot and the monitor still work fine.

My Cinebench score are about 35 and either resolution and QE are fine.

What I can resolve the first black screen on startup?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Dear all,

 

 

 

Does HDMI sound should be working, I plugged it to my TV ans I don't have any sound, I tried to change it from the sound panel but still nothing.

 

Could anyone help me out ?

 

by the way great job..

 

John

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Does HDMI sound should be working, I plugged it to my TV ans I don't have any sound, I tried to change it from the sound panel but still nothing.

HDMI audio is only confirmed working on certain models of radeon cards. Specifically the hd5770.

It *should* work on the radeon hd 5670 as well, as it does with genuine imacs, but so far there are no reports of success. I believe the problem is that HDMI audio won't plug&play unless the display's connector-type maps to 2048 (0x800). Unfortunately connector-type is not read by the driver from the ioregistry, only written. On my 5670 with AtiConfig=Uakari, the connector-type for the HDMI port comes up as 512...

 

Edit: And if you have a 5770, you still need to manually inject the necessary hda-gfx strings into your ioregistry. Typically you'll add a GFX0 and HDAU device to your DSDT to accomplish that; there are plenty of example DSDT edits posted if you need guidance.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Edit: And if you have a 5770, you still need to manually inject the necessary hda-gfx strings into your ioregistry. Typically you'll add a GFX0 and HDAU device to your DSDT to accomplish that; there are plenty of example DSDT edits posted if you need guidance.

 

Thanks a lot for your help, bit it seems you can't get the HDMI audio to work on the ASUS 5770.

 

 

John

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Thanks a lot for your help, bit it seems you can't get the HDMI audio to work on the ASUS 5770.

 

 

John

Why not? Ports map differently than with other 5770s, and so connector-type is not 2048?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
that's what i read here : http://www.insanelymac.com/forum/index.php...t&p=1641013

 

I now use a DVI cable and got the sound from another source.

 

Thanks for your help

 

John

The example ioregistry a few posts above what you reference, found here: http://www.insanelymac.com/forum/index.php...t&p=1640911 shows that in the working case the primary video connector had a connector-type=0x800=2048.

So perhaps if we could just get the driver's connectors to match the connector layout in the actual video cards, HDMI audio would work on all models of 5770.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It does not work on my XFX HD 5870.

When i use GraphicsEnabler=yes i get a "no signal" screen on my monitor and the fan goes to 100%.

When i set it to no, and using vebose mode, it loads till Device in Slot 1

And then it hangs (fails at initializing ?) i can press etject, what works i can go in sleep and up again but i still see the same text.

Using Snow Leopard 10.6.5 64-Bit on this PC:

http://www.mein-pc.eu/Profil/Bumblebee-/8264

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Hi

 

My idle temps are around 53*C a few degrees higher than windows.

 

You can change the behaviour of the fans by using Radion Bios editor in windows, but that involves reflashing the GPU's BIOS.

 

Performance - I have no idea. I get a cinebench result in windows 52fps and the same as you in OS X around 34-35fps.

 

D

 

I have a bit bigger difference between Windows and OS X scores, in Windows I get about 74 fps and OS X score looks like this:

post-375259-1298323106_thumb.png

 

By the way, how do you see Radeon temps on OS X. My system seems to be using 20 W more power with OS X and I'm guessing it might be the display card that is using those extra watts.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
The example ioregistry a few posts above what you reference, found here: http://www.insanelymac.com/forum/index.php...t&p=1640911 shows that in the working case the primary video connector had a connector-type=0x800=2048.

So perhaps if we could just get the driver's connectors to match the connector layout in the actual video cards, HDMI audio would work on all models of 5770.

I sincerely hope all models of ATI HD5770 can get its HDMI audio successfully.

 

But my MSI Hawk 5770 and Asus EAH 5770 got different results as the following:

MSI Hawk 5770 can get its HDMI audio and built-in audio (ALC888) at the same time in Asus P6T SE motherboard.

However only by connecting via a DP-->HDMI converter. Its HDMI port can not work this way.

IORegistryExplorer showed connector-type is 0x800 at Eulemur@1 instead of Eulemur@0.

 

Asus EAH 5770 can NOT work no matter how I have tried in many ways.

IORegistryExplorer showed connector-type is 0x800 at Eulemur@2 instead of Eulemur@0.

I can NOT apply the DP-->HDMI converter because it has only 3 ports (VGA, DVI, & HDMI) instead of DVI, HDMI, & DP in MSI Hawk 5770.

 

If I select Vervet as the FB, both cards can not get their HDMI audio working because only Vervet@0 is connected and its connector-type is 0x4 instead of 0x800.

So, do you have any suggestion to get my Asus EAH 5770 working ?

Thank you very much for your kind help and information.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have a MSI HD5450 512MB DVI/HDMI/VGA card.

 

I booted into windows and used GPU-Z to extract the image and renamed it to .ROM.

 

I then went to device manager to determine the vendor ID, product ID, and subsys ID, naming them as Kabyl specified.

 

1002_68f9_21201462.rom and placed it in my Extra folder, which is located in the EFI partition.

 

I added this to my com.Apple.boot.plist:

 

<key>AtiConfig</key>

<string>Hoolock</string>

<key>ATYbinimage</key>

<string>1002_68f9_21201462.rom</string>

 

I tried booting with -f to see if that does anything, but I get the same no QE/CI and no resolution change just as I did before.

 

I realize this is not a support thread, but just wondering if anyone sees a mistake I might be making. Thanks!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I sincerely hope all models of ATI HD5770 can get its HDMI audio successfully.

 

But my MSI Hawk 5770 and Asus EAH 5770 got different results as the following:

MSI Hawk 5770 can get its HDMI audio and built-in audio (ALC888) at the same time in Asus P6T SE motherboard.

However only by connecting via a DP-->HDMI converter. Its HDMI port can not work this way.

IORegistryExplorer showed connector-type is 0x800 at Eulemur@1 instead of Eulemur@0.

 

Asus EAH 5770 can NOT work no matter how I have tried in many ways.

IORegistryExplorer showed connector-type is 0x800 at Eulemur@2 instead of Eulemur@0.

I can NOT apply the DP-->HDMI converter because it has only 3 ports (VGA, DVI, & HDMI) instead of DVI, HDMI, & DP in MSI Hawk 5770.

 

If I select Vervet as the FB, both cards can not get their HDMI audio working because only Vervet@0 is connected and its connector-type is 0x4 instead of 0x800.

So, do you have any suggestion to get my Asus EAH 5770 working ?

Thank you very much for your kind help and information.

So I've written a program that parses the connector information out of the ATOM BIOS section of ATI BIOSes. I can see that different card manufacturers use different connector layouts for the same model of Radeon HD chips. For, example for your case of Asus vs MSI 5770s:

 % ./decode < Asus.HD5770.1024.100331.bin 
ATOM BIOS Rom: 
	 SubsystemVendorID: 0x1043 SubsystemID: 0x0344
	 IOBaseAddress: 0x0000
	 Filename: AC37500.103 
	 BIOS Bootup Message: 
68B8.12.20.0.4.AS02.U126													

Connector at index 0 type: HDMI-A (11)
Connector at index 1 type: DVI-I (2)
Connector at index 2 type: DVI-I (2)
Connector at index 3 type: VGA (1)
% ./decode < MSI.HD5770.1024.100204.bin 
ATOM BIOS Rom: 
	 SubsystemVendorID: 0x1462 SubsystemID: 0x2140
	 IOBaseAddress: 0x0000
	 Filename: SV35125e.bin
	 BIOS Bootup Message: 113-MSITV214MS.114 
JUNIPER BIOS UCODEV:122									
Connector at index 0 type: DisplayPort (10)
Connector at index 1 type: HDMI-A (11)
Connector at index 2 type: DVI-I (2)
Connector at index 3 type: DVI-I (2)
%

In the above, the repeating DVI-I connectors should be dual-link DVI ports. So on the Asus card, the HDMI port is the first one, and on the MSI card, the HDMI port is the second one.

 

My theory is that Apple's drivers don't bother parsing this connector info from the Atom BIOS, instead it hardcodes the connector layout based upon the config (Vervet/Eulemur/etc). If your cards' HDMI or DP port is at the same port as a genuine Apple card, you're in luck, and the port is identified with the right type and HDMI audio works. Switching AtiConfig to different personalities/code names by trial&error gets you different results as the hardcoded ports have different layouts for many of the personalities.

 

I haven't found any way to override the connectors any more precisely thru ioregistry entries (AAPL00,LinkType maybe?).

I've also been looking but I haven't yet found where the driver is mapping the personality names to port configurations. Once found the layout could presumably be patched to match other layouts besides those that Apple ships.

 

Would appreciate any info related to this that others may have already figured out from looking at the drivers.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
So I've written a program that parses the connector information out of the ATOM BIOS section of ATI BIOSes. I can see that different card manufacturers use different connector layouts for the same model of Radeon HD chips. For, example for your case of Asus vs MSI 5770s:

 % ./decode < Asus.HD5770.1024.100331.bin 
ATOM BIOS Rom: 
	 SubsystemVendorID: 0x1043 SubsystemID: 0x0344
	 IOBaseAddress: 0x0000
	 Filename: AC37500.103 
	 BIOS Bootup Message: 
68B8.12.20.0.4.AS02.U126													

Connector at index 0 type: HDMI-A (11)
Connector at index 1 type: DVI-I (2)
Connector at index 2 type: DVI-I (2)
Connector at index 3 type: VGA (1)
% ./decode < MSI.HD5770.1024.100204.bin 
ATOM BIOS Rom: 
	 SubsystemVendorID: 0x1462 SubsystemID: 0x2140
	 IOBaseAddress: 0x0000
	 Filename: SV35125e.bin
	 BIOS Bootup Message: 113-MSITV214MS.114 
JUNIPER BIOS UCODEV:122									
Connector at index 0 type: DisplayPort (10)
Connector at index 1 type: HDMI-A (11)
Connector at index 2 type: DVI-I (2)
Connector at index 3 type: DVI-I (2)
%

 

......

 

Would appreciate any info related to this that others may have already figured out from looking at the drivers.

 

Interesting. Could you post your program (binary would be fine)? I would like to check my Sapphire HD5770 tonight. How does this program work?

 

Thank you.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Interesting. Could you post your program (binary would be fine)? I would like to check my Sapphire HD5770 tonight. How does this program work?

 

Thank you.

Got linux? I haven't tried to port to OSX. The program uses ATI's linux open source kernel&X server code to decode the rom from a file.

Example Sapphire 5770 output:

 ./decode < Sapphire.HD5770.1024.100713_1.bin 
 ATOM BIOS Rom: 
	  SubsystemVendorID: 0x174b SubsystemID: 0x1482
	  IOBaseAddress: 0x0000
	  Filename: 148X0300.V26
	  BIOS Bootup Message: 
 JUNIPER BIOS UCODEv:126													 

 Connector at index 0 type: DisplayPort (10)
 Connector at index 1 type: HDMI-A (11)
 Connector at index 2 type: DVI-I (2)
 Connector at index 3 type: DVI-I (2)
 Connector at index 4 type: DVI-I (2)
 Connector at index 5 type: DVI-I (2)

The last 4 connectors would be for 2 dual-link DVI ports.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Got linux? I haven't tried to port to OSX. The program uses ATI's linux open source kernel&X server code to decode the rom from a file.

Example Sapphire 5770 output:

 ./decode < Sapphire.HD5770.1024.100713_1.bin 
 ATOM BIOS Rom: 
	  SubsystemVendorID: 0x174b SubsystemID: 0x1482
	  IOBaseAddress: 0x0000
	  Filename: 148X0300.V26
	  BIOS Bootup Message: 
 JUNIPER BIOS UCODEv:126													 

 Connector at index 0 type: DisplayPort (10)
 Connector at index 1 type: HDMI-A (11)
 Connector at index 2 type: DVI-I (2)
 Connector at index 3 type: DVI-I (2)
 Connector at index 4 type: DVI-I (2)
 Connector at index 5 type: DVI-I (2)

The last 4 connectors would be for 2 dual-link DVI ports.

 

Thanks.

 

Could you check this one? It's Gigabyte "batmobile" HD5770.

http://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/65792/G...024.091204.html

 

 

Is it possible to get audio path?

Using Windows 7, I used to test batmobile HD5770 and got audio thru HDMI every port, including HDMI, DP2HDMI, DVI2HDMI(ATi). In contrast, Sapphire HD5770 sent sound thru HDMI and DP2HDMI.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I have a MSI HD5450 512MB DVI/HDMI/VGA card.

 

I booted into windows and used GPU-Z to extract the image and renamed it to .ROM.

 

I then went to device manager to determine the vendor ID, product ID, and subsys ID, naming them as Kabyl specified.

 

1002_68f9_21201462.rom and placed it in my Extra folder, which is located in the EFI partition.

 

I added this to my com.Apple.boot.plist:

 

<key>AtiConfig</key>

<string>Hoolock</string>

<key>ATYbinimage</key>

<string>1002_68f9_21201462.rom</string>

 

I tried booting with -f to see if that does anything, but I get the same no QE/CI and no resolution change just as I did before.

 

I realize this is not a support thread, but just wondering if anyone sees a mistake I might be making. Thanks!

 

Did you put:

<key>GraphicsEnabler</key>
<string>Yes</string>

to your com.Apple.boot.plist file?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
So I've written a program that parses the connector information out of the ATOM BIOS section of ATI BIOSes. I can see that different card manufacturers use different connector layouts for the same model of Radeon HD chips.

 

Some next level business here! Good work on putting the coding together and thanks for sharing the info !

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Thanks.

 

Could you check this one? It's Gigabyte "batmobile" HD5770.

Here you go:

 ./radeondump < Gigabyte.HD5770.1024.091204.bin 
ATOM BIOS Rom: 
	 SubsystemVendorID: 0x1458 SubsystemID: 0x21d7
	 IOBaseAddress: 0x0000
	 Filename: R577UDAD.F1 
	 BIOS Bootup Message: GV-R577UD-1GD/F1													

Audio chip info: 0
Connector at index 0 type: DisplayPort (10)
Connector at index 1 type: HDMI-A (11)
Connector at index 2 type: DVI-I (2)
Connector at index 3 type: DVI-I (2)
Connector at index 4 type: DVI-I (2)
Connector at index 5 type: DVI-I (2)

This will get old really fast, so I've made an osx binary now B), attached: radeondump.0.1.zip

This tool is pretty rudimentary at the moment, you simply pass in a bios dump you already made into standard input. If you run the tool with no arguments it's just going to sit there :)

Is it possible to get audio path?

Using Windows 7, I used to test batmobile HD5770 and got audio thru HDMI every port, including HDMI, DP2HDMI, DVI2HDMI(ATi). In contrast, Sapphire HD5770 sent sound thru HDMI and DP2HDMI.

The only audio information I see referenced in the atombios is "the audio chip type, product type, and OEM revision (7:5)". I'm now printing this value under "Audio chip info" but it seems to always be zero. I think this may just be some audio input for a tuner, as the video fields in this structure (MultimediaConfigInfoTable) are video inputs.

I guess i don't know what you mean by audio path.

The OSX audio driver would pick up the AMD HDMI audio controller by matching the class from the PCI config space. (IOPCIClassMatch).

 

The OSX audio driver would pick up the AMD HDMI audio controller by matching the class from the PCI config space. (IOPCIClassMatch).
However I should add... I see in the ATI video driver hotplug code that also checks the connector type before processing the EDID, and it looks like it won't hot-plug HDMI audio unless the connector type is 0x800 (or an hdmi dongle is detected).

 

Some next level business here! Good work on putting the coding together and thanks for sharing the info !
Thanks, baby steps... Need a bunch more info to fix anything.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Here you go:

 ./radeondump < Gigabyte.HD5770.1024.091204.bin 
ATOM BIOS Rom: 
	 SubsystemVendorID: 0x1458 SubsystemID: 0x21d7
	 IOBaseAddress: 0x0000
	 Filename: R577UDAD.F1 
	 BIOS Bootup Message: GV-R577UD-1GD/F1													

Audio chip info: 0
Connector at index 0 type: DisplayPort (10)
Connector at index 1 type: HDMI-A (11)
Connector at index 2 type: DVI-I (2)
Connector at index 3 type: DVI-I (2)
Connector at index 4 type: DVI-I (2)
Connector at index 5 type: DVI-I (2)

This will get old really fast, so I've made an osx binary now B), attached: radeondump.0.1.zip

This tool is pretty rudimentary at the moment, you simply pass in a bios dump you already made into standard input. If you run the tool with no arguments it's just going to sit there :)

The only audio information I see referenced in the atombios is "the audio chip type, product type, and OEM revision (7:5)". I'm now printing this value under "Audio chip info" but it seems to always be zero. I think this may just be some audio input for a tuner, as the video fields in this structure (MultimediaConfigInfoTable) are video inputs.

I guess i don't know what you mean by audio path.

The OSX audio driver would pick up the AMD HDMI audio controller by matching the class from the PCI config space. (IOPCIClassMatch).

 

However I should add... I see in the ATI video driver hotplug code that also checks the connector type before processing the EDID, and it looks like it won't hot-plug HDMI audio unless the connector type is 0x800 (or an hdmi dongle is detected).

 

Thanks, baby steps... Need a bunch more info to fix anything.

 

Thank you very much.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thx bcc9,

 

Here is result from Sapphire HD 5870 1GB card.

 

 

./radeondump < 1002_6898.rom

ATOM BIOS Rom:

SubsystemVendorID: 0x174b SubsystemID: 0xe140

IOBaseAddress: 0x0000

Filename: 140X0300.S4S

BIOS Bootup Message:

CYPRESS XT GDDR5 32Mx32 C00801 BIOS UCODEv:126

 

Audio chip info: 0

Connector at index 0 type: DisplayPort (10)

Connector at index 1 type: HDMI-A (11)

Connector at index 2 type: DVI-I (2)

Connector at index 3 type: DVI-I (2)

Connector at index 4 type: DVI-I (2)

Connector at index 5 type: DVI-I (2)

 

 

I have working HDMI audio with DSDT insertion.

I use Kabyl boot ver 733 only with GraphicsEnabler=Yes.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Did you put:

<key>GraphicsEnabler</key>
<string>Yes</string>

to your com.Apple.boot.plist file?

 

 

Yep, I have that as well.

 

I have working HDMI audio with DSDT insertion.

I use Kabyl boot ver 733 only with GraphicsEnabler=Yes.

 

I have seen this mentioned a few times--where is ver 733? I still have 700, which is what is on the OP, right?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
This topic is now closed to further replies.

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.

×