VERY, VERY Stable Quad Core Hackintosh?

16 posts in this topic

Hi all,

I was looking at getting a Mac Pro as I do a lot of photoshop work and I am also an app developer.

Because of this I need a rock solid machine, however I'm a bit pissed off at Apples lack of care for their pro line, leaving it overpriced and underpowered.

So, I'm looking at doing another Hackintosh (did a Asire One a few years back).

My requirements are however that it be ROCK SOLID. I.E wont crash if I put it into sleep, wont kernel panic (even once a month), etc.

The kind of spec I'm looking for is as follows:

CPU: Quad Core (i7) CPU - 2.66Ghz minimum - would like a 2.9

RAM: 8GB RAM (with the option to go up to 16GB) - the more RAM slots, the better

GFX: A 'fairly good' graphics card but I'm not doing rendering/high-end stuff. Just want a fairly decent one that can handle light gaming (Steam). Something like a 512 or 1GB Nvidia would be great.

HDD: N/A (already got an Intel SSD for boot, and a couple of TB drives to use

Misc: Must be silent, and I mean - dead silent (like the macs). I really cant stand to have whirring/buzzing sounds going on next to me. I don't want to go down the water cooling route.

Just writing this I'm wondering if its worth the extra hassle :wacko:

I'm not asking people to spec this out completely for me - but would appreciate any recommendations you do have from your experience!

:thanks_speechbubble:

Rick

• Intel Core i7 860 2,8 GHz

• Gigabyte GA-P55-USB3 (cheap, but works well) or you may have a look at the GA-P55A-UD6 - both support 16 GB RAM. You may use any of those P55 Boards

• Gigabyte 9800 GT Silent Cell 1 TB - passive - means NO noise

• A good Case - i use a LianLi Alu-Case that looks just as good liked as macpro. It has three very low-noise 12cm coolers inside. They dont build that case anymore (sniff...) but have a look at the others

• Good RAM, I use Corsair 4 x 2 GB at the moment on two machines