Absolute N00b Researching Hackintosh Hardware Specs

2 posts in this topic

Hello, everyone!

I am 100% new to Macs, OS X, and Hackintoshes. I have been reading through the forums and the book OSx86: Creating a Hackintosh for a month or so. I am a Windows professional by day and am familiar with concepts such as OS imaging, partitions, IRQ, etc; but I'm out of my depth with choosing hardware for my first Mac.

I am a night time film student and was hoping to build a video editing Hackintosh that could dual boot Windows 7 (for video apps not available to OS X) and then boot to OS X. I want to load Adobe Creative Suite CS5 (on the Windows partition) and I am hoping to take advantage of the new Mercury Engine in Premiere CS5, but I am very restricted by what video cards will run in OS X; according to the HCL lists. I found a machine for sale that has a video card that will work with OS X (and Premiere CS5), but I am wondering what else in this hardware bundle might be usable as a Hackintosh before I try to make an offer.

Would you guys be willing to take a look and give me your opinion? I have been searching the forum and Google for "<insert computer part from this list> Hackintosh" and have not found much. Maybe that means the only thing I can use from this machine is the video card?

Thanks for everyone's help and patience!!!

Brian

Here are the machine specs:

CPU: LGA1336: Intel Core i7-975 Extreme Edition Bloomfield 3.33GHz LGA 1366 130W Quad-Core Processor Model BX80601975

Motherboard LGA1336: ASUS Rampage II Extreme LGA 1366 Intel X58 ATX Intel Motherboard

Memory: DDR3:6GB DDR3-1600 MHz 3@2gig sticks

Hard Drive(s): Western Digital VelociRaptor WD1500HLFS 150GB 10000 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive

2 - WD VelociRaptor 150 GB Internal hard drives *2 @ 300 Gigs

1- WD black edition, 32 mb buffer, standard, 1000 gig storage drive

Optical Drive(s):SAMSUNG 22X DVD±R DVD Burner Black IDE Model SH-S222A - OEM