Dell Inspiron 545 SL Install Please help!

bigoats

43 posts in this topic

Hi all,

I am a complete newbie to this whole hackintosh process but decided to try to follow lifehacker's guide to installing SL on a newly bought Inspiron 545. I have done a bit of research for about two weeks and I've gotten as far as getting the SL installation on a thumbdrive with chameleon 2.0 RC3+netkas boot file+kexts I've collected around in several places.

I was able to boot in to the loader and load the installation program. However, when it gets to the part where I can select a drive to install the OS, I don't see any drive being recognized at all. Going to Disk Utilities only shows my thumb drive as the only drive available. After going to the system profiler in the install, I can see that ATA drives are not showing up, Serial-ATA is not showing up either and I don't hear my HDD spinning.

My guess is that I'm missing some Kext in the boot loader or I'm missing a step here. I think the boot drive I created is fine since I can get as far as the install program I just need help getting my HDD recognized. I have a bunch of kext in my /extras/extensions folder but the ones that should be working with my mobo/chipset don't seem to be get my SATA HDD recognized. One thing I noticed is that I can't explicitly enable AHCI on my bios; I only see IDE and RAID available.

Below are the spec of the computer. If some one could help me I'd greatly appreciate it. And if you could please be detailed in the answers that would be very helpful. Again, I'm very new to this all but willing to learn.

Dell Inspiron 545

MOBO: DG33M06 OR DG33FB

Chipset:G33 ICH9R or ICH9DH

Intel Core 2 Quad Processor Q8200 (2.33GHz, 4M, L2Cache, 1333FSB) 95W

1 TB SATA II Hard Drive

256MB ATI Radeon HD 3450

Let me know if you need any more information.

PLEASE HELP!!!!!

Anyone out there have an idea if this has to do with the wrong Kext files?