mrjoe

how to get 9800gt working in os x

9 posts in this topic

I've tried nvinject installer v52 for 512mb / vanilla, that didn't work. I'm a noob to efi studio, so I need a little help on that (yes I did google search extensively, and couldn't find a tutorial). I also have Chameleon v2 rc2 installed, which supposedly detects your video card, but I still can't change resolution from default 1024*768!

I haven't tried NVIDIA 9000 Series Driver v2, but I'll get around to it as soon as I can.

Has anyone else tried to get 9800gt working?

BTW System Profiler detects the card as a 512MB card and Quartz (BUT NOT QE) is enabled. CI is "software", which is also bad.

Advertisement

The problem is, I don't know how to add an efi string. However, I've tried with efi studio to modify the com.apple.boot.plist file and insert the big hex string. I used the 8800gt 512mb string.

All right I removed 8800GT string and installed the GeForce 9 series installer pkg, which got me 1680*1050 resolution. HOWEVER my QE is still not working (however, quartz is). Please help? Should I go change it back to 8800GT?

You can try //code.google.com/p/osx86tools/

Click add efi string/boot flag

Click GFX string icon

Scroll down and choose Nvidia 9800 gt

Click icon for import string to boot editor

click apply to changes to apple.boot.plist

reboot

I have heard that that method works; however, instead I went ahead and installed, in this order,

1) The Nvidia 9 Series Drivers v2

2) nvInject v52 pkg

A little bit about my situation before my first boot up: I had no video working, whatsoever so I went into single user mode and deleted NVDAResman.kext and started up fine.

After modding efi strings nothing worked.

After installing nvinject nothing worked AT FIRST.

So then I installed nv 9 series drivers, which helped me get all my screen resolutions. Then came nvinject (reinstalled), and after that I had QE/CI. Then everything worked.

Hi,