Forum Suggestions-New Ideas-Standardized Builds

5 posts in this topic

I'm no stranger to macs or PCs. I haven't built a pc, but I was a system admin guy for years with macs, long enough to know my way around. (I've installed a few NIC cards in PC's. Fun. Not.) The idea of building a Hackintosh really appeals to me on many levels, but the more I look into it, the more my little voice just screams "Run Awayyyyyyyyy!"

There is no clear anything on these boards. Unless of course, your a complete tech head. I once thought I might want to be, but after several years of more frustration, I am now a carpenter. (That wall I built in the morning? Still there after lunch! Didn't just disappear. Tools are still sharp! Didn't change the spec or concept of how to build a wall overnight, either! Get my drift?)

I want simple. No headaches.

Why not start a section for the complete neophytes that is easy to understand. Now, before you tech guys jump on me, LISTEN!

I've got OSX86. I've got Ideneb. I've got Kalyway. I've even got a guy in Toronto (www.maxsmart.ca) who tells me he's building PC's that will boot of the retail leopard disk without a "Hack". What's the difference? What do each do for me? Which one is easier to handle?

And then we can start with the hardware. Avast the rudder and hoist the oars. Zzzzzz-zzzzzzz.

You know what? I don't care!

I just want to get me a list of parts, known that work well together (yeah, you can pick your own amounts of RAM, Drive, Case, et cetera) without sorting and searching through reams of technobabble and verbiage, from a reputable supplier, based upon the concept of an entry level Mac Pro, and Intermediate Speed Mac and a Scorcher, with simple instructions, no headaches, a couple of beers later and I've got a $5000 machine for about $1200.

Assembling a PC is no problem. I can do that. Making sure I've got the right parts, that will be hassle-free... Not so sure. You guys can fix this.