Laptop display not working

ashuff

7 posts in this topic

Hi Folks,

Noob here. I have successfully installed Kalyway 10.5.1 on my Toshiba Satellite A205 S5800 laptop according to instructions found here (http://wiki.osx86project.org/wiki/index.ph...lite_A205-S5800). I am using an external monitor because I can't find a necessary kext file (appleintelgmaxfb.kext) to get the display working. No success with Google. Any ideas where I might find it?

Thx,

Vin

• 1 month later...

Success!!!! Ok check it, Like everyone else before I too couldn't find the kexts needed in Google, as i was about to giveup I though why not update see what happens read below heres what I did to get Toshiba A205-5800 to have full QE/CI supported with an external monitor.

Step 1. Install with Kalyway 10.5.1 Disc, as before in customize select all options, except in Video Drivers options, select none since they are all for ATI and nVidia displays. In Bootloaders EFI, de-select GUID and select MBR instead. Now click Install.

Step 2. Installation is now complete and the computer will restart quickly remove the dvd. Hit F8 when prompted again. This time to bypass the Setup Program because it stays on a continues never ending loop.

OK so type in:

-v -s and wait for everything to load. You should still be at the black screen with text.

Now type in:

/sbin/mount -uw / and hit enter.

now type in:

touch /var/db/.AppleSetupDone and hit enter.

Now we need to setup the password for the account root.

Type:

passwd root and hit enter.

It will ask what you want the password to be. just put what you want and hit enter again. All done with that! Now its time to see Leopard in action (with external monitor connected).

Type: exit hit enter. (sometimes you may need to repeat that twice.)

It will now load up. for the username type in root then obviously your password.

Step 3) On a different computer find and Download Kalyway 10.5.3 UpdateCombo. burn it to CD or add it to a USB drive