no mouse//keyboard?

darkskye

5 posts in this topic

I have solved my other problem...

now that i am able to boot (Kalyway 10.5.2, iDeneb 10.5.5, and iatkos 10.5.4) them, i now have a noob question.

I am doing this on an HP dv6308nr laptop. I am able to get to the language selection screen of the install, but then it does not recognize my mouse or keyboard.....

i know this may be a noob question, but do i need to get a usb mouse/keyboard set?

if i do, will it be permanent, or will i be able to get it to recognize my touchpad//onboard keyboard?

thank you!!

:rolleyes::(

• 1 year later...

I actually just posted this in the "Other Peripherals" forum...I hope no one minds me posting it here again, but I think it really explains the issue. It's a bit long....sory....

I'm a complete newb at this, and my keyboard is getting me into all sorts of trouble. I'll give you a rundown:

1. Installed iDeneb 10.5.8 on partition2 of my Win7 Dell Inspiron 15xx

2. Flagged Win7 partition as primary, booted into Win7, FreeBSD's Mac onto the boot manager list

3. Yay! OSX loads! Breakthrough for me. I do the required set-up...then it asks for my password. And things get strange... The box is typing itself. The little password-dots keep filling up, as if my keyboard has a key stuck down. It doesn't. I click in the "your name" box where I typed my name and discover it's the 7 key that OSX thinks is stuck. Not knowing what to do, I click "next" and finish the setup.

4. Then....OSX appears- my new desktop. Everything's looking good....until I try to do stuff. Because the 7 key is still held down. It's selecting everything in it's path, and I can't type. I boot back into Win7, get Kext Helper on a flash drive, boot back into OSX. I try and use Kext Helper on a PS2 Kext I hope will work....then it asks for my password. Which is about 594 7's in a row. So I can't use it. I use a Dell USB mouse and the PS2 Inspiron keyboard.