Installing 10.5.2 kalyway on Lenovo X200

loserpro2

23 posts in this topic

Update progress

Sept 30th - post created

Oct 1st - double checked for unworking functions, eg: graphics, bluetooth..

7/11/2008 - managed to get kext for internet to work, refer below to the end of this post.

1/12/08 - bluetooth out of the blue worked.

The story

hi all. erm, i have to say, i am a noob at installing osx86 and if there are any missing parts, please do inform and i'll try to help as much as i could. but cause the lenovo is a new machine, there might have been some stuff i have missed out so, please excuse me for that!

i will edit the post as time goes so that it will be as most helpful as possible.

stuff you need:

Kalyway OS X Leopard CD - i used 10.5.2, cause i've been a bit lazy and did not go round to find newer versions.

Lenovo ThinkPad X200 Laptop

CD Rom Drive - i used my desktop CD/DVD Rom drive which i converted to usb

Tool CDs for partitioning like GParted, Hiren's Boot CD

Ghost Image of Harddisk Partions or recover and Install Disks

Install Procedure:

- Start up computer and go into Windows. should be Vista Home Premium SP1 (or Vista Business) for X200 models.

- if you haven't done this, make a ghost image or recovery disk from the software provided.

in my case, i didn't make one in the first time, and there had been an install glitch of windows on my computer which made me unable to go back into windows after being unable to partition my harddisk. i had to take the machine to the service center to reinstall vista at the end.

- proceed to partition the hard disk.

this can be done by using "shrink volume" in vista's Computer management or using Tools like Partitonmagic, Acronis something (sorry forgot the name) on Hiren's boot cd or GParted. i used "shrink volume". also, please do not forget to somehow format it to NTFS or something just tempoairly as the mac install disk was unable to dectect the unallocated partition on my laptop for some reason.