Jump to content
Welcome to InsanelyMac Forum

Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to contribute to this site by submitting your own content or replying to existing content. You'll be able to customize your profile, receive reputation points as a reward for submitting content, while also communicating with other members via your own private inbox, plus much more! This message will be removed once you have signed in.


  • Content count

  • Joined

  • Last visited

About nbpanjwa

  • Rank
    InsanelyMac Protégé
  1. I'm using ATI Radeon HD 2600 XT 512 MB (Diamond) Video card with Mountain Lion installed. Everything else including Sound working fine. I managed to get thru resolution 1680x1050 60Hz on DVI port using Aty_init and modified ATIRadeonX2000 kexts. I had to remove Vendor Id and Dev ID ex : (0x95881002) in ATIRadeonX2000.kext to get to the desktop without which I was hitting white screen with cursor. It seems that ATIRadeonX2000.kext is not loading. I can boot with original ATIRadeonX2000.kext but only with -v -x flags which gives me same problem, ATIRadeonX2000.kext is not loading. I think this kext needs to be edited or some other kext is needed to activate this kext. I have read more than 100 posts in last few months but could not find any solution out there. Problem is that I cannot play DVD, videos in iTunes, Youtube videos, selecting new tab in Safari gives flickering screen and new notification center flickers. kextstat | grep AMD 77 2 0xffffff7f814a2000 0x1ea000 0x1ea000 com.apple.kext.AMDSupport (8.0.0) <71 10 9 7 5 4 3 1> 78 0 0xffffff7f816a7000 0x49000 0x49000 com.apple.kext.AMD2600Controller (8.0.0) <77 71 10 9 5 4 3 1> 87 0 0xffffff7f8168c000 0x13000 0x13000 com.apple.kext.AMDFramebuffer (8.0.0) <77 71 10 9 7 5 4 3 1> ioreg | grep AMD | | | | +-o AMD2600Controller@? <class AMD2600Controller, id 0x10000027c, registered, matched, active, busy 0 (0 ms), retain 5> | | | | | +-o ATY_Lamna <class AMDFramebuffer, id 0x10000028e, registered, matched, active, busy 0 (1 ms), retain 15> | | | | | +-o AMDNDRVService <class AtiAppServices, id 0x1000002de, registered, matched, active, busy 0 (0 ms), retain 6> | | | | | +-o ATY_Lamna <class AMDFramebuffer, id 0x100000293, registered, matched, active, busy 0 (0 ms), retain 12> | | | | | +-o AMDNDRVService <class AtiAppServices, id 0x1000002e4, registered, matched, active, busy 0 (0 ms), retain 6> | | | | +-o AMDSupport <class AMDSupport, id 0x10000027d, registered, matched, active, busy 0 (0 ms), retain 5> I'm not willing to accept that the card is too old or cannot be used in Mountain Lion since the fact is that Mountain Lion still carries all necessary kexts for this video card. Therefore, it must work with tweaks and experts advice. I'm eager to learn and open to constructive advice. I'll appreciate if anyone can help or at least guide me in right direction.
  2. Good guide, thanks for the tutorial. I tried this on my GA-965P-DS3 Rev?? (may be 1.6 not sure) could not boot after installing Lion. Wonder if anyone got thru this on similar board? Any suggestions, if I should make USB with/without DSDT? or anything else I'm missing? Motherboard: GA-965P-DS3 CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo 1.86 GHz Video: Diamond Radeon HD 2600 XT PCIe 512MB Partition: Guid, dual boot with Windows 7 HD Connector: ATA (no SATA) Sorry, I can't upgrade for now I'll appreciate any help, Thanks.
  3. I truly appreciate feedback from Conroe Mac, SA22C and royco. I turned OFF sleep mode in energy saver of system preferences as a temp fix for now. I needed all-in-one kind of environment to run OS dependent apps at the same time on one desktop and avoid wasting reboot time, especially Windows. Therefore, I choose to go with VMware Fusion v1.1 rc1 (61385) on Leopard and everything works great. WOW! what an incredible app VMware is? Fusion really works as it should. Obviously, system will require more RAM for smoother operation. Now I can run: utorrent or transmission, Safari or IE, MS Word or Pages, Outlook or Mail, so on so forth without reboot. Thanks once agin Conroe Mac for starting this thread, I could have done it hard way, you just made it easy.
  4. Thanks for quick reply royco. So my only other options are Parallel or VMWare. Which one is better on Leopard for WinXP install???
  5. Many Thanks to Conroe Mac for starting this thread. I successfully installed leopard on DS3 v1.1 using prepatched DVD and post-patch method. Sleep is of-course a problem, besides I get following message while trying to use Boot Camp Assistant: "Boot Camp Assistant cannot be used - You must update your computer's Boot ROM firmware before using this setup assistance". I have flashed MB with latest Boot ROM from Gigabyte website. Gurus out there can help please???? THANKS once again for this great thread, and hope it continues till we get fully working DVD.
  6. Thanks ConroeMac for starting this thread. This method works for me except for Will be waiting patiently for solution.