My i7 Hac Pro Success (Updated From Original Post)

36 posts in this topic

SCROLL DOWN TO GET TO THE GOODNESS

Hi,

I've been scouring the forums and gleaning as much info as I can on building a new core i7 hackintosh. I'm a bit new at this, although I have successfully installed Tiger on an old P4. I'm a professional editor using an Avid DS Nitris system, and although it's pretty powerful, I find myself leaning over and banging out effects on my MBP with FCS3, specifically Motion 4, more and more. The clients are loving what I can do with that, coupled with some Blender 3D goodness. So the short story is, I needs(wants) mo' power. I've narrowed my hardware choices down to a few components. Can anyone assure me that these are the right components to start out with, and recommend the additional parts I need to get a working hack pro? The only thing I'll be running is FCS3, Blender 3D, and CS4 Photoshop, Illustrator, and After Effects. Hehe...I guess "only" sounds a bit silly, like I'll only be taking over the world.

Here is what I've decided on so far.
CPU:
Intel Core i7-920 Bloomfield 2.66GHz 4 x 256KB L2 Cache 8MB L3 Cache LGA 1366 130W Quad-Core Processor

Motherboard:
GIGABYTE GA-EX58-UD5 LGA 1366 Intel X58 ATX Intel Motherboard

Video Card:
SAPPHIRE Vapor-X Radeon HD 4870 1GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFire Supported Video Card - Retail

Any recommendations for memory, and how much I can practically use?
Also any recommendations for hard drives, power requirements, etc?

I figure I can limp through a SL install from the Digital Dreamer guide. Just wanted to know if I'm starting out on the right foot.

Is there anyone out there who has used Motion 4 on a Hackintosh? It's actually not very stable on a real Mac. I found Motion ran better on my older iMac with the ATI card X1900 than the MBP with the nVidia 8800GT.

I also want to know how well it might handle editing DVCPRO HD footage from my HVX200.

Thanks for all the help!