Kernel Panic on Boot MSI Eclipse SLi Motherboard

Bjorn248

76 posts in this topic

What I am intending on doing is installing Snow Leopard on a partition on my HDD. I have now twice tried to run snow leopard from a USB drive. I followed lifehacker's guide and when I tried to boot, I couldn't because of a kernel panic. Then I tried patching for a X58 Motherboard, and the I still have a kernel panic problem (at AppleACPIPlatform) so I can't boot the OS. I am very new to anything mac, and would greatly appreciate any help/explanation that anyone here has to offer. Here are my basic specs:

CPU: Intel i7 940

Mobo: MSI Eclipse SLi (X58)

RAM: 12 GB DDR3

Graphics: ATI Radeon HD 4870

Sound: Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi

Also, is it possible to install kexts on the USB drive from another machine even though the OS hasn't been installed anywhere? I cannot navigate to the S/L/E directory from OS X, and when I'm on linux, it tells me that the USB drive is read-only and I can't modify it in any way.

Once again, I am completely new to "hackintosh" so any explanations and/or help would be greatly appreciated, thanks =).

If you are new to this I'd very strongly recommend you dedicate an HDD to your first experiments with OSX86.

You'll need to do some searches focused on your hardware, have a look in the Wiki, & do some general background research & reading.

You will of course have seen a few inches from your post a thread dedicated to your graphics card: this would be a good starting-point.

Good luck & have fun.

If you are new to this I'd very strongly recommend you dedicate an HDD to your first experiments with OSX86.

You'll need to do some searches focused on your hardware, have a look in the Wiki, & do some general background research & reading.

You will of course have seen a few inches from your post a thread dedicated to your graphics card: this would be a good starting-point.

Good luck & have fun.