[GUIDE] Installing Snow Leopard on ECS 945GZT-M v1.0

Uptown_J

Rate your success  

5 members have voted

1. 1. Has this guide helped anyone with a 945GZ chipset?

• Yes
    • A Little
    • Not at all
    • Does not apply

20 posts in this topic

NOTE: This is my first attempt at creating a walkthrough to help others. I will try to update it. I have been posting this similar response for others. Good luck!

NOTE 2: I do not use the GMA950 video on this motherboard. This guide will not cover getting that video card working.

I can confirm for an ECS 945GZT-M motherboard which are loosely similar to the Mac Mini second generation. I followed the AMD instructions. I use the nVidia 9400GT so that was working with the correct EFI String. (Unsure GMA950 will work - have not tested). If you are willing to try, I can give you some tips. It requires much patience but you will have more control over your installation than a prepackaged distro.

I will separate the tips into three sections. The first section goes over making an unpatched vanilla os and cloning it. I advise doing this so you can to play with it and come back to an original unpatched image as needed. The second section will go over patching the vanilla OS Install. The third section will show you links and kexts to use for this motherboard.

I. SECTION ONE - creating your vanilla OS Install and cloning it.

• Install Snow Leopard from a working leopard machine onto a secondary drive. You can do this by opening terminal and typing:

open /Volumes/Mac\ OS\ X\ Install\ DVD/System/Installation/Packages/OSInstall.mpkg

• Patch the drive to get it up and running in the most basic level of function. In order to do this you will need to stop here and skip to the next section. I explain why you have to do this below.