Success! 10.5.7 Retail Leopard Install on P5QSE/R

smidge

5 posts in this topic

DISCLAIMER: I am NO expert, i just got on this Hackintosh boat a few months back and have enjoyed the challenge of making this work.

Specs

Asus P5QSE/R

Supertalent 800 DDR2 (2gigs used for install, bumped to 8 gigs afterwards)

2 x 500gb Seagate SATA disk drives

SATA Pioneer DVDRW

Intel E7500 2.93 Core 2 Duo Processor

Gigabyte NVidia 9800GT

Background:

Installed a vanilla install of Mac OS X 10.5.6 using Roberts method from this thread:

http://www.insanelymac.com/forum/lofiversi...hp/t137296.html

That included flashing the bios using Juzzi's bios reflash

I used Iatkos 10.5.5 i5 Install DVD and then upgraded to 10.5.6 early on in the process

Importantly, i purchased a Retail DVD of Mac OS X 10.5 ! I've owned a bunch of Macs, unfortunately my last one got stolen and insurance wouldn't replace it so i had to find a cheaper alternative to buying an new mac, this was it!

This thread details how i went about installing a Full Retail install of Leopard 10.5.7 using the new Chameleon 2 RC1 boot loader.

First off, to do this you need a working Leopard Install already on your computer (or possibly the new drive shoved into a real mac?) and a second hard drive to do this, its straight forward and simple if you do!

1. used disk utility to create a disk image of my Leopard Retail DVD (10.5.2 i think) this was so repeat installs would be faster than using the drive.

2. put these two commands into terminal:

. TYPE or cut n past into Terminal: cd /Volumes/Mac\ OS\ X\ Install\ DVD/System/Installation/Packages

. TYPE or cut n past into Terminal: open OSInstall.mpkg

3. installed full retail minus the language translations, additional fonts and most of the printers that i don't need

4. when that finished, downloaded and installed the 10.5.7 combo update