Jump to content

[Guide] XPS M1710 OS X Leopard

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
118 replies to this topic

#41
JonZ

JonZ

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 84 posts

Can't find solution for this "color banding" problem ... (try NvidiaEFI, laptopdisplay.kext, GraphicUpdate, NVinstaller, ...)
I need to reinstall os x, my leo is now instable. :(

I want to share the NVinject_0.2.1 customized for DELL Geforce Go 7950 GTX. NVCAP extracted from graphic rom.
Enjoy !



The banding problem is just worse with the 0.2.1, I keep mine to 0.2.0b for the moment.

#42
fr3ak!

fr3ak!

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 96 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:France
You're right JonZ, 0.2.0b seems to be the best version for our laptop.
I customize Description and NVCAP extracted from firmware.

0400000000001900020000000000000700000000

BE CAREFULL !! I test it only with my GeForce Go 7950 GTX.

There is no Color banding, but can't find solution for DVD Player black screen ...
Attached File  NVinjectGo_DELL_7950_GTX_512Mb.zip   21.22KB   54 downloads

#43
JonZ

JonZ

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 84 posts

You're right JonZ, 0.2.0b seems to be the best version for our laptop.
I customize Description and NVCAP extracted from firmware.

0400000000001900020000000000000700000000

BE CAREFULL !! I test it only with my GeForce Go 7950 GTX.

There is no Color banding, but can't find solution for DVD Player black screen ...
Attached File  NVinjectGo_DELL_7950_GTX_512Mb.zip   21.22KB   54 downloads


How do you setup the NVCAP anyway? I thought these was to allow DVI to work without flashing your card but the drivers you submited (2.2.1) did not work as I expected.

#44
fr3ak!

fr3ak!

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 96 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:France
The last version I submited, is NVinjectGo_0.2.0b modified.

If i'm not wrong, NVCAP is "an address" that permit to driver to communicate with your hardware.
Arti's tool permit to see this value in your hardware's firmware.
In the info.plist of nvinject.kext you must write yours NVCAP value for obtain best compatibility with your graphic card.

#45
JonZ

JonZ

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 84 posts

The last version I submited, is NVinjectGo_0.2.0b modified.

If i'm not wrong, NVCAP is "an address" that permit to driver to communicate with your hardware.
Arti's tool permit to see this value in your hardware's firmware.
In the info.plist of nvinject.kext you must write yours NVCAP value for obtain best compatibility with your graphic card.


I think you'll have to pm me where to get the soft and how to do it, because I tried to register overthere and I never had a registration confirmation. So I can't access the tools.

#46
thomaske

thomaske

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 57 posts
i also do not receive a confirmation mail :censored2:

#47
fr3ak!

fr3ak!

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 96 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:France
Guys, like you i'm waiting for confirmation mail :)
If i find 10 minutes, i will try to share in a pack.

#48
thomaske

thomaske

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 57 posts
JonZ witch guide do you follow for the broacom netxtreme 57xx controller? i will give it a try :rolleyes: see what happens :angry2:

#49
JonZ

JonZ

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 84 posts

JonZ witch guide do you follow for the broacom netxtreme 57xx controller? i will give it a try :P see what happens :P


Not a chance, if you search in google and insanemac with broadcom 5752, you'd maybe find some guides, but only to detect the card. There's actually no working method to make the card working on the web browser.

Broadcom BCM5752 [14e4:1600] - InsanelyMac Forum

#50
thomaske

thomaske

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 57 posts
yeah indeed, it detects the card but won't assign a mac ;) it says network is down

i hope someone can fixe this :blink:

#51
fr3ak!

fr3ak!

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 96 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:France
Here is the tools I used for NVCAP.

Before modification save NVinject.kext (or NVinjectGo.kext)
If you have any problems, boot with -x and install your saved NVinject.kext

1. Boot under DOS and use NVFLASH to dump your graphic card firmware (nvflash -b save.rom)
2. Under OS X, launch Arti's tool and read "save.rom" then note your NVCAP address
3. Replace the NVCAP value in NVinject.kext with PlistEditor
4. Delete NVinject.kext and use kexthelper to install the modify one

With NVinjectGo_0.2.0b_512Mb and correct NVCAP, I have Dual screen monitors and no Fu@#{ng color banding !

Hope it will help !

PS: LCD sleep don't work and DVD player show black screen.

#52
Trasumaka

Trasumaka

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
Hi all


This is exactly what I'm looking for.
But since I'm also a big noob, it doesn't work for me.

I partitioned my hd to 2 partition like in the fist post.

- I install Windows Vista Ultimate 64 on the second partition
- I installed Leopard on the first on

- I activated for boot on second partition

and Windows starts without problem

- I activated for boot the fist partition

reboot and black screen with message

H00000000

HFS+ partition error



I put the the Kaliway 10.5.2 DVD in drive and rebbot with F12 on DVD

there I didn't press any key to boot form DVD

Now I can see a grey Appel Logo on white background

then for 2-3 sec. a light blue screen

after this a black screen with mouse pointer

then nothing more



I used the default sleep kernel.





Thanks in advance for your help



Best regards

Tra

#53
fr3ak!

fr3ak!

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 96 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:France
What is your videocard ? Did you made a test with -x to boot in safe mode ?

For the boot problem try this :

Boot with -s then type

fdisk -e /dev/rdisk0 ( /!\ Where Leopard installation)
flag x ( /!\ Where x is ur OS X partition number)
update
write
quit
reboot

#54
JonZ

JonZ

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 84 posts

Here is the tools I used for NVCAP.

Before modification save NVinject.kext (or NVinjectGo.kext)
If you have any problems, boot with -x and install your saved NVinject.kext

1. Boot under DOS and use NVFLASH to dump your graphic card firmware (nvflash -b save.rom)
2. Under OS X, launch Arti's tool and read "save.rom" then note your NVCAP address
3. Replace the NVCAP value in NVinject.kext with PlistEditor
4. Delete NVinject.kext and use kexthelper to install the modify one

With NVinjectGo_0.2.0b_512Mb and correct NVCAP, I have Dual screen monitors and no Fu@#{ng color banding !

Hope it will help !

PS: LCD sleep don't work and DVD player show black screen.


well, that brings another problem.. How can you boot in DOS with a XPS?

#55
fr3ak!

fr3ak!

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 96 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:France
You can use a boot CD, like Hiren's Boot CD or make your favorite USB key as a boot.

Google search gave me :

http://www.bay-wolf....usbmemstick.htm
http://aaltonen.us/2...b-key-addendum/

I used a USB key (With Win95 or 98 DOS) and copy all my favorite DOS tools on it, it is faster than a CD-ROM. With XPS after DELL logo when you hit F12 on boot you can choose HDD, CD or USB.

#56
JonZ

JonZ

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 84 posts

You can use a boot CD, like Hiren's Boot CD or make your favorite USB key as a boot.

Google search gave me :

http://www.bay-wolf....usbmemstick.htm
http://aaltonen.us/2...b-key-addendum/

I used a USB key (With Win95 or 98 DOS) and copy all my favorite DOS tools on it, it is faster than a CD-ROM. With XPS after DELL logo when you hit F12 on boot you can choose HDD, CD or USB.


Ok the Hp thing worked for me. I can't believe there's no other way to make a a bootable USB DOS other than Windows...


Now I have another problem, when I try to start the plist editor it give me an error dialog box: codec overrun.

Sorry to 'overrun' you with my many problems :wacko:


EDIT: bah, I went to get it myself on google. but just so you know, your zipped file has probably a bad checksum.




So what I need to modify in plistedit?

I guessed that you have to edit the plist inside the nvinject.kext, but I'm a bit lost in it. I see several references of NVCAP.
The one that seems relevant to me is root>IOKitPersonalities>NVinject>entriesToAdd>NVCAP (data)

Is that right?

Even if it right, I can't make it work. You press FN+F8 to activate the dual screen right? because when I do so, the Hackintosh freeze, I have to press the power button for 4 sec to reboot. And I have the same NVCAP as you.

Any ideas what goes wrong?

#57
fr3ak!

fr3ak!

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 96 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:France
Yes, you must modify the "root>IOKitPersonalities>NVinject>entriesToAdd>NVCAP (data)".

You can't use FN+F8, my computer freeze too when I press these keys. In the monitor menu choose "detect monitor" and if one is connected it will show your desktop. TV-out don't work :D

#58
JonZ

JonZ

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 84 posts
Well, I don't understand..

I can make the VGA working but not the DVI...

oh well... Thanks for the help anyway :P

#59
fr3ak!

fr3ak!

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 96 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:France
Anyone have tested Kalyway 10.5.3 combo update on M1710 ?
My hack is stable with minor problems (sleep, DVD player black), i don't want to reinstall it again.

#60
thomaske

thomaske

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 57 posts
no not tested yet, but can't you make a backup? so if it's go wrong, you can simpy replace your backup?





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy