Leopard 10.5.2 wrong time / wrong clock when switching back and forth from Vista (please help!)

15 posts in this topic

OK..........................

I want to use the first solution provided on the Wiki ('Tips And Tricks' section). However, I've never used Unix/Linux and I have NEVER used 'Terminal' under OS X before. Granted, I use Windows Vista, but even then, I rarely do anything with command lines.

I need to set Leopard 10.5.2 to use Local Time instead of Univeral Time. The only problem is that I can't find "rc.local" nor "rc.shutdown.local" anywhere on the hard drive. So here are my questions:

1) Where can I find those files!?

2) What is the proper way to edit them? (step-by-step, please)

3) If those files don't exist in Leopard in the first place, what is the proper STEP-BY-STEP way to create them?

4) I understand that these files were in Tiger, based on some previous postings in the Tiger 10.4.x section of the forum. If they were taken out in Leopard 10.5.x's release, is there any guarantee that creating these files will work at all?

5) Is there any circumstance or any way in which this solution would fail? (in other words, Leopard will somehow revert back to Universal time on its own, especially when I reboot into Vista and then go back into Leopard)

6) Judging from the filenames themselves ("rc.local" and "rc.shutdown.local"), does that imply that I need one for startup and rebooting as well? (ie. 'rc.startup.local' or 'rc.reboot.local')

You see? Unix commands are too vague and ambiguous for the average guy. But I'm willing to learn as I go. Right now, I need this... so please, if anyone can offer help I'll gladly appreciate it!

By the way, this is the 'solution' i'm referring to....