Quad Booting Help Needed!

23 posts in this topic

My Comp Specs:

Motherboard: Asus P5B-VM(G965 Chipset)

Processor: C2D E4400(2 GHZ OCed to 2.2 GHZ, SSE2 & SSE3 both compatible)

GPU: nVidia Geforce XFX 8500GT 256 MB DDR2 OCed to 670/530 MHZ

HDD: Samsung 80 GB IDE, Seagate 250 GB SATA

RAM: Kingston 1 GB DDR2 667 MHZ

ROM: Sony DVD Writer 16X

i am new to this OSX86...i want to quad boot XP Pro/Vista Ultimate/Kalyway 10.5.1/Ubuntu 7.10(ALL 32 BIT VER.)...

currently i am downloading Kalyway(3.51GB) from piratebay & i am having d CD/DVD of rest of the OS..

i want to request you to help me in quad booting which should include d proper installation steps of Kalyway & Ubuntu(i have never installed them), the order in which i should install them and the OS selector which i should use i.e. normal windows OS selctor, GRUB or advanced OS selector like Acronis...

thanx..please do help me.. :P

means the order of the installation should be

xp

vista

mac

ubuntu

???

but i have a little problem..

it is written that

first i have to download boot_v8 then copy it to /boot inside linux...then edit /boot/grub/menu.lst....i have unserstood till here...

but i m unable to get what is written after that

"title Mac OSX Leopard

root (hd?,?) (replace with same values grub uses for Linux partition, not ones for OSX partition)

kernel /boot/boot_v8

boot

[EDIT -- for FreeBSD, the root line would be root(hd?,?,a) -- the a refers to the first (boot) slice in the FreeBSD partition]

If OS X resides on a different HDD than Linux, you will have to enter a hex code for the appropriate drive during the boot process.

80 -- 1st HDD

81 -- 2nd HDD

82 -- 3rd HDD

Alternately, so you don't have to enter code during boot process, make a tiny ext3 partition on the OS X HDD

copy boot_v8 there in a directory /boot

and replace (hd?,?) with the values of that partition"

see i am having 6 partitions..

C:----27.9 GB

D:----61.7 GB

E:----27.9 GB

F:----18.6 GB

G:----73.2 GB

H:----86.3 GB