Jump to content

Install Guide For Dell Latitude D630 and D830


  • Please log in to reply
956 replies to this topic

#401
LeoonDell

LeoonDell

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts

I need help, I've tried everything I know (which admittedly is not much with regard to OSX).

I have a Dell Inspiron D830 with Intel X3100, and display with 1680x1050 resolution. I have followed all steps in the guide with Kalyway 10.5.1, updated to 10.5.4 with the Apple Combo Update, and then installed the X3100 drivers and the sleep script. I always get a black screen after that. Twice or three times I have managed to get a response from the screen after leaving the laptop alone for a while, then touching the touchpad, but all I see is the mouse cursor in the upper left corner, immovable, and when I use the touchpad, a heavily distorted mouse pointer, made up of lines of changing colours, moves around the screen on a black background. Nothing more...

My laptop has 2GB of RAM, 120GB HD, a Core2Duo processor, Dell WiFi card, Bluetooth... it's a fairly standard D830, except maybe for the 1680x1050 display, which was an upgrade from the standard resolution. Could that be the cause of my problems with the X3100 drivers?

I'd be grateful for any ideas pointing to a solution.

Thanks in advance!


Hi Sergio, interesting, I am on the exact same situation. I haven't actually read of anyone explicitly with a D830 and x3100 working. All working reports are either D630 or NVDIA graphics. It dosen't make much sense because as far as I know it is exactly the same computer with different screen sizes and the x3100 apple driver should be able to handle the higher resolutions...

#402
Sergio T.

Sergio T.

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Málaga

Hi Sergio, interesting, I am on the exact same situation. I haven't actually read of anyone explicitly with a D830 and x3100 working. All working reports are either D630 or NVDIA graphics. It dosen't make much sense because as far as I know it is exactly the same computer with different screen sizes and the x3100 apple driver should be able to handle the higher resolutions...


Hi LeoonDell! I have by now read nearly all pages of this post. I am pretty sure I have seen some claiming to have the D830 working. I've even seen your screenshot, and it looks exactly like my problem... I hope someone more knowledgeable will see our posts and take pity on us :P If you find any solution, pleas let me know. I'll do the same for you! Good luck!

#403
KirbySaysHi

KirbySaysHi

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 115 posts
  • Gender:Male

This is odd, most people say that the bluetooth works out of the box. I don't have a bluetooth module, so I don't really know...


Thanks for the reply.

That's what I had noticed too, since there are so few posts regarding it. right now, there is no bluetooth icon in system preferences, and when I try to open up bluetooth explorer, it says it cannot detect anything.

For the people that have bluetooth on the D630 / D830: What are your bios settings? There are options related to bluetooth and the wireless switch, what are those set at!

I will be highly appreciative!

#404
Sergio T.

Sergio T.

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Málaga

Thanks for the reply.

That's what I had noticed too, since there are so few posts regarding it. right now, there is no bluetooth icon in system preferences, and when I try to open up bluetooth explorer, it says it cannot detect anything.

For the people that have bluetooth on the D630 / D830: What are your bios settings? There are options related to bluetooth and the wireless switch, what are those set at!

I will be highly appreciative!


Hi Kirby, not that I'm a good example to follow, since I haven't been able so far to get graphics acceleration working on my D830 with X3100, but everything else that is supposed to work on the 630/830, I've had working, including the Bluetooth. When starting up, my BT indicator is already lit, and mi BIOS settings (BIOS version A12) has the following settings in the Wireless sections: INternal Bluetooth: Enabled, Internal WiFi: Enabled, Internal Cellular: Off (I don't think I have it), Wireless switch: "All", Wifi Catcher: Enabled (I don't know yet what this does, I have changed nothing with this setting). Good luck!

If it's not asking too much: have a think about what might cause my problems with the X3100 drivers... LeoonDell has exactly the same problems on his D830. I would be grateful for any help...

#405
thestevo

thestevo

    InsanelyMac Chuck Norris

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 550 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:A piano that's in tune and hardware that I don't have to write drivers for.
Kirby, did you get Vista on your machine? If so, did you implicitly choose the XP bluetooth module?

The Vista bluetooth module and the XP bluetooth module are actually the same, for hardware, but are different with firmware. The Vista one contains handicaps for a mentally-disabled OS and therefore doesn't work properly in OS X. However, you can boot into Windows (I believe you can do it in Vista or XP), download the XP bluetooth firmware, and flash the bluetooth module. I'm just theorizing, but if you do it in Vista it may disappear after you flash the XP firmware.

Though this may be a pain if you wiped off Windows, from what I've heard it should fix the issue.

Good Luck,
theStevo

#406
KirbySaysHi

KirbySaysHi

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 115 posts
  • Gender:Male
It's actually a work computer, so I didn't customize it myself. However, I do believe that originally it had Vista on it...

And right now OS X is the only os on it, so I can't really boot into windows... but I might try installing windows to an external hard drive or something.

Would I get the firmware off of Dell's website, or is this a third-party thing?

#407
LeoonDell

LeoonDell

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts

Hi LeoonDell! I have by now read nearly all pages of this post. I am pretty sure I have seen some claiming to have the D830 working. I've even seen your screenshot, and it looks exactly like my problem... I hope someone more knowledgeable will see our posts and take pity on us ;) If you find any solution, pleas let me know. I'll do the same for you! Good luck!



:D I got it! Finally!

Well to a 90% I would say. After reading the original thread where AJ Allen and simcolor published original their kexts, I did following. First downloaded the original simcolor kexts. Installed:

-AppleIntelGMAX3100.kext extracted of the Leopard GFX Update (LGU)
-AppleIntelGMAX3100FB.kext from simcolor (downloaded from the original thread)
-Natit.kext from simcolor (downloaded from the original thread)

First sign of live! It booted at 1600x1000. I changed it to 1920x1200 and worked. Only thing is the mouse pointer was deformed (at 1920x1200 only) and there was no QE/CI. :P

So I decided to install the remaining files:

-AppleIntelGMAX3100GA.plugin
-AppleIntelGMAX3100GLDriver.bundle
-AppleIntelGMAX3100VADriver.bundle

At this point I decided to use the one's extracted from the LGU. Rebooted, no luck.
Booted into -s and deleted this last installed files. Booted to Leopard and it worked again. So I decided to use the ones from the first post. It worked! Fully accelerated. But curiously only at 1600x1000. If I try to change to 1920x1200 the laptop freezes. Oh well, I was never a fan of the superlittle pixels anyway. At 1600x1000 I can live happy for the time-being. ;)

I'll attach the files I used so the other D830's can try them. If it doesn't work at first, try installing in the previously described steps (first X3100.kext, X3100FB.kext and Natit.kext reboot and then the rest).

Saludos!

P.S. Upload is not working, I'll try it later again.

#408
bsoplinger

bsoplinger

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 28 posts

Would I get the firmware off of Dell's website, or is this a third-party thing?


The bluetooth firmware is available on Dell's website under their hardware support area. Just choose XP as the OS and it'll show you at least 1 update for the bluetooth hardware. Under Vista is will show a similar update but that's the one that messes things up for OS X. The XP firmware updated bluetooth module will still work in Vista, at least it works fine for me in Vista. I have a D830 with the 2.2 Ghz dual cores and 4G memory running XP business or Vista business. I've paired the module with my desktop G4 Mac with a USB bluetooth dongle and with one of the MoGo X54 mouse and they both work fine in Vista, I've transferred files and use the mouse all the time. So I have no idea what the Vista version of the firmware is supposed to fix over what is in the XP version considering the XP firmware seems to work just fine and supports BT 2.1.

#409
Sergio T.

Sergio T.

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Málaga

thumbsup_anim.gif I got it! Finally!

Well to a 90% I would say. After reading the original thread where AJ Allen and simcolor published original their kexts, I did following. First downloaded the original simcolor kexts. Installed:

-AppleIntelGMAX3100.kext extracted of the Leopard GFX Update (LGU)
-AppleIntelGMAX3100FB.kext from simcolor (downloaded from the original thread)
-Natit.kext from simcolor (downloaded from the original thread)

First sign of live! It booted at 1600x1000. I changed it to 1920x1200 and worked. Only thing is the mouse pointer was deformed (at 1920x1200 only) and there was no QE/CI. sleep.gif

So I decided to install the remaining files:

-AppleIntelGMAX3100GA.plugin
-AppleIntelGMAX3100GLDriver.bundle
-AppleIntelGMAX3100VADriver.bundle

At this point I decided to use the one's extracted from the LGU. Rebooted, no luck.
Booted into -s and deleted this last installed files. Booted to Leopard and it worked again. So I decided to use the ones from the first post. It worked! Fully accelerated. But curiously only at 1600x1000. If I try to change to 1920x1200 the laptop freezes. Oh well, I was never a fan of the superlittle pixels anyway. At 1600x1000 I can live happy for the time-being. wink_anim.gif

I'll attach the files I used so the other D830's can try them. If it doesn't work at first, try installing in the previously described steps (first X3100.kext, X3100FB.kext and Natit.kext reboot and then the rest).

Saludos!

P.S. Upload is not working, I'll try it later again.


Hola LeoonDell,

THANK YOU very much! I'll try your approach... I'll try finding those files, but keep looking here in case you've managed uploading in the meantime. I'll post my results. By the way, my native screen resolution is lower than yours, I opted for the 1680x1050 screen rather than the 1920x1200 - for the same reason you mentioned: I don't like the small pixels either...

Muchas gracias de nuevo!

#410
Sergio T.

Sergio T.

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Málaga
Hi again LeoonDell!

as promised, I'm reporting back... my results are similar to yours: I get a distorted mouse pointer at my display's native resolution (1680x1050), but good results and full hardware acceleration at 1600x1000. The drivers' developers are nearly there! Congratulations on your hard work. Hopefully a solution to this can be found... if additionally the broadcomm wired NIC can be made to work, the Latitude D830 will be a near perfect Hackintosh!

Thank you very much for sharing! Hasta pronto

#411
Sergio T.

Sergio T.

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Málaga
Update: after installing the .kexts as LeoonDell described, I changed the resolution back and forth between 1680x1050 and 1600x1000 serveral times, getting the same results as LeoonDell: when choosing my display's native resolution of 1680x1050, everything looked fine except for the mouse pointer, which was distorted; and at 1600x1000 it looked fine. I continued installing the pc card drivers of the first post in this thread (Chun-Nan), and left it at that. Later I tried again to change the resolution to 1680x1050, and the computer would hang with a black screen. I restarted (thankfully the computer started with the last working resolution selected), so I activated VoiceOver before attempting this again. The computer managed to speak out the resolution while the screen changed to black; then the hard disk would show activity for a moment, and then hang, with no reaction to any key or mouse movements, and VoiceOver not "saying" anything...

#412
LeoonDell

LeoonDell

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts

Update: after installing the .kexts as LeoonDell described, I changed the resolution back and forth between 1680x1050 and 1600x1000 serveral times, getting the same results as LeoonDell: when choosing my display's native resolution of 1680x1050, everything looked fine except for the mouse pointer, which was distorted; and at 1600x1000 it looked fine. I continued installing the pc card drivers of the first post in this thread (Chun-Nan), and left it at that. Later I tried again to change the resolution to 1680x1050, and the computer would hang with a black screen. I restarted (thankfully the computer started with the last working resolution selected), so I activated VoiceOver before attempting this again. The computer managed to speak out the resolution while the screen changed to black; then the hard disk would show activity for a moment, and then hang, with no reaction to any key or mouse movements, and VoiceOver not "saying" anything...


Yeah, that's pretty much what I've got.

En fin...

#413
plamenv0

plamenv0

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
i have a latitude d820 .. what should i type in kernel ? cuz ive got an NVIDIA Quadro graphic card and not an Intel :D

#414
roneil4

roneil4

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 148 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:VA
hey I just wanted to let you guys know, I tried the speedstep kext posted earlier (i forget who posted it) and it works great with the vanilla kernel. Also, I tried the link in thestevo's signature for the clamshelldisplay kext, and that worked great for enabling the lid sensor. Although it always worked to open the lid after sleep, shutting the lid never put the computer to sleep, but now it does.

also, I have a question for thestevo. Your signature says that your xbench score for your laptop is 138. Just out of curiosity, what is your disk score? My xbench is around 80, but that is mainly because of the gmax3100's abysmal performance (25 on the openGL test) and my disk test score (which i don't remember right now). Every other category is over 100. I am guessing that the main cause for the difference is the gfx card, but I have also wondered why I get such low disk scores with a 7200 rpm 320 gb hard drive.

EDIT: My disc score is 64

#415
r_o_o_s

r_o_o_s

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 21 posts
Xbench give me 105 with disk test activated and 120 without.

Intel ICH8-M AHCI:

Vendor: Intel
Product: ICH8-M AHCI
Speed: 3.0 Gigabit
Description: AHCI Version 1.10 Supported
WDC WD3200BEVT-00ZCT0:
Capacity: 298.09 GB
Model: WDC WD3200BEVT-00ZCT0
Revision: 11.01A11
Serial Number: WD-WXE408CL8387
Native Command Queuing: Yes
Queue Depth: 32
Removable Media: No
Detachable Drive: No
BSD Name: disk0
Mac OS 9 Drivers: No
Partition Map Type: MBR (Master Boot Record)
S.M.A.R.T. status: Verified


The disk results from xbench are this:
Results 56.20
System Info
Xbench Version 1.3
System Version 10.5.4 (9E17)
Physical RAM 4096 MB
Model iMac7,1
Drive Type WDC WD3200BEVT-00ZCT0
Disk Test 56.20
Sequential 76.91
Uncached Write 83.68 51.38 MB/sec [4K blocks]
Uncached Write 92.54 52.36 MB/sec [256K blocks]
Uncached Read 50.09 14.66 MB/sec [4K blocks]
Uncached Read 107.69 54.12 MB/sec [256K blocks]
Random 44.28
Uncached Write 17.10 1.81 MB/sec [4K blocks]
Uncached Write 116.85 37.41 MB/sec [256K blocks]
Uncached Read 69.64 0.49 MB/sec [4K blocks]
Uncached Read 111.90 20.76 MB/sec [256K blocks]

Ill do the same test with ahci off and we'll see what happens. System Profiler reporting ahc8-m could be a clue, shouldn't this be ahc9?

Does anybody know if mbr patritions slow things down in osx?

/roos

#416
plamenv0

plamenv0

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
I have a Dell Wireless 1390 WLAN mini-card but it doesnt work !! :D can anyone help me ??!

#417
VB Boy

VB Boy

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
I got a Dell D630 from eBay for $455 including shipping and installed iATKOS like the instructions provided by roneil4 in the beginning of this thread. It worked exactly like he said. Here is my configuration:

Dell D630 14" with iATKOS OSx 10.5.4
* Intel Core 2 Duo 1.8 GHz BIOS A13 (both core working)
* Seagate 80GB 7200RPM hard drive under ATA mode (did not work under ACHI mode)
* nVidia Quadro NVS 135M 1440x900 (working with nVidia installer)
* Wireless LAN Dell 1390 (working as AirPort)
* Battery Meter (working, but time is kind of messed up)
* Bluetooth Wireless 360 Module (working)
* Internal USB Slots (working)
* Firewire 1394 (working)
* Sigmatel HD Audio 9205 (working)
* CD/DVD-RW (pending buring CD/DVD)
* Sleep (did not try, since I disabled it)
* LAN Broadcom NetXtreme 57xx (not working)
* Shutdown and Restart (not working)

It also worked with my Panasonic KX-P7305 Full Duplex laser printer with manufacturer driver.
I am acquiring either a Logitech QuickCam Ultra Vision or a Logitech QuickCam Vision Pro to use with Skype.

It's odd that the video driver messed up shutdown and restart process though, I am gonna spend some time figure that out regardless. Thank you very much roneil4, for providing this solution. Can't beat a Mac machine for this price.

vbboy

#418
George Wassef

George Wassef

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 22 posts
My Dear,
thanks for this wonderful guide now i have removed windows vista from my C drive and i am using the MAC OS 10.5.4 iATKOS after i followed your steps. I have minor problems with my laptop but i hope you can help me avoiding them :

1. When i shutdown the laptop it does not power off, it shutdown everything but it leave the power led and the bluetooth led, as well as if any external usb drive connected on even if i left it for hours.
2. the laptop sometimes freeze when i leave it for a while
3. the mute button does not mute the sound

thanks for your guide again. i was dreaming of being an mac along time ago.

#419
mr_titanium

mr_titanium

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
I own a Dell Latitude D830. I have crawled through this somewhat lengthy thread, but I still need some advice...

I have bought Mac OS Leopard Retail, in order to install it on my iMac. Now I would like to install it on the Dell, too.

I know, I can use PC-EFI or boot-123 in some way, but what exactly do I have to do to get it running with all bells and whistles? Does a tutorial exist for this Retail DVD install? I only have found a tutorial for iAtkos so far, but I don't want to download iAtkos, because I already have the Retail, you know...

#420
piju

piju

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 36 posts
  • Location:Kuala Lumpur
  • Interests:ham radio, ubuntu, mac osx, nunchaku
guys, help me
i got problem with intel 950.
for the first boot, there will be a blue screen with black bar!!





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2017 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy