Jump to content

[Compilation] Dell XPS M1330, M1530, Vostro 1400, 1700, Inspiron 1420, 1520, 1720

* * * * * 1 votes

  • Please log in to reply
4332 replies to this topic

#621
Micman

Micman

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
@Macgirl

I just can't seem to get it to work.

I installed the drivers you said for the Asus WLAN, and it says I should configure after a restart.
However in System Preferences - Network, it seems that he uses the Ethernet connection , although it should be Wireless. Meaning I can not choose my Wireless Router. So no connection. However the Ethernet connection is green.
In System Profiler , the BSD is also en0.

Any ideas ?

Thanks a lot , really appreciate your help.

Cheers

Micman

#622
macgirl

macgirl

    Stargate's Pharaoh

  • Retired
  • 7,612 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Mexico City
  • Interests:Techie gadgets

Only three things are still concerning me:

1. laptop doesn't restart or shut down properly (although S3 sleep - suspend to ram works) it's stuck (incorrect ACPI commands?),
2. apps like preview, front row (especially videos), iTunes (videos), other graphic extensive apps sometime freezes my laptop.
3. long boot. It's stuck on the gray screen with apple in the middle. The 'thing' stops turning around and 2 minutes later I see my desktop.

Any ideas? Not that I'm any desperate :rolleyes: Thanks to all you for your hard work on running this forum.

1. is a know issue for many Leopard hakcintosh users, if it is very important to you and you don't care loosing Graphics acceleration you can delete Nvidia kexts and you will get proper shutdown/restart.

2. there is a trick that involves making the screen to sleep, after that you get faster graphics, you can set "hot corener" to make it sleep, it needs just a moment, is like a slap in the face (of the computer of course).

3- probably is a conflict of some kext, boot in "verbose mode" (-v) and watch for errors/warnings or see the /var/log/system.log

@Macgirl

I just can't seem to get it to work.

I installed the drivers you said for the Asus WLAN, and it says I should configure after a restart.
However in System Preferences - Network, it seems that he uses the Ethernet connection , although it should be Wireless. Meaning I can not choose my Wireless Router. So no connection. However the Ethernet connection is green.
In System Profiler , the BSD is also en0.

Any ideas ?

Thanks a lot , really appreciate your help.

Cheers

Micman

The connection is made by the Wireless Utility App, and the settings (IP, DNS, DHCP) by the Network Pane. Yes in the network pane all appears as regular wired connection.

#623
dweller88

dweller88

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

hi , finally got my vostro 1400, x3100 graphic got workin ....Finally Sound thorugh SPEAKERS>>>>> :rolleyes: some times display boots straight into desktop without using sleep display trick ,
thankyou macgirl , and others for your excellent guide..!!..Do you want me to write the step by step procedure of , how i got it done...
if its helpful for anyone, i would love to write



Hi CokeSide,
I have a vostro 1400 but with nvidia card not x3100.
I can get sound working lout of speakers using the patched appleHDA kexts for 9228 at the beginning of this
guide. However when I reboot I lose the sound , very frustrating.
So I go back to using hdapatcher .16 and get sound from one headphone socket.

Could you please tell me which method you used to get sound from the speakers.
It may be that the NVidia patch is interfering with my sound and that is the difference between us.
But I would still be interested in your method.
Thanks very much,

dweller

#624
pepepaco

pepepaco

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 32 posts

Have you tried patching directly trhough the codec dump? It always works for me. I am attatching the txt file. Just find Taruga's AppleHDAPatcher_v1.16 (here in the forum) and drag the .txt file in it's window, restart and that should do it. Good luck!


@COSIO

Many thanks. sound now working, albeit only through the proverbial lone earphone jack.

Any suggestions on how to install the new kexts for the speakers on m1330?

#625
tasslehawf

tasslehawf

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts
  • Location:Los Angeles, CA
I am proud of myself.

I just ordered a 1505 wireless card for my 1530 so I could get 802.11n while booted into OSX (we are upgrading the network at home and moving around some of the machines). I was looking at getting a wireless n card for my wife's Mac Pro. Looking on ebay I discovered they were going for like $90. So I made a little guess:

I figured if my 1505 card in my 1530 is recognized under OSX then why wouldn't the same card be recognized in a Mac Pro under OSX, and I was right!

(Pat's self on the back) saved myself $40+. The only thing that sucked was not getting the installation screws, but I ended up just stealing one out of my 1530 for the UWB since I'll never have that card.

#626
cosio

cosio

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 21 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Burgas, Bulgaria / Madrid, Spain
  • Interests:photography, advertising, railways, 3ds max, biking, prog rock...

OK, now this is getting weird. After reboot it was all gone. Lost keyboard and trackpad again. Still, the files are the same, so when I booted with -v -f it worked again! Does this mean that kexts don't load automatically as they should or do I simply have to boot with an -f from now on?


WOW, macgirl you are great! I never would have thought to search info on the official site on that topic! Leo4All rules too! Sadly I just finished installing it and it won't work after reboot so I guess the cleanest option would be to go on with -f on boot or reinstall, install the update right after that and hope for success. Thanks a million once again and sorry for the time you had to waste with my beginner cuestions. You're the best!


Confirming that the official update from Leo4All did not work for me even after a clean install. I had to manually replace the kexts as I described a few posts earlier, so now I have mouse and keyboard working only when I boot with the -f option. One strange thing I did notice in verbose mode is this:

Extension "com.apple.driver.ApppleACPIPlatform" has immediate dependencies on both com.apple.kernel and com.apple.kpi; use only one style;

The line above appears up to four times when I boot up in -v mode, no matter if I use -f or not, but with the difference that I have mouse and trackpad in the second case. Could this be related to my problem?


@COSIO

Many thanks. sound now working, albeit only through the proverbial lone earphone jack.

Any suggestions on how to install the new kexts for the speakers on m1330?


I am glad to hear that it worked for you! It is werid that it works only through the earphone jack, for me it worked for both speakers and jack. Maybe you should try and make a combination from both patches, inserting the ALCinject.kext that comes attatched in the STAC9228_0x83847616.zip in the first post aswell. This is my only guess, but I advise you to wait for another opinion as am only a beginner and not sure at all this time. Good luck anyway!

#627
7oby

7oby

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 39 posts

I am glad to hear that it worked for you! It is werid that it works only through the earphone jack, for me it worked for both speakers and jack.


Using STAC9228_0x83847616.zip I have left earphone jack and speakers always carry the same signal - actually the one that is configured as "speaker". Right earphone jack carries the one that is configured as "headphone". That means: Both earphone jacks carry different signals. And depending on your System Preferences / Audio / Out settings either one of them will hold the sound.

Here STAC9228_0x83847616.zip also sometimes doesn't play. Without having changed anything else in between. I do not know whether this is by chance: But having Mac OS X running from battery it always worked. Running on AC sometimes did not.

#628
macgirl

macgirl

    Stargate's Pharaoh

  • Retired
  • 7,612 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Mexico City
  • Interests:Techie gadgets
Well finally I could use "Prev", "Play/Pause" and "Next" keys of the keyboard, and becaue the remote controlis somehow linked to the keyboard those keys in the remote also work, just need to install Butler and the modified ApplePS2Keyboard. I set iTunes events with triggers mapped to those keys.

here is a pic:
Attached File  Picture_1.jpg   200.81KB   1236 downloads


EDIT: one of the benefits of Butler is that you can choose if those keys work only when the app is running/in front or no matter if you are in another app.

EDIT2: modified 1st post.

#629
7oby

7oby

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 39 posts
Can someone provide me a good link to a "booting guide"?

Setup1: Mac OS X 10.5.1 iATKOS 1.0ir2 on primary partition
Setup2: Mac OS X 10.5.1 iATKOS 1.0ir2 on logical partition

I can boot both easily:
. by means of the iATKOS DVD
. by means of GRUB loading pc_efi_v80 (*) from linux or windows partition

(*) Is there a way to provide parameter options to "kernel /boot_v8" such that one doesn't have to select harddisk (80) and partition number?

I have installed pc_efi_v80 additionally in both setups within their respective partition according to this well known guide. I expected I could chainload both this way:

Setup1: by means of chain0
Setup2: by means of tboot

Both DO NOT work (I tried Vista BCD and GRUB as well), but I don't understand why?

I dislike iATKOS for not being clear about what it actually does behind the scenes (I can't find a release note that specifies which kext version is selected in the customize sections - well I didn't select any therefore). Macgirl's posting at the front of this thread confirmed me in replacing certain voodoo against well known and documented packages: "You can use a gfx string [...] if you installed Netkas' PC-EFI V8, if you installed EFI from iATKOS it won't work."

#630
macgirl

macgirl

    Stargate's Pharaoh

  • Retired
  • 7,612 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Mexico City
  • Interests:Techie gadgets
Preferably do not use Logical/Extended partitions, Mac OS does not like them very much.

[Guide] The Fool-Proof Vista & XP / Mac OS X Dual-Boot Guide

How to Manually install a Bootloader

#631
7oby

7oby

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 39 posts

How to Manually install a Bootloader

The manual guide just did it! Now boots! Even the Mac OS on the logical partition using tboot as chainloader.

Since EFI is now launched from the corresponding partition, it also doesn't ask for the harddrive anymore and also selects by default the correct partition to launch MacOS.

#632
macgirl

macgirl

    Stargate's Pharaoh

  • Retired
  • 7,612 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Mexico City
  • Interests:Techie gadgets
Well I also get succes mapping the "Stop" key with this: Attached File  ApplePS2Keyboard_V3.kext.zip   13.39KB   2488 downloads
Now Butler can catch "Stop" key as "hot key" and asign it to keystrokes

#633
CokeSide

CokeSide

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts

Hi CokeSide,
I have a vostro 1400 but with nvidia card not x3100.
I can get sound working lout of speakers using the patched appleHDA kexts for 9228 at the beginning of this
guide. However when I reboot I lose the sound , very frustrating.
So I go back to using hdapatcher .16 and get sound from one headphone socket.

Could you please tell me which method you used to get sound from the speakers.
It may be that the NVidia patch is interfering with my sound and that is the difference between us.
But I would still be interested in your method.
Thanks very much,

dweller


just use the sleep display trick , after restart before you use any app that uses sound..try to do the sleep display trick...i really don know much abt nvidia stuff..i guess macgirl can answer that issue

#634
macgirl

macgirl

    Stargate's Pharaoh

  • Retired
  • 7,612 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Mexico City
  • Interests:Techie gadgets
Nvidia kexts don't interfere or conflict with sound issues.

#635
yeye

yeye

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 292 posts
hello macgirl,
where should I put the appleps2controller.kext?

Thanks for all your work!

edit: I've found: It's inside \system\library\extensions\appleps2controller.kext \content\plugins

edit 2: What is the difference between play/pause button and stop button. In buttler, I think it's impossible to set a difference between them. Am i wrong?
I mean stop button will do play/stop and play/pause button will do the same

#636
polk

polk

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 13 posts
Hi all and MacGirl!
As I mentioned above I got Dell M1330 Kalaway 10.5.2 NV4. Regarding 3 minutes freeze at the boot time "-v" doesn't reveal anything specific and system.log shows:

(...)
Mar 29 12:28:35 pawels-mac-pro com.apple.kextd[10]: kld(): Undefined symbols:
Mar 29 12:28:35 pawels-mac-pro com.apple.kextd[10]: __ZN14IOPMrootDomain24systemPowerEventOccurredEPK8OSSymbolP8OSObject
Mar 29 12:28:35 pawels-mac-pro kernel[0]: VID: family specific matching fails
Mar 29 12:28:35 pawels-mac-pro kextd[73]: kld_load_from_memory() failed for module /System/Library/Extensions/IOPlatformPluginFamily.kext/Contents/PlugIns/ACPI_SMC_PlatformPlugin.kext/Contents/MacOS/ACPI_SMC_P
latformPlugin
Mar 29 12:28:35 pawels-mac-pro kernel[0]: Matching service count = 2
Mar 29 12:28:35 pawels-mac-pro kernel[0]: Matching service count = 3
Mar 29 12:28:35: --- last message repeated 4 times ---
Mar 29 12:28:35 pawels-mac-pro kextd[73]: a link/load error occured for kernel extension /System/Library/Extensions/IOPlatformPluginFamily.kext/Contents/PlugIns/ACPI_SMC_PlatformPlugin.kext
Mar 29 12:28:35 pawels-mac-pro kernel[0]: wl0: Broadcom BCM4312 802.11 Wireless Controller
Mar 29 12:28:36 pawels-mac-pro kernel[0]: 4.170.46.3
Mar 29 12:28:35 pawels-mac-pro configd[36]: Error: No interface name AirPort_Brcm43xx
Mar 29 12:28:36 pawels-mac-pro configd[36]: Error: ioPublishedDriverCallback() failed to initDeviceFromService()
Mar 29 12:28:36 pawels-mac-pro kextd[10]: cannot resolve dependencies for kernel extension /System/Library/Extensions/AppleACPIPlatform.kext/Contents/PlugIns/AppleACPIThermal.kext
Mar 29 12:28:36 pawels-mac-pro kextd[10]: cannot resolve dependencies for kernel extension /System/Library/Extensions/AppleACPIPlatform.kext/Contents/PlugIns/AppleACPIPowerSource.kext
Mar 29 12:28:37 pawels-mac-pro kernel[0]: NVDANV50HAL loaded and registered.
Mar 29 12:28:37 pawels-mac-pro kernel[0]: ALCinject: Starting.
Mar 29 12:28:37 pawels-mac-pro kernel[0]: ALCinject: Setting built-in=<data not shown>ApplePS2Trackpad: Synaptics TouchPad v6.3
Mar 29 12:28:37 pawels-mac-pro kernel[0]: ALCinject: Setting layout-id=<data not shown>
Mar 29 12:28:37 pawels-mac-pro kernel[0]: VID: family specific matching fails
Mar 29 12:28:37: --- last message repeated 1 time ---
Mar 29 12:28:37 pawels-mac-pro kernel[0]: NVinjectGo: Probing.
Mar 29 12:28:37 pawels-mac-pro kernel[0]: NVinjectGo: Setting model=Graphics by NVIDIA
Mar 29 12:28:37 pawels-mac-pro kernel[0]: NVinjectGo: Setting @0,device_type=display
Mar 29 12:28:37 pawels-mac-pro kernel[0]: NVinjectGo: Setting @1,display-type=LCD
Mar 29 12:28:37 pawels-mac-pro kernel[0]: NVinjectGo: Setting @0,compatible=NVDA,NVMac
Mar 29 12:28:37 pawels-mac-pro kernel[0]: NVinjectGo: Setting NVCAP=<data not shown>
Mar 29 12:28:37 pawels-mac-pro kernel[0]: NVinjectGo: Setting @1,name=NVDA,Display-B
Mar 29 12:28:37 pawels-mac-pro kernel[0]: NVinjectGo: Setting device_type=NVDA,GeForce
Mar 29 12:28:37 pawels-mac-pro kernel[0]: NVinjectGo: Setting name=NVDA,Parent
Mar 29 12:28:37 pawels-mac-pro kernel[0]: NVinjectGo: Setting rom-revision=NVinjectGo 0.2.0
Mar 29 12:28:37 pawels-mac-pro kernel[0]: NVinjectGo: Setting @0,name=NVDA,Display-A
Mar 29 12:28:37 pawels-mac-pro kernel[0]: NVinjectGo: Setting @1,compatible=NVDA,NVMac
Mar 29 12:28:37 pawels-mac-pro kernel[0]: NVinjectGo: Setting @1,device_type=display
Mar 29 12:28:37 pawels-mac-pro kernel[0]: dsmos: Initializing...
Mar 29 12:28:37 pawels-mac-pro configd[36]: arp_client_transmit(en0) failed, Operation not permitted (1)
Mar 29 12:28:37 pawels-mac-pro kernel[0]: dsmos: Hook and decryption contexts set!
Mar 29 12:28:37 pawels-mac-pro kernel[0]: dsmos: Starting...
Mar 29 12:28:37 pawels-mac-pro configd[36]: MANUAL en0: arp probe failed, arp_client_transmit(en0) failed, Operation not permitted (1)
Mar 29 12:28:37 pawels-mac-pro kernel[0]: AirPort_Brcm43xx: Ethernet address 00:16:cf:xxxxxx
Mar 29 12:28:37 pawels-mac-pro kernel[0]: IOBluetoothBNEPDriver: Ethernet address 00:1d:d9:xxxxxx
Mar 29 12:28:37 pawels-mac-pro kernel[0]: dlil_output: output error retval = 1
Mar 29 12:28:38 pawels-mac-pro kernel[0]: NTFS driver 2.1 [Flags: R/O].
Mar 29 12:28:38 pawels-mac-pro kernel[0]: NTFS volume name WinXP, version 3.1.
Mar 29 12:29:15 pawels-mac-pro kextd[10]: writing kernel link data to /var/run/mach.sym
Mar 29 12:31:11 pawels-mac-pro loginwindow[23]: Login Window Started Security Agent

(...)


At this stage I'm already logged in. Last three rows shows almost 1 minute gaps between them but the HDD doesn't seem to be used. It may be normal behavior but I don't remember it from different setup on ToH.

Any ideas?

#637
macgirl

macgirl

    Stargate's Pharaoh

  • Retired
  • 7,612 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Mexico City
  • Interests:Techie gadgets

edit 2: What is the difference between play/pause button and stop button. In buttler, I think it's impossible to set a difference between them. Am i wrong?
I mean stop button will do play/stop and play/pause button will do the same

It depends how you wnat to assign it, What I did in Butler y to make a sequence of 2 keys, space then command left arrow, so the space pauses the song in iTunes and then the command left arrow make the contorller go to begining.

I down't know how the media keys of USB keyboards work on the stop key, I'll investigate later.

Hi all and MacGirl!
As I mentioned above I got Dell M1330 Kalaway 10.5.2 NV4. Regarding 3 minutes freeze at the boot time "-v" doesn't reveal anything specific and system.log shows:


At this stage I'm already logged in. Last three rows shows almost 1 minute gaps between them but the HDD doesn't seem to be used. It may be normal behavior but I don't remember it from different setup on ToH.

Any ideas?

Try these:

Erase NVDAResman.kext on Single User Mode (-s) and apply the Grahics Update.

Delete NVinjectGo and instal NVinject

Not ahowing the GUI means that Nvidia kexts are not working (possibly they are 10.5.1) or the enabler is not working (NVinjectGo).

#638
yeye

yeye

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 292 posts
hello again,
I don't success in updating my kernel to vanilla's one! I can't boot with this kernel
The problem appears during the loading of graphic driver, just after the white screen with the grey apple. Then, it stops and the only thing I can do is stop my laptop with the button!
How did you do to update your kernel to vanilla? For me, I've tried with kalyway package and with the offical kernel and system.kext but it doesn't work

Any idea?

p.s sorry for my english

#639
macgirl

macgirl

    Stargate's Pharaoh

  • Retired
  • 7,612 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Mexico City
  • Interests:Techie gadgets
Sure, check if you have PC-EFI installed, only with it you can have vanilla kernel.

#640
yeye

yeye

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 292 posts
how can I check if pc-efi is installed
When I've installed iaktos, I think that I've answered YES to this question but I'd like to be sure

Furthermore, have you created a keyboard layout that add <> key and play/pause/stop... keys too?





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   Web hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy