[Guide] Turn your Xbox (original, not 360) into an AppleTV

19 posts in this topic

Note: Do NOT send me PMs about this topic. I am not an expert, just a happy user. Post questions in this thread. I will NOT help you fix your Xbox if you break it. I will NOT answer any technical questions that are covered by my guide already or that are not posted in this thread. You may only send me a PM if you need help finding someone to mod your Xbox for you (i.e. install the modchip). This guide is a modified version of my post at 123MacMini: http://www.123macmini.com/forums/viewtopic...sc&start=15 Guide originally modified from Savvygeek's AppleTV guide: http://savvygeek.com/2007/03/27/how-to-tur...nto-an-appletv/

Grab a snack, you're gonna need it! This guide is LONG!! This is also no walk in the park! NEWBS BEWARE!

Some multimedia for your enjoyment:

http://savvygeek.com/wp-content/uploads/20.../mainscreen.png

http://forums.xbox-scene.com/index.php?showtopic=583541

http://youtube.com/watch?v=0gZg3bh8_3o

The Tutorial:

So you want an AppleTV but don't want to spend $300 on one or be locked into Apple's DRM universe? Sure there are hacks available for the AppleTV, but you can do the same thing for less than $100 and get a better multimedia player. Here's how...

Table of Contents:

The Basic Idea

Before you Begin

The Parts List

Optional Parts

Setting up the Hardware

Installing the Software

Where to go from here

The Basic Idea: