Jump to content

Change icons in Acronis OS Selector?


  • Please log in to reply
93 replies to this topic

#21
U.C.

U.C.

    The Leopard Roars

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,080 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:God's Green Earth
  • Interests:Everything Apple, Computers, Movies
1) Can the file size of the zip be changed?
2) I am too lazy to find the offset, send me your ossmain along with the offset.
3) I ll post the logo's i made here soon.
4) Can the background color be changed

#22
cbmkgd

cbmkgd

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,243 posts
The following are instructions to get to the icon files to edit out. I hope they are clear enough.

I strongly suggest trying within vmware first: it can be a simple virtual system with multiple copies of DOS, nothing fancy. Nothing as irritating as screwing up the MBR in an unkown way.
If you don't use vmware, then have the Win2000/XP disk ready for the Repair Console, or other tools to fix the MBR. And of course backup the files you will modify.

Methods 0, 1 and 2 assume that your version of Acronis Disk Director is 10.0.2117. Otherwise check later.
md5 of my ossmain.exe (v10.0.2117) is: 483ea6ea1eede6ecba2e65fb0a2c90ce

For other versions, use Method 3 (has been verified to work on v.9.0.524). Eventually (i hope) utilities will be provided in Methods 0, 1 and 2 for other versions than 10.0.2117. (2006-07-28)

And of course, any responsability is yours only, I guaranty absolutely nothing from the procedure below.
This is just an aesthetic procedure, nothing functional is gained, only some temporary joy! You don't have to risk it.

Note also that only the boot menu icon will be changed. If you installed Acronis DiskDirector and you access Acronis OS Selector from Windows, these icons won't have been changed: you will have to use Method 3 on the OS_Selector executable in the install directory.
__________________________

Method 0!

This will be the simplest method: after the user provides his own
ossmain.exe file, double-clicking aossquickhack.exe will create a new ossmain.exe, with no other user input necessary. This has been successfully tested in Win2000, WinXP and Win98SE.
This will only change the original OS/2 icons with the ones provided; but if the user provides a
bootmenu_logo.png file, it will also be included. The user can provide his/her own modified OS/2 icons if desired.
To be able to change more icons, use Method 1 below.
The package is a bit bigger because it includes a zipper (info-zip's).
Package is available here (130KB):
aossqkhk.zip Attached File  aossqkhk.zip   130.29KB   591 downloads
The zip password is: for_osx86.org
Only free and/or open-source material included; info in readme file.
__________________________

Method 1

This was tested in Windows2000/XP and in Win98se.
Ok, I've made a much simpler procedure for the original method (method 2).
You don't need the xvi32 hex editor this time, just to download the following zip file: aosshck.zip Attached File  aosshck.zip   57.97KB   311 downloads
The zip password is: for_osx86.org

This 57KB zip contains an executable, aosshack.exe, which handles everything better than batch files; it uses another split.exe to split the file. Apart from that, it uses a simple DOS command for the merging.
The zip also contains the modified icons, and a readme file for instructions.
There is no illegal content in that linked file. The executable is made with the open-sourced NSIS installer compiler.

You'll just need to follow the instructions, double-clicking aosshack.exe once to split ossmain.exe; and later you use it again to merge the modified zip back at the end of the first portion. ;)
__________________________

Method 2

This method is the original one, a manual version of the above methods.

This tutorial uses the xvi32 Hex editor, freely available here:
http://www.chmaas.ha...xvi32/xvi32.htm
It's small, free, and there's no setup: just use it as it is.
All addresses references are in Hex mode.

Again, this is for version 10.0.2117, with ossmain.exe with md5 above.

Make a copy of ossmain.exe, name it ossmain.000.

In xvi32:

The first part of the procedure is to cut off the zip file from the main file.

So lets open the main file and go to the begining of the zip file:

  • Open ossmain.000
  • Ctrl+G: Goto $280880 (This is the beginning of the embeded zip file; the cursor should be on the "P" of "PK" in the right panel)
Now we want to select from here to the end of the zip, then delete that selected portion:
  • Ctrl+B (Block Mark: this marks the begining of the zip)
  • Ctrl+G: Goto $441BDC (We now go the the end of the zip file; if this is not the end of the file itself, you don't have the right version)
  • Ctrl+B (Block Mark: we mark this end, which actually selects all there is between the two marks)
  • Ctrl+D (Block Delete: this deletes the above selected block)
  • File > Save As...: We now save the file as ossmain.beg
You will then have the ossmain without its zip file after the above procedure.

Now in this second part we will extract the zip file, just like above but this time by cutting off the begining of the main file before the zip:
  • Open ossmain.000 again
  • Ctrl+G: Goto $0 (We go at the begining of the file, but the cursor is probably already there)
We will now again select a portion of the file, delete it and then save it:
  • Ctrl+B (Block Mark: we mark this begining of file)
  • Ctrl+G: Goto $28087F (We go to the spot just before the zip, before the "PK")
  • Ctrl+B (Block Mark: we mark this spot, which also selects all there is between the two marks)
  • Ctrl+D (Block Delete: this deletes that selected block, all that portion which is before the zip)
  • File > Save As...: We then save as acronis.zip
The md5 of this zip shoud be 7e37245df5360b693151587b4d921863 for v10.0.2117.

Now go check this zip file: open it, test it, extract it to a folder. This is the stuff to work with. If the zip is corrupted, it's my mistake or yours.

The third part is to modify the content of the zip:
  • You can change the icon image contents without changing file names. I suggest editing the icons icon_sys_os2_16.png, icon_sys_os2_32.png, icon_sys_os2_48.png, if you don't plan installing OS/2 in the future; you could use the ones I posted earlier, or better ones that users might share hereafter;
  • As suggested by domino, you can also change the bootmenu_logo.png to personalize the one you get on the full screen menu;
  • When you're done, zip all these files again. A zip of different size at the end doesn't seem to matter: I've worked with bigger ones, smaller ones in vmware;
  • But it IS important that the zip only contains the rezipped icons, and not the folder where you extracted them in. When you open that zip, you should immediately see all the icons and files, and not the folder they were in;
  • I didn't see any settings for background colors; they might be hardcoded out of the zip. There is a file acrocode.amf in the zip, format unknown (Amiga MetaFile??) which could contain such settings; the header is AMF10. Anyone knows?
.

In this fouth part of the procedure, we need to paste the zip back in at the end of the truncated main file, and test the final product:

In xvi32:
First you open your newly made zip file (let's say you kept the same name).

  • File > Open: open acronis.zip; the cursor should be at the begining, don't touch it.
  • File > Insert: With this we can insert a file at the present cursor location; select the ossmain.beg saved in the first step.
  • If all went well after the above insertion, the first string 50 4B 03 04 ("PK" on right panel) should be shown at address hex 280880 (where your cursor will be positioned after the insert)
  • File > Save As...: we can now save the file as ossmain.exe
  • Put in the appropritate BOOTWIZ folder where you took it out, reboot and cross fingers :blink:
    By default this is in the C:\BOOTWIZ, but if you did a custom install it should be in the BOOTWIZ of your install partition.

I stronlgy suggest you do a test first: you could do all the operations above but without modifying the zip file: with the same extracted zip, reinsert it back in ossmain.beg, and if a bit-by-bit compare (or a md5, sha1 or crc32 check) reveals that ossmain.000 and the new ossmain.exe are the same, then you should be confident that you've done it right.
__________________________

Method 3

Now, what if you don't have Acronis DD version 10.0.2117?

I have verified that at least as far as version 9.0.524, Acronis OS Selector has had the same structure with the zip glued to the end of the ossmain.exe file (and in fact, even v.8.0.915 had a similar structure, but with different names in the zip file). So the following should be good at least for from versions 9.0.524 to 10.0.2117, and let's hope Acronis doesn't change that!

Note here that I'm talking about retail versions of AOSS, not demos.

Here then is a the more general method.

Backup ossmain.exe. Make a copy of it and name it ossmain.000.
In xvi32:

  • Open ossmain.000
  • Ctrl+G: Goto $0 (the begining of the file, unless you're already there)
  • Ctrl+B (Block Mark: we mark the begining of file)
  • Ctrl+F: Find Hex string: 50 4B 03 04 14 00 (spaces are important!)
    (Do check the Hex option, direction down, scope from begin)
    (There are more than one place in the file with this string; only the first one is important.)
  • If it found something, it is the begining of the zip file.
  • Check on the bottom left where it's written "Adr. hex:": note down the number (for 10.0.2117 it is 280880). Let's call this number ZIPADR.
  • Now just step one byte before that spot; i.e. with your mouse just click on the square just left of the "P" of "PK" in the right-most panel. The Hex address on bottom left should be ZIPADR minus one byte (for 10.0.2117 it is 28087F). Let's call this address ZIPADR-1.
  • Ctrl+B (Block Mark: marks this spot)
  • Ctrl+D (Block Delete: we then delete all that's before the zip)
  • File > Save As...: save as test.zip

Now go open that zip, and test it: if it's says its corrupted or any other error message, then the above method won't work (it's a different file structure, or I've screwed up my tutorial, or you misread it).

But if the zip is all right, then I suggest you do the same as the Method 2 for 10.0.2117, except for the following differences in the procedure:
  • replacing $280880 with the ZIPADR you found;
  • replacing $28087F with ZIPADR-1.
  • the end of the file would be at a different address; dismiss my comment.
.
If you have installed (and kept) Acronis Disk Director and you sometimes access Acronis OS Selector from Windows, then note that the executable called isn't the same that we just hacked. The appropriate exe in this case is named OS_Selector.exe and should be located in your install directory (not BOOTWIZ); do a search for it. Make a backup, then it can be treated exactly as above since it also has an appended zip with a slightly different content (less files), and you can again replace the OS/2 icons (or others).

Good luck.

/edit 2006-07-28 : changes to reflect some further tests (method 3 successfull, with v.9+).
/edit 2006-09-18 : in method 3, changed string to search from "50 4B 03 04" to "50 4B 03 04 14 00" for compatibility with v.9.x
/edit 2006-10-14 : updated links, local.
/edit 2007-01-01 : links were not showing at right places.

Edited by cbmkgd, 01 January 2007 - 09:31 PM.


#23
seanbperiod

seanbperiod

    Digg enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 104 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UpstateNY
is there any chance that someone could post the modded file? i dont think it would be considered warez- since you need the full installation to run it..

#24
cbmkgd

cbmkgd

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,243 posts
I you have the right version, ie v.10.0.2117, then I encourage you to try the test: using xvi32, to cut the file in two part, then reassemble them again using the procedure I described. It may seem difficult just looking at the instructions, but it's quite straightforward. If you feel there's some ambiguity in the instructions, ask.

#25
pauℓzurrr.

pauℓzurrr.

    Paul

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 552 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Amsterdam
cbmkgs did the exact same things you sayed but the .zip gives a error that it is corrupt? i there something wrong?

#26
cbmkgd

cbmkgd

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,243 posts
Same version of Acronis Disk Director: v10.0.2117 ?
Same md5 for the original ossmain.exe ?

#27
pauℓzurrr.

pauℓzurrr.

    Paul

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 552 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Amsterdam
I got the same version, but i got a other md5: B0C527A8AA0CE309D3A714FB6C9FA92A

#28
U.C.

U.C.

    The Leopard Roars

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,080 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:God's Green Earth
  • Interests:Everything Apple, Computers, Movies
Yup it doesnt work. Can u pls upload it. Delete a day later, pls, pls. I have a different version. The Zip extracts, files are replaced but Acronis doesnt work.

#29
cbmkgd

cbmkgd

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,243 posts

Yup it doesnt work. Can u pls upload it. Delete a day later, pls, pls. I have a different version. The Zip extracts, files are replaced but Acronis doesnt work.

  • I will assume you did the test of: removing the zip from the ossmain.exe, testing that the zip was not corrupted, then reinserted the zip at the end of the stripped-off ossmain.exe, and then checking that the md5 of the original and manipulated file were the same. That way you're sure you know the instructions are clear and understood (and if not, I'll see what I missed in the instructions and revise them).
  • I assume then that you passed the test successfully, and then tried to modify the files in the zip file by only changing the three icon sets without changing the names; and that you then reinserted the zip as before. Also, it is important that it is not the folder containing the files that is zipped, but all the files inside, without the folder; i.e. when you open the zip, you shouldn't see the folder that you kept them in! I've just added this detail in my procedure to make sure.
  • I also assume that you are testing within vmware just to be on the safe side.
So:
  • I should say that the Acronis OS Selector within vmware is quite slow, and vmware might not totally understand what's going on when it simulates the booting process; I had instances where aoss seemed to freeze, mouse wasn't moving, and also had to go from vmware full screen to not full screen, or vice versa, to see the acronis menu. But if I press Enter, then the virtual win98se (say) is loaded. Or if I rebooted the virtual machine, I could eventually access the menu normally with the mouse.
    So, if acroniss oss doesn't seem to work in vmware, try rebooting the virtual machine until you get the menu.
    This being said, I have tested the changed ossmain.exe on a normal machine, and it goes smoothly, confirming that the above was a vmware issue.
  • If people have different versions, I obviously can't/won't up a file that might not interact well with other components of the version. Another reason is that in future versions/builds, the above method might still work, and the shared file most probably will not.
  • If it still doesn't work then I might have failed to communicate the process adequately, and I'll need you to help me make it more clear.


#30
MacSpaces

MacSpaces

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 152 posts
where do i find the ossman.exe? i already have boot selector installed did a serach cant find it..

#31
cbmkgd

cbmkgd

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,243 posts

where do i find the ossman.exe? i already have boot selector installed did a serach cant find it..

When you installed it, you may have chosen where to install it (if you chose custom). It's on that partition, in the BOOTWIZ folder. It's hidden, so you'll have to tell windows explorer to show hidden folders.
If you chose typical install, it's probably in your main system's partition (C:\).
In any case, it's in a hidden BOOTWIZ folder.

#32
U.C.

U.C.

    The Leopard Roars

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,080 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:God's Green Earth
  • Interests:Everything Apple, Computers, Movies
1) I am not retarded. I did the procedure properly, pasted it at the right address. But my Version is diff than yours, so i searched for the hex string you gave. Now instead of only finding 1 instance, it found like 20. So i took the first instance

2) I extracted the file, it turned out to be 1.55 Mb ZIP. Then I replaced the OS2 Icons with the Apple Logo. WinRAR replaced em, succesfully. Put it back.

3) Joined together, Saved it using HexEdit.

4) Acronis Doesnt work. I just pressed F6 to go into XP and restored the backup.

5) So can you pls, upload it on yousendit.com and PM me the link.

6) Anyway thanks for the great guide. Ill try to get the new version of Acronis DD too

#33
cbmkgd

cbmkgd

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,243 posts

1) I am not retarded. I did the procedure properly, pasted it at the right address. But my Version is diff than yours, so i searched for the hex string you gave. Now instead of only finding 1 instance, it found like 20. So i took the first instance.

Sorry if my reply sounded as if you were a newb, but I had to take the occasion to underline some points for other people to read also, so had to be as precise as I could be.

And yes, there are many other instances of 50 4B 03 04 in the ossmain.exe and the first one is the one to take, as state earlier in my post #11. I'll add this detail in the procedure in case of, thanks to underline this.

NOTE: I made a studip typo in the second part (alternate part) of the tuto, where I had written 50 4B 03 03 instead of the correct 50 4B 03 04. Since the former isn't to be found in the ossmain (at least not in mine), at least that's not the problem. I made the correction.

Curious as to why it doesn't work in a previous version: is it because they did a crc check then? or maybe they had many zips instead of a big one? So maybe I got lucky with this particular version (10.0.2117).

See your PM for an additional info (not an upload).

#34
U.C.

U.C.

    The Leopard Roars

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,080 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:God's Green Earth
  • Interests:Everything Apple, Computers, Movies
Ill dl 10.0.2117 and tell u peeps.

#35
U.C.

U.C.

    The Leopard Roars

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,080 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:God's Green Earth
  • Interests:Everything Apple, Computers, Movies
Here's the link for modified ossmain.exe. Put it in your C:\BOOTWIZ. Now select another icon for OSX, you should see it.

http://www.filefactory.com/?d2ec82
http://rapidshare.de...ssmain.zip.html

Anyway, here's what I did
1) Went to demonoid/isohunt
2) Searched for Acronis
3) DL'ed this torrent : Acronis Disk Director Suite 10.0.0.2117
DEMO dont work, so dont bother
4) Followed 'cbmkgd's guide to the dot (My md5 checked out)
5) Wheee, it works


EDIT: Forgot to add, the OSX icons are by 'cbmkgd'

#36
cbmkgd

cbmkgd

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,243 posts
Glad it worked for you.

A couple more tweaks:
.
  • As suggested by domino, you can also change the bootmenu_logo.png to personalize the one you get on the full screen menu;
.
  • If you have many OSes installed but you don't like the order in which they appear on the boot menu, you can't change it from the menu itself, and although on the Acronis help forum they said it wasn't possible, there is a way: you have to edit the bootwiz.oss file -- a text editor that support UTF-8 encoding will do (eg notepad in windows, as long as you keep utf-8 encoding -- otherwise didn't test consequences). It's an XML file, and you have to look into the section between the <oses> and </oses> tags. There you'll find booting partitions in the order they appear on the menu. A booting partition is identified by its id: <id123454321.....> ... </id123454321> (your id's will be different from this), with some lines between the two tags. Once you identify your OSes, you just have to put them in the order you want. I've tried it with one on the list and it worked for me.

    For example, if your OSX's id is id222333444, which you want as the first logo but is presently at the end of the booting list, then move all the lines (5 in all) beginning with <id222333444...> and ending with </id222333444> to the begining of the list, just after the (first) <oses> tag. And so on, as you desire. Just in case, make a backup of your original bootwiz.oss.

    I guess Acronis didn't want to give such sensitive editing moves as instructions, and they might implement a GUI-based method in the menu itself to order the icons to one's desires transparently.
.
Enjoy.

#37
pauℓzurrr.

pauℓzurrr.

    Paul

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 552 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Amsterdam
Unstable Connection could you please upload the file to rapidshare or files.to because filefactory sux, every time i download i got corrupt rars

#38
Tizzy

Tizzy

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
corrupted here also

#39
Rammjet

Rammjet

    InsanelyMac V.I.P.

  • Gurus
  • 5,302 posts
  • Gender:Male
ditto

#40
cbmkgd

cbmkgd

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,243 posts
I just added in the tutorial a precision about the exact version on which the procedure is working.
I also reworded some parts, added some remarks, tried to make it more understandable, and maybe less daunting for those who are not used to working with hex editors.

A remark: trying to use UC's upload on a different version is risky.
Try installing the right version before using it.
Or install it, then follow the instructions; UC confirmed it was a working procedure.

Good luck.

Edited by cbmkgd, 23 June 2006 - 03:51 PM.






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy