my leopard install on my TC4400

robust

26 posts in this topic

i'm trying to learn this. i've learned some while trying to install leopard on my hp tc4400. i have never tried this before, leopard or tiger. so new to os x86.

anyway, im using the toh rc2 install, and i got it to install after a few tries and it boots. but then, if i dont put any flags in via f8, it will show the grey apple screen and then bring up the kernel panic message.

if i use the -legacy flag, it will go further, it will start to load then show the purpleish animation and will do a kernel panic when that is finished.

i dont know what else to try. i was going off of the guide http://osx86.thefreesuite.com/leo_intel.php and then searched around and found the legacy flag. the guy who wrote that tutorial says to disable speedstep in the bios but i cant find that anywhere.

the safe mode flag, -x, doesnt seem to do anything and the cpus=1 doesnt seem to do anything either.

im off to sleep now, 3:30am, but hopefully one of you experienced guys can help. thanks.

ok, sweeet. got it to run, have to put in verbose flag and x86pc platform, and single core since i have a core 2 duo.

anyway! cool.

but, sound, lan, wireless dont work. i think 3945 intel wireless is a problem but it seems like people report success for their LAN, i have a broadcom 5751 (14e4 16fd) and people have reported success. but mine seems to work with the kext i installed but there's no MAC (00:00...) and i cant set the address because it says 'network is down', not sure what i have to do to give it a mac.

what do you think?

ok, sweeet. got it to run, have to put in verbose flag and x86pc platform, and single core since i have a core 2 duo.

anyway! cool.