Jump to content

New AGPGart


  • Please log in to reply
940 replies to this topic

#61
javier moro

javier moro

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
Hi, I've tried to use your AGPGart.kext (last version) with Leopard.
I get the usual black screen with the mouse.
When I boot -s, I can see the following messge:

AGP: Not supported 257b
AGP: Not supported 244e
AGP: Found Intel 82875P host to AGP bridge
 AGPgart: start
AGPgart: BridgeMemoryRange[f0000000, f2ffffff]

and then it freezes...

I hope this information can be usefull

I'm using an GeForce 7600GT 256Mb AGP
My mainboard is an ABIT IC7-G
My CPU is a P4 Presscot 3GHz

#62
zarac

zarac

    InsanelyMac Zaphod

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 314 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Zagreb, Croatia
  • Interests:film/video editing and post-production
i tried all versions of AGPGart and all combinations with your edited Natit, but no go.
the same thing happens both in tiger and in leopard - black screen with two mouse pointers (only one when i try AGPGart64 in leo).

is there a way of getting an ioreg if it doesn't boot? (can i put it in the startup sequence somewhere?)

slice, what should i send you to help?

#63
thorne

thorne

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 25 posts

Once again.
No AGP video work in MACOSX86 because of all video drivers Radeon and nVidia works as PCI. :)

Nontheless I have a hope ;)

EDITED: I am wrong! It works but many related problems.


So - are the problems fixable? Will the mobility 9600 (4e50) ever work in full AGP acceleration mode? Can I send you any log files to help?

#64
Aivarz

Aivarz

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 44 posts

Итого: с AGP полная Ж


:)

#65
Slice

Slice

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Local Moderators
  • 3,067 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Moscow

Hi, I've tried to use your AGPGart.kext (last version) with Leopard.I get the usual black screen with the mouse.When I boot -s, I can see the following messge:I'm using an GeForce 7600GT 256Mb AGPMy mainboard is an ABIT IC7-G My CPU is a P4 Presscot 3GHz

As you first time reporting, try the follow.
Install AGPGart64. Repair permissions
boot with -s -v
/sbin/fsck -fy
/sbin/mount -uw
/sh /etc/rc
wait for stop messages and type Ctrl-c then
ioreg -l -x -w 2048 >ioregJavier.txt
dmesg >dmesgJavier.txt
rm -r -v /S*/L*/E*/AGP*
reboot
And send me the files zipped.
You saw "not supported" - it is not a problem, it is other devices needed no agpdriver.

i tried all versions of AGPGart and all combinations with your edited Natit, but no go.the same thing happens both in tiger and in leopard - black screen with two mouse pointers (only one when i try AGPGart64 in leo).is there a way of getting an ioreg if it doesn't boot? (can i put it in the startup sequence somewhere?)slice, what should i send you to help?

I already have your ioreg. I must explain. ioreg is an information about your hardware configuration. I need it once from every user who want to have working driver. You have quite strange buses configuration 4 CPU-to-PCI bridges and 6 VIA bridges so why the existing versions is not work even in tiger. I need a time to rewrite an AGPGart specially for you. Wait please

So - are the problems fixable? Will the mobility 9600 (4e50) ever work in full AGP acceleration mode? Can I send you any log files to help?

Send me ioreg and dmesg as in previous post.

:)

Подтверждаю

NEXT

#66
thorne

thorne

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 25 posts

Send me ioreg and dmesg as in previous post.


Here are some logs:

Boot with Original AGPGart with Callisto (b.003) (and without Callisto)
Attached File  OriginalAGPGart.zip   69.63KB   57 downloads

Boot with your AGPGart (2.4.6) and Callisto (b.003) (and withouth Callisto)
Attached File  SliceAGPGart246.zip   169.08KB   70 downloads

#67
kramer2k

kramer2k

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 373 posts
sorry slice im currently away from home right now. I will report more when I am back home next week

#68
Slice

Slice

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Local Moderators
  • 3,067 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Moscow

Here are some logs:

Thank you for details. It is very interesting for me to work with you as you have the same AGP bus as my.
I think I can get from you many useful informations for us.
Wait 2 days please. I prepare test version of AGPGart to investigate what is happen. I think with your tests we would be successful.
I have strange problem. The success of my Radeon depends on rain at the street. That means there is some uninitialized variable in the RS300 chip. Can you search some technical information about this chip? Or good working Linux driver?

#69
Slice

Slice

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Local Moderators
  • 3,067 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Moscow
For those who have Intel845. I found an mistake
Existing driver

/*
* Config offsets for Intel i820/i840/i845/i850/i860/i865 AGP chipsets.
*/
#define AGP_INTEL_MCHCFG 0x50
#define AGP_INTEL_I820_RDCR 0x51
#define AGP_INTEL_I845_MCHCFG 0x51
#define AGP_INTEL_I8XX_ERRSTS 0xc8

Intel documentations

3550h Intel Reserved
51h AGPM AGP Miscellaneous Configuration 00h R/W
..........................
C6C7h GMCHCFG GMCH/MCH Configuration 0C01h RWO, RO,
R/W
C8C9h ERRSTS Error Status 0000h R/WC
CACBh ERRCMD Error Command 0000h RO, R/W


Now I collect all mistakes to make new version for all.Don't hurry! Wait please :thumbsdown_anim:

#70
Common Sense

Common Sense

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 226 posts
Thanks for your efforts Slice its really appreciated! I have a VIA K8T800 Pro controller and it doesnt seem to show up at all during boot so the AGPGart probably doesnt detect my AGP controller and thus never initializes it. Im inserting a link to my IOReg dump and hopefully you can make out some information from it :wacko:

http://www.dtek.chal...eddie/ioreg.zip

#71
Slice

Slice

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Local Moderators
  • 3,067 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Moscow
Let us continue testing!
I correct a set of tiny mistakes and need informations how it works.
If you can successfully boot report about speed with and without AGPGart.
If you can't boot with AGPGart do the follows:
I want you temporary disable all extensions with large output such as
sound driver, Natit, ATIinject, APCIThrottle and so on
boot as -v -s
/sbin/fsck -fy
/sbin/mount -uw /
sh /etc/rc

wait and press ctrl-c
dmesg >dmesgNICK.txt
rm -r -v /S*/L*/E*/AGP*
reboot

And send me that dmesg. It must contain new information about your hardware.
The problems are still unresolved:
1. I dunno Leo
2. I can't fight yet with gart-width=64. May be this test show how.
3. With my Radeon9000 I have scroll issue. Who else?


NEXT

#72
kramer2k

kramer2k

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 373 posts
So with leo 10.5.1, I can't boot and stay in single user mode (sh /etc/rc) I'm not sure how else to do it...

But it DOES give me an additional error line...
Gart 32 bit Only

Same exact thing on tiger 4.11, and it can't boot using sh /etc/rc
It hangs at same thing...

AGP: Gart 32 Bit Only
AGP: hammerbus DevID=1100 VenID=1002
AGP: hammerbus DevID=1101 VenID=1002
AGP: hammerbus DevID=1102 VenID=1002
AGP: hammerbus DevID=1103 VenID=1002
AGP: hammerbus DevID=ffff VenID=ffff
AGP: hammerbus DevID=ffff VenID=ffff
AGP: hammerbus DevID=ffff VenID=ffff

#73
verleihnix

verleihnix

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 174 posts
  • Gender:Male
Hi,
I have two boxes.
Both boots into GUI without Natit.

Attached Files



#74
Aivarz

Aivarz

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 44 posts
Tiger 10.4.11 hangs on blue screen with 247. Leopard 10.5.1 stops @ black screen with mouse cursor. I can move cursor and system is running in the background, screen saver starts (still black screen), but exits after few seconds. I don't know how to start Leopard in single user, /etc/rc is gone, so dmesg is from Tiger. Sorry, I was too lazy to remove any kexts.

Attached File  dmesgAivarz.txt   3.74KB   11 downloads

#75
cyclonefr

cyclonefr

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,751 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Paris, France
there u go my friend slice
CI/QE as usual exact same xbench result

Attached Files



#76
thorne

thorne

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 25 posts

Let us continue testing!


Hey Slice,

It hangs at the same spot for me even using sh /etc/rc (control-c won't break out).

Dec 3 10:51:05 kextd[49]: a link/load error occured for kernel extension /SystemLibrary/Extensions/ATIRadeon.kext/Contents/MacOS/ATIRadeon
Dec 3 10:51:05 kextd[49]: a link/load error occured for kernel extension /System/Library/Extensions/ATIRadeon.kext
VGA: familiy specific matching fails
VGA: familiy specific matching fails
AGP: GART is 32 bit only
AGP: Found an AGP 3.0 compliant device.
AGPATI configure init length 08000000
AGPATI: chipset is RS300
AGPATI: map mmio e8000000 to @2b2f1000
AGPATI: aperLength = 02000000 VRAM=00010000 MEM_CFG=08000000
AGPATI: apertrure [f0000000, 02000000]


#77
Slice

Slice

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Local Moderators
  • 3,067 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Moscow

So with leo 10.5.1, I can't boot and stay in single user mode (sh /etc/rc) I'm not sure how else to do it...

But it DOES give me an additional error line...
Gart 32 bit Only

It means you don't need AGPGart64 as all others here.

Same exact thing on tiger 4.11, and it can't boot using sh /etc/rc

This command will not boot. You may boot after the command by typing exit

It hangs at same thing...

AGP: Gart 32 Bit Only
AGP: hammerbus DevID=1100 VenID=1002
AGP: hammerbus DevID=1101 VenID=1002
AGP: hammerbus DevID=1102 VenID=1002
AGP: hammerbus DevID=1103 VenID=1002
AGP: hammerbus DevID=ffff VenID=ffff
AGP: hammerbus DevID=ffff VenID=ffff
AGP: hammerbus DevID=ffff VenID=ffff

This is OK! So I didn't find a mistake for you except previously find
gart-width=0x40 from your ioreg.
Where is your PCI bus trace?


Hey Slice,

It hangs at the same spot for me even using sh /etc/rc (control-c won't break out).

Dec 3 10:51:05 kextd[49]: a link/load error occured for kernel extension /SystemLibrary/Extensions/ATIRadeon.kext/Contents/MacOS/ATIRadeon
Dec 3 10:51:05 kextd[49]: a link/load error occured for kernel extension /System/Library/Extensions/ATIRadeon.kext

This is not a driver for you. You need ATIRadeon9700.kext as you have DevID=0x4e50

Hi,
I have two boxes.
Both boots into GUI without Natit.

And what?

Sorry, I was too lazy to remove any kexts.

:)

EDITED: Sorry, I am wrong

2 CycloneFR
This is a new chance to correct a driver.
It would be better you zip large files to upload.
Wait!

#78
verleihnix

verleihnix

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 174 posts
  • Gender:Male
Without Natit it has no qe and ci.
With Natit it stops booting with a black screen.

#79
Slice

Slice

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Local Moderators
  • 3,067 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Moscow
I tryied to correct intel part of the driver. Test and send me part of dmesg with PCI tracing

Who has nVidia try another natit
http://forum.insanel...t...st&id=17856

#80
Aivarz

Aivarz

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 44 posts

Who has nVidia try another natit
http://forum.insanel...t...st&id=17856


With this Natit and 247i Tiger hangs on blue screen. Leopard stops at black screen but mouse cursor turns into "spinning beachball of death". With my old Natit Leopard as usual stops at black screen and system is running in the background. Also system log in Leopard shows aditional errors.

Attached File  dmesgAivarz_Tiger.txt   2.05KB   5 downloads
Attached File  dmesgAivarz_Leopard.txt   4.32KB   6 downloads





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy