Jump to content

ATi Mobility Radeon x1700


  • Please log in to reply
808 replies to this topic

#781
city10001

city10001

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 112 posts
Cool QE working. Thank you :D


working with

1) ATISupport.kext for 10.6.4 71de
2) ATIinject.kext (from permission x1700.zip )
3) ATINDRV.kext (from permission x1700.zip )
4) ATIRadeonX1000.kext (from first post)

And this files for my asus f3se (ati x1700 128 mb)

permission 1280x800 with QE (Snow Leopard 10.6.4)

Attached Files



#782
The Vietnamese love Mac

The Vietnamese love Mac

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 21 posts
  • Location:HANOI-VIETNAM
Hi Righteye,

Mine is Asus V1JP. The kexts I used:

1) ATISupport.kext for 10.6.4 71d5
2) ATIinject.kext (for Asus V1JP)
3) ATINDRV.kext
4) ATIRadeonX1000.kext
5) ATIFramebuffer.kext

I used Chameleon RC3 to boot.

I upgraded to 10.6.4, followed your guide and got the right resolution back (1680x1050) but recently I had the problem again (resolution went back to 1024x768). I notice the problem happens after:

1. I update to Chameleon to RC4
or
2. I run Disk Utility from USB Snow Leopard to restore partition image (it verifies and repairs the mac partition, reports errors and fixes it)

I have run the process again (using Kext Helper to install the kexts, Kext Utility to register the kexts) but the resolution never changes to 1680x1050.

Have you got any idea about this problem?

Thanks,

#783
dorkakutya

dorkakutya

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
Im on 10.6.4too after updated chameleon to rc4 couldnt get my ati kext work... Same problem...
Just install rc3 and everything will be fine!
At least with rc3 i got dual mmonitor 1200x800 1680x1050

Hi Righteye,

Mine is Asus V1JP. The kexts I used:

1) ATISupport.kext for 10.6.4 71d5
2) ATIinject.kext (for Asus V1JP)
3) ATINDRV.kext
4) ATIRadeonX1000.kext
5) ATIFramebuffer.kext

I used Chameleon RC3 to boot.

I upgraded to 10.6.4, followed your guide and got the right resolution back (1680x1050) but recently I had the problem again (resolution went back to 1024x768). I notice the problem happens after:

1. I update to Chameleon to RC4
or
2. I run Disk Utility from USB Snow Leopard to restore partition image (it verifies and repairs the mac partition, reports errors and fix it)

I have run the process again (using Kext Helper to install the kexts, Kext Utility to register the kexts) but the resolution is never change to 1680x1050.

Have you got any idea about this problem?

Thanks,



#784
The Vietnamese love Mac

The Vietnamese love Mac

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 21 posts
  • Location:HANOI-VIETNAM

Im on 10.6.4too after updated chameleon to rc4 couldnt get my ati kext work... Same problem...
Just install rc3 and everything will be fine!
At least with rc3 i got dual mmonitor 1200x800 1680x1050


Thanks a bunch, dorkakutya. Having followed your instruction, it works like a charm again. You 5 star!

But anyway, does anyone know why it does not work with right resolution in Chameleon RC4? My guess is Chameleon RC4 sets everything for 64bit but ATINDRV.kext in a 32bit one. Is there a problem of compatibility here?

#785
dorkakutya

dorkakutya

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts

Thanks a bunch, dorkakutya. Having followed your instruction, it works like a charm again. You 5 star!

But anyway, does anyone know why it does not work with right resolution in Chameleon RC4? My guess is Chameleon RC4 sets everything for 64bit but ATINDRV.kext in a 32bit one. Is there a problem of compatibility here?



from chameleons site:

Chameleon 2.0-RC4 is out!

Home » Articles » Chameleon 2.0-RC4 is out!
Article is filed in
Posted 10. December 2009


We’re back again with this new RC4 version. Since the last RC3 release, we received many patches and fixes, and also backported some important features like ATI graphics device injection, EFI64 tables and PCI root configuration. Also added a new boot option for hiding unwanted foreign partitions from the boot menu.

-------------

i think something is messed up with ati...
(i got rc5 :thumbsup_anim: didnt tried yet, and its not public :D )

#786
The Vietnamese love Mac

The Vietnamese love Mac

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 21 posts
  • Location:HANOI-VIETNAM

from chameleons site:

We’re back again with this new RC4 version. Since the last RC3 release, we received many patches and fixes, and also backported some important features like ATI graphics device injection, EFI64 tables and PCI root configuration. Also added a new boot option for hiding unwanted foreign partitions from the boot menu.

-------------
i think something is messed up with ati...
(i got rc5 ;) didnt tried yet, and its not public ;) )


Well, in the end I have found the solution to this problem.

You are right that something is messed up here. Thanks to a good fellow at here, the mess seems to be sorted out.

So what to do:

1. Just install any Chameleon RC4/RC5 (pre8, 9 or 11...)
2. Replace the "boot" file (usually in the root folder) with this one made by our good fella
3. Customize the resolution which is right for the screen by either:
+ Add the following lines to Snow/Extra/com.apple.Boot.plist:

<key>Graphics Mode</key>
<string>1680x1050x32</string>
(mine is 1680x1050 - change this to the right resolution of your screen)

+ or change to the right the resolution from Chameleon in the System Preferences if your Chameleon installation has that option.

That's it. Reboot and have your right resolution!

I have tested with both the cooked Snow Leopard by Hazard and the Apple Retail Snow Leopard (10.6 and 10.6.4), and this method works just fine.

Another good thing is there is no need to add any additional kexts (ATIInject.kext, ATISupport.kext, ATINDRV.kex, ATIRadeonX1000.kext...) to the Extension.

#787
AniQ

AniQ

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
It works! But? how to enable QE/CL?
Update! ATIFramebuffer.kext was wrong.

#788
downlord

downlord

    InsanelyMac Greek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 143 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lisboa
Ok, i succeeded! :( ;) :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :D

3 days of brainwash and I managed to have full working 10.6.4 and 10.5.8 retail installations working on Thinkpad T60p 8741-A12 (just to be precise) with a PITA v5250 mobility fireGL card (71d4).

Thank for the hard work of everybody here!

My goal was to achieve full CI/QE (as anybody) and Full display mirroring/extension, resolution change, 1680x1050 on internal 1280x1024 o external.

Tried really EVERYTHING (EDID to dev-id, modified chameleon boot, RadeonHD) with different but not 100% good results.
The solution was Finetuned Atinject.kext (we have the same EDIDs), modded ATIRadeonX1000.kext, and rest vanilla drivers, both on 10.5.8 and 10.6.4 systems.

Later I will post my kexts for others like me spending sleepless nights inventing unsuccessful strategies getting things to work.

But till now I didn't succeed of using Snow ATIFramebuffer.kext and ATISupport.kext (disabled by .noload) and having working brightness control (only left half of screen dims correctly).

Any ideas?

Attached Files



#789
downlord

downlord

    InsanelyMac Greek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 143 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lisboa

Ok, i succeeded! ;) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :D

3 days of brainwash and I managed to have full working 10.6.4 and 10.5.8 retail installations working on Thinkpad T60p 8741-A12 (just to be precise) with a PITA v5250 mobility fireGL card (71d4).

Thank for the hard work of everybody here!

My goal was to achieve full CI/QE (as anybody) and Full display mirroring/extension, resolution change, 1680x1050 on internal 1280x1024 o external.

Tried really EVERYTHING (EDID to dev-id, modified chameleon boot, RadeonHD) with different but not 100% good results.
The solution was Finetuned Atinject.kext (we have the same EDIDs), modded ATIRadeonX1000.kext, and rest vanilla drivers, both on 10.5.8 and 10.6.4 systems.

Later I will post my kexts for others like me spending sleepless nights inventing unsuccessful strategies getting things to work.

But till now I didn't succeed of using Snow ATIFramebuffer.kext and ATISupport.kext (disabled by .noload) and having working brightness control (only left half of screen dims correctly).

Any ideas?


EDIT: Had to delete ATIFramebuffer + ATISupport, they're were loading normally along with the other kexts.
Now my new problem is: screens are randomly not recognised, both will stay dark.
THen I have to reboot ignoring caches.

MMMM. Something is escaping my knowledge.

Has actually somebody managed to get 10.6.4 + Graphics Update to work on v5250 with Snow framebuffers?
Or can I safely use the 10.6.4 patched ATIFramebuffer version from first post, modifying just ATIRadeonX1000.kext and ATISUpport.kext?

ATIinject with Finetuned EDID's is working here, EVOEnabler not.

Thanks for some advice.

#790
righteye

righteye

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 346 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Romania

EDIT: Had to delete ATIFramebuffer + ATISupport, they're were loading normally along with the other kexts.
Now my new problem is: screens are randomly not recognised, both will stay dark.
THen I have to reboot ignoring caches.

MMMM. Something is escaping my knowledge.

Has actually somebody managed to get 10.6.4 + Graphics Update to work on v5250 with Snow framebuffers?
Or can I safely use the 10.6.4 patched ATIFramebuffer version from first post, modifying just ATIRadeonX1000.kext and ATISUpport.kext?

ATIinject with Finetuned EDID's is working here, EVOEnabler not.

Thanks for some advice.

In order to patch after this update, you have to replace also the other files related to video from 10.6.4 fresh.
what Graphics Update does: replaces all the files and are different versions, so those previous patched had to be patched again.
Your device id is 71de or 71d5 ?
I'll try to patch the newest files and upload them here.

#791
downlord

downlord

    InsanelyMac Greek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 143 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lisboa

In order to patch after this update, you have to replace also the other files related to video from 10.6.4 fresh.
what Graphics Update does: replaces all the files and are different versions, so those previous patched had to be patched again.
Your device id is 71de or 71d5 ?
I'll try to patch the newest files and upload them here.


Great, will try them right away.
My dev id is actually 71d4, and it's working w/ EFI string and 10.5.8 ATINDRV.
But all attempts wit 10.6.4 files gave me no resolution change at all. Wil try w/ new patched Framebuffer + ATISupport (after having inserted my dev id).

For curiosity: ATI1600Controller is it somewhere related/loaded/used for x1700 series? Is it still necessary to remove it?

#792
downlord

downlord

    InsanelyMac Greek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 143 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lisboa
Update: still not working.

@righteye

So i have 10.6.4 GU files (file versions are all the same), EFI String or ATIInject for my card:

Used Kextsat:

Modded ATIRadeonX1000.kext (with my dev-id) Loaded and working CI/QE
Modded ATISupport.kext Loaded
Your new (10.6.4 GU) ATIFramebuffer.kext Loaded

All the rest untouched.

I have:
Fixed res 1400x1050 (ATIInject with EDID or EFI string) and no res changing ability
Working CI/QE
Artifacts and poor graphic performance.

Something is wrong, probably with my EFI string and ATIINject (different builds)

Makes this any sense? With 10.5.8 ATINDRV all is working with this config.
I attach a copy of my ioreg. Maybe it sheds some light

Thanks for any help.

Edit: tried also with amana's v5250 atiinject from first page, with my EDID:

the ATIFramebuffer.kext isn't there in kextstat.
Stuck at 1400x1050 res, QE/CI is working.

my EDID

00FFFFFF FFFFFF00 244D8728 00000000 000F0103 80211578 0ACD7591 554F8B26 21505400 00000101 01010101 01010101 01010101 0101A82F 90E0601A 10402040 13004BCF 10000019 B72790E0 601A1040 20401300 4BCF1000 00190000 000F00B3 0A32B30A 28140100 4CA35833 000000FE 004C544E 31353450 322D4C30 350A00A7

Maybe Righteye you have some idea what's going on.

greetings

Attached Files



#793
righteye

righteye

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 346 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Romania

Update: still not working.

@righteye

So i have 10.6.4 GU files (file versions are all the same), EFI String or ATIInject for my card:

Used Kextsat:

Modded ATIRadeonX1000.kext (with my dev-id) Loaded and working CI/QE
Modded ATISupport.kext Loaded
Your new (10.6.4 GU) ATIFramebuffer.kext Loaded

All the rest untouched.

I have:
Fixed res 1400x1050 (ATIInject with EDID or EFI string) and no res changing ability
Working CI/QE
Artifacts and poor graphic performance.

Something is wrong, probably with my EFI string and ATIINject (different builds)

Makes this any sense? With 10.5.8 ATINDRV all is working with this config.
I attach a copy of my ioreg. Maybe it sheds some light

Thanks for any help.

Edit: tried also with amana's v5250 atiinject from first page, with my EDID:

the ATIFramebuffer.kext isn't there in kextstat.
Stuck at 1400x1050 res, QE/CI is working.

my EDID

00FFFFFF FFFFFF00 244D8728 00000000 000F0103 80211578 0ACD7591 554F8B26 21505400 00000101 01010101 01010101 01010101 0101A82F 90E0601A 10402040 13004BCF 10000019 B72790E0 601A1040 20401300 4BCF1000 00190000 000F00B3 0A32B30A 28140100 4CA35833 000000FE 004C544E 31353450 322D4C30 350A00A7

Maybe Righteye you have some idea what's going on.

greetings

The Device ID for you is 71d4 so you tried the wrong files ...
Anyway, hope this files will help you. Also remember that ATINDRV is only 32 bit so you have to boot with arch=i386 to have loaded the 32 bit extensions.
The EDID is diferent than the ones i have but if you get it from windows than possible to be correct.
Repair permissions and rebuild the kextcache. Attached File  downlord_1064GU_vid.zip   640.34KB   25 downloads Let me know what is new about ...
Cheers

#794
downlord

downlord

    InsanelyMac Greek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 143 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lisboa

The Device ID for you is 71d4 so you tried the wrong files ...
Anyway, hope this files will help you. Also remember that ATINDRV is only 32 bit so you have to boot with arch=i386 to have loaded the 32 bit extensions.
The EDID is diferent than the ones i have but if you get it from windows than possible to be correct.
Repair permissions and rebuild the kextcache. Attached File  downlord_1064GU_vid.zip   640.34KB   25 downloads Let me know what is new about ...
Cheers


Hi Righteye, thanks a lot mate, great your effort to help us out.

I tried your new files and still no resolution change. It's something with the framebuffer I suppose, I think it's not activated the right way.

I was using ATIinject + ATINDRV from my 10.5.8 installation, all in 32Bit and it was working well.
I was using also a modded ATIRadeonX1000.kext from 10.6.4, loaded properly and QE/CI working.

Then I made an EFI string from ATIInject for my card: Working.

Then I wanted to go more vanilla and tried the 10.6.4 GU kexts.
With ATIINject and EFI string I've got

ATISupport loaded
ATIFramebuffer loaded
ATIRadeonX1000 loaded (working QE/CI)

But no res change at all: fixed screen 1024x768 with artifacts

Same with your files, no resolution change possible. (Tried also with the ATIInject for v5250 you've made for amana - same result)

Tried also GraphicsEnabler=no from chameleon, modded chameleon boot file,,, short every "solution" floating around.

Next steps: roll back to Chameleon RC3 (some reported graphic bugs with RC5)
Making EVOEnabler for v5250 based on ATIInject

BTW: I learned that plists are cASeSenSITIve, so writing 71D4 or 71d4 isn't the same thing.

Some ideas?

Cheers

#795
Sh0n24'

Sh0n24'

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
Hi all !

I have a 10.6.3 installation of OSX on my Asus G2P with X1700 graphic card (id 71D5).
But i have a problem because que kext on first post doesn't work for me !

Somebody can tell me the exact way to install this ?
other files are necessary ? (expect AtiRadeonX1000.kext and AtiSupport.kext)

thanks for your help (and sorry for my english but i'm french :thumbsup_anim: )

#796
righteye

righteye

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 346 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Romania

Hi all !

I have a 10.6.3 installation of OSX on my Asus G2P with X1700 graphic card (id 71D5).
But i have a problem because que kext on first post doesn't work for me !

Somebody can tell me the exact way to install this ?
other files are necessary ? (expect AtiRadeonX1000.kext and AtiSupport.kext)

thanks for your help (and sorry for my english but i'm french :) )

No problem with your English ...
On first page we started from beginning so for you might be hard to understand, but no problem.
You need this files:
1. for 10.6.3 from 10.6.3 patched files
2. the injector (if EDID is the same as on mine)
3. the ATINDRV from 10.5.6
Use KextHelper to install the files; boot with -f arch=i386
Cheers

Hi Righteye, thanks a lot mate, great your effort to help us out.

I tried your new files and still no resolution change. It's something with the framebuffer I suppose, I think it's not activated the right way.

I was using ATIinject + ATINDRV from my 10.5.8 installation, all in 32Bit and it was working well.
I was using also a modded ATIRadeonX1000.kext from 10.6.4, loaded properly and QE/CI working.

Then I made an EFI string from ATIInject for my card: Working.

Then I wanted to go more vanilla and tried the 10.6.4 GU kexts.
With ATIINject and EFI string I've got

ATISupport loaded
ATIFramebuffer loaded
ATIRadeonX1000 loaded (working QE/CI)

But no res change at all: fixed screen 1024x768 with artifacts

Same with your files, no resolution change possible. (Tried also with the ATIInject for v5250 you've made for amana - same result)

Tried also GraphicsEnabler=no from chameleon, modded chameleon boot file,,, short every "solution" floating around.

Next steps: roll back to Chameleon RC3 (some reported graphic bugs with RC5)
Making EVOEnabler for v5250 based on ATIInject

BTW: I learned that plists are cASeSenSITIve, so writing 71D4 or 71d4 isn't the same thing.

Some ideas?

Cheers

ok ... i think that first time i understood that you cant make it work, now i understand that resolution is just one and you did all the solutions floating around ... but ... are you sure that all the files are same version, less the atiinject and atindrv; also you tried "Graphics Mode=1680x1050x32@60" for example in com.apple.Boot.plist?
i remember long time ago having some splinted screen because of the difference between files, and that was the result of not installing back the original files.
also, i learned to do one modification at a time so i can trace what is working and what not.
give a try to dong's radeonHD kext, there isa link in my first post.
i'll think more about your issue ... possible a simple line in atiinject that is not good ... or a letter in the EDID.

#797
downlord

downlord

    InsanelyMac Greek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 143 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lisboa

ok ... i think that first time i understood that you cant make it work, now i understand that resolution is just one and you did all the solutions floating around ... but ... are you sure that all the files are same version, less the atiinject and atindrv; also you tried "Graphics Mode=1680x1050x32@60" for example in com.apple.Boot.plist?
i remember long time ago having some splinted screen because of the difference between files, and that was the result of not installing back the original files.
also, i learned to do one modification at a time so i can trace what is working and what not.
give a try to dong's radeonHD kext, there isa link in my first post.
i'll think more about your issue ... possible a simple line in atiinject that is not good ... or a letter in the EDID.


Hi Righteye,

many thanks for the assistance.
Yes, I've tried almost all solutions around for 10.6, always keeping an eye on file versions, EDID's etc... trying to keep all organized. But mistakes are the easyest thing to make so I have to insist.

I have a perfect 10.5.8 system (the one I'm working on), external monitor working in mirrored mode (almost perfect), resolution change and QE/CI. I'm using ATIInject (now transformed to an EFI string) patched ATINDRV and ATIradeonX1000.

In 10.6.4 GU I have fixed resolution, but QE/CI working. I've tried with and without ATI1600Controller, patched and unpatched.
I suspect ATINject and my EFI string, working 100% with atindrv but strange with ATIFramebuffer.
Also your patched files didn't help.

But, as I said, I need some time for a more organized approach.
By now from Silencer's and Plasticman from thinkapd forum I discovered that EDID in EFI String isn't always necessary.
Have to go back to study the principles of grafic injection from netkas site.

Cheers

#798
righteye

righteye

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 346 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Romania
For m4t7e0
As i can tell the x1650 with DevID 71C5 is supported by default in ATIRadeonX1000.kext, so you need only this RadeonHD made by dong to be modified with your EDID. I did it so here you go:
Attached File  m4t7e0_RadeonHD.kext.zip   195.97KB   36 downloads
Hope it helps!

#799
caravela

caravela

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
i got an asus f3jp x1700 id 71d5, the lcd inverter is broken and i can only work with an external monitor.

i have instaled Hazard and updated it to 10.6.4, mandatory update since i instaled xcode and ios 4 SDK.

The Graphics card works, at least system profiler doesn't say no kext loaded, and grab display images, i presume that QE/CL is working.

The only thing i can't get to work is the resolution it is allways at 1024x768 and i can't change it. on my case the system is cloning the displays, it is sending the same picture to both lcd and monitor at 1024x768.
is there a way i can fix this to at least have 1280x1024 in the monitor ?


Thanks

#800
righteye

righteye

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 346 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Romania

i got an asus f3jp x1700 id 71d5, the lcd inverter is broken and i can only work with an external monitor.

i have instaled Hazard and updated it to 10.6.4, mandatory update since i instaled xcode and ios 4 SDK.

The Graphics card works, at least system profiler doesn't say no kext loaded, and grab display images, i presume that QE/CL is working.

The only thing i can't get to work is the resolution it is allways at 1024x768 and i can't change it. on my case the system is cloning the displays, it is sending the same picture to both lcd and monitor at 1024x768.
is there a way i can fix this to at least have 1280x1024 in the monitor ?


Thanks

Try using GraphicsMode=1280x1024@60 in boot list or try using DFP1 injecton of EDID from external monitor, that mus be made inside the injector you use, under or above LVDS,EDID data.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy