Jump to content

Marvin's AMD Utility


  • Please log in to reply
63 replies to this topic

#41
tulse

tulse

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
It doesn't launch :(
I run OS Tiger in VMware Workstation with connected Leopard as a virtual disk.

I download "Marvin's AMD Utility", unpack, lauch .app and… nothing.
I even tried to run it in terminal ("open M*.app") and it (terminal) says nothing too.

In the properties I see Architecture "Intel, PowerPC", but not AMD or something. Aslo I cannot launch other applications like Joost, Twitterific of iTunes, which I downloaded for testing.
Can anybody help me? :)

#42
bofh41

bofh41

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
Hi, im trying to launch your app but it exits with the errormsg that it cannot run on my platform.
Im running Zephyrs Leopard 10.5.2 rev2 and your patcher is already preinstalled ...

profiler says about my processor:

Modellname: Mac
Modell-Identifizierung: System Product Name
Prozessortyp: AMD Athlon™ 64 Processor 3700+
Prozessorgeschwindigkeit: 2.2 GHz
Gesamtzahl der Kerne: 1
L2-Cache: 1 MB
CPU-Funktionen: FPU VME DE PSE TSC MSR PAE MCE CX8 APIC SEP MTRR PGE MCA CMOV PAT PSE36 CLFSH MMX FXSR SSE SSE2 SSE3
Speicher: 2 GB
Busgeschwindigkeit: 800 MHz
Boot-ROM-Version: Hack.88Z.int.0sh.061193037 (Phoenix Technologies, LTD)
Seriennummer: YM8659M6W0A

Can someone give me a pointer on what is going wrong? How would i have to patch this app manually?

cu Bofh41

#43
stooovie

stooovie

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 41 posts
Hi, Marvin runs, finds several CPUIDs and outputs a AMD.Patch.Folder on Desktop. But there`s just Decrypts, Logs and Patches subfolders. No Patcher anywhere. What gives?

Thanks!

#44
stooovie

stooovie

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 41 posts
I`ve found the patcher in Package, never mind.


BUT! when I try to run marvin in the same Leopard install that I want to be patched, it says that there are no encrypted binaries (which there aren`t), but there are 37 CPUIDs. Is it so that Marvin can patch only encrypted binaries? Thanks!

#45
netfast2006

netfast2006

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
i really don't have any idea on how to use Marvin's amd utility... i need step by step instruction on how to use this program.... i cant patch IPHONE SDK.... every time i try to patch anything ... no decrypts comes up, no patches just some stupid log.........\


can some body please tell me how to use this program

#46
Kamikaze_Cheese

Kamikaze_Cheese

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 43 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Australia

i really don't have any idea on how to use Marvin's amd utility... i need step by step instruction on how to use this program.... i cant patch IPHONE SDK.... every time i try to patch anything ... no decrypts comes up, no patches just some stupid log.........\
can some body please tell me how to use this program

http://forum.insanel...showtopic=78434

#47
Jake52

Jake52

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts
Can i youse this for apps or what . can i youse sofware updat im such a n00b tho

#48
MacMeGosh

MacMeGosh

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 23 posts
Don't feel bad, i'm wondering the same thing... I'm new to this stuff as well.

#49
ImperfectSense

ImperfectSense

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
I recieved the following error when trying to patch OS X 10.5.5:

+File PATCHED successfully -- spuid address 002bb8dd patch_address: E308DD
**** err059 - cpuid patch - patch verification ERROR
* -- patch address: E6142C base address: 00002790 cpuid address: 002ec42c
* -- i386 offset: 00B76000 text offset: 00001790
* -- Found bytes: 670f Search bytes: 0fa2

and then it proceeds to undo all of the patches it made prior to that.

Any idea what my next step would be? Or is it just a bad 10.5.5 image and I gotta go find another one?

#50
Crox

Crox

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
The app doesn't launch in tiger... am I doing something wrong?

#51
jaxparo

jaxparo

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 42 posts
Doesn't even launch for me in 10.5.6? Here's the crash log just in case Marvin reads this:

Process: Marvin's AMD Utility [155]
Path: /Applications/Utilities/Marvin's AMD Utility v.25.app/Contents/Resources/Marvin's AMD Utility.app/Contents/MacOS/Marvin's AMD Utility
Identifier: Marvin's AMD Utility
Version: ??? (???)
Code Type: X86 (Native)
Parent Process: applet [154]

Date/Time: 2009-04-26 00:06:20.130 -0500
OS Version: Mac OS X 10.5.6 (9G66)
Report Version: 6

Exception Type: EXC_BAD_INSTRUCTION (SIGILL)
Exception Codes: 0x0000000000000001, 0x0000000000000000
Crashed Thread: Unknown

Backtrace not available

Unknown thread crashed with X86 Thread State (32-bit):
eax: 0x000000c5 ebx: 0xbffff0c8 ecx: 0xbfffefd8 edx: 0x00172839
edi: 0x00000000 esi: 0x00000000 ebp: 0xbffff034 esp: 0xbfffefd8
ss: 0x0000001f efl: 0x00010206 eip: 0x0017280f cs: 0x00000017
ds: 0x0000001f es: 0x0000001f fs: 0x00000000 gs: 0x00000000
cr2: 0xbfffeffc

Binary images description not available

#52
Entelexiya

Entelexiya

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
Good time all, I have a Toshiba Sattellite A135-S4487.
The problem here is, put the MAC OS X and windows 7, but for Macau Wi-Fi module for the Intel 3945 chipset drivers are no where to put the system off.
And the crux of the matter, found the Wi-Fi module with a chipset from Broadcoma BCM4311 driver has seen both systems, but the Wai-Fai vklyuchaetsya not through the switch is included without emotion. Clicking fuktion + F8 does nothing, tried hard to second place with native whist drive did not help.

Can this unit to the parent as to set the windows and MAC it normally seen, and that it worked properly?
How can I re-ask the BIOS to see it as their own?

or how can I do for everything to work?

#53
Giuly

Giuly

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 19 posts
Hi,
after opening the Utility and type in my passwort, the Hack freezes. So, is it possible to add the functionality to create the "Package" from commandline? Maybe the program just needs to be recompiled in Xcode 3 to work, is the creator around and could try to recompile it?
Could anyone provide some else way to patch the cpuids?

Greets

#54
altima

altima

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
hey folks! did any of you manage to patch the 2009-005 security update with this app? I failed: it could not decrypt something encrypted =((( my amd-machine has a tiger (10.4.11) running on it.

#55
deesto

deesto

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 87 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NY USA
Unfortunately this app has frozen my machine every time I've tried to use it in every release.

#56
madcapslaugh

madcapslaugh

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Excuse me if I sound retarded but I'm still lost here.

I have a working Tiger 10.4.10 install (see sig) and would like to know what exactly I have to do after getting the Leopard DVD.

Thx


about how to patch using this Marvin AMD Utility
1. Run Marvin AMD Utility and Enter password.
2. Select options number 2 which is ” Create Patcher Package ”
3. Browse to the location of the Location you wish to patch then run it
4. a folder of AMD.Patch folder will appear in Dekstop
5. Copy the file cpuid.txt out from the patch folder to another volume of hard drive.
6. Select options number 3 and uncheck the simulation mode.
7. In the select Cpuid file, browse to the folder you had copied earlier in steps 5, in the select a volume, browse to the location you wish to patch, which is you had done in steps 3
8. Run the process
9. Another log file is created.
10. Patching is Succesful and Restart your Computer..
thanx to Arya Juanda with the provided blog,
its just me that who is lack of determination and the will of trying.
thanks alot for allow me to put some comment on this blog..

#57
deesto

deesto

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 87 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NY USA

about how to patch using this Marvin AMD Utility
1. Run Marvin AMD Utility and Enter password.
2. Select options number 2 which is ” Create Patcher Package ”
...

You forgot Step 1.5: Reboot your machine by hand, as it has just locked up completely. Return to Step 1.

thanks alot for allow me to put some comment on this blog..

this is a blog?

#58
rocketero

rocketero

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

DON'T PANIC!

Folks - let's put on our thinking caps.

Marvin's utility runs on OSX. So, to run it, you need to have a running OSX installation. And if it is running, it doesn't need Marvin's utility.

So, you need an installation of OSX that isn't running for Marvin's utility to patch.

To summarize - one OSX partition with OSX that runs and another partition with an OSX installation that needs to be patched.

And neither partition has to be Leopard. You can patch 10.4.6 if that is what you desire.


I have to say that I TOTALLY agree with you.

I have an AMD processor PC with several OS (windows vistax64, Windows 7_x64, SuSe 11.1_x64, XPx64 and Ubuntux64).

I created another partition to install Mac OSX 10.6.0, the one created by "hazard".

It installs but once it reboots it gets the "PANIC attack", and how I suppose to apply this Marvin patch if I for starters can not have a running Mac OSX system ???????

#59
deesto

deesto

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 87 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NY USA

I have to say that I TOTALLY agree with you.

I have an AMD processor PC with several OS (windows vistax64, Windows 7_x64, SuSe 11.1_x64, XPx64 and Ubuntux64).

I created another partition to install Mac OSX 10.6.0, the one created by "hazard".

It installs but once it reboots it gets the "PANIC attack", and how I suppose to apply this Marvin patch if I for starters can not have a running Mac OSX system ???????

I can't say that I totally agree with all of this (I have seen Marvin's AMD Utility work on a machine with a single OSX partition; it just doesn't work on mine), but I do agree that it would be nice to have something that allows you to boot into the partition so you can make adjustments, instead of requiring that you boot into the partition first before making adjustments with the utility, which is what you need the utility for in the first place ... if that makes any sense.

#60
nypnyc

nypnyc

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 16 posts

I have to say that I TOTALLY agree with you.

I have an AMD processor PC with several OS (windows vistax64, Windows 7_x64, SuSe 11.1_x64, XPx64 and Ubuntux64).

I created another partition to install Mac OSX 10.6.0, the one created by "hazard".

It installs but once it reboots it gets the "PANIC attack", and how I suppose to apply this Marvin patch if I for starters can not have a running Mac OSX system ???????



i have a suggestion, but highly improbable...
install *any* version of osx in a virtual machine, and run the patcher there.
I know this sounds dumb, but I have a VM of windows just to run keygens ;)

piece





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy