Jump to content

OS X on Virtualbox: Has it been done?


  • Please log in to reply
53 replies to this topic

#1
KirbySaysHi

KirbySaysHi

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 115 posts
  • Gender:Male
I did a little bit of searching, and most posts turned up with, "why would you want to use that, just use vmware!"

The answer is that virtualbox is free! And I hear that it's faster too (it certainly is for running Windows...).

Anywho, I'm running Ubuntu 7.10, and when I try to boot an os x install DVD (Jas 10.4.8 + all the patches), it gets past loading kexts (loading extensions.mkext), then when it switches to the proper resolution the whole thing just crashes, with no error at all. At least, there is no visible error. I've tried a couple of different discs, all of which I know to work, and the same thing happens. I've also tried disabling ACPI, platform=x86pc... I get the same thing everytime. Any ideas, folks?

EDIT:::
Apparently, this is due to my processor possibly not having PAE. It's a Pentium M 1.5ghz. This is dumb. Regardless, I read on another post to try vmware version 5, so I'm downloading a copy of server now. I tried version 6 of vmware workstation, and it gave me the non-pae machine error, even after adding "paeve=true" in my configuration file. Also, I discovered that virtualbox doesn't even support PAE, according this blog.

EDIT Part Deux:::
Server version 5 threw the same error. Is there any solution for me? It's funny, since I can totally install OS X natively, but I'd like to try some virtualization as well.

#2
~pcwiz

~pcwiz

    InsanelyMac V.I.P.

  • Retired
  • 5,900 posts
  • Gender:Male
VMware Server is free and it can run OSx86 fine. Download a copy of VMware Server and follow my guide:

http://######.com/so...vmwareosx86.htm

#3
KirbySaysHi

KirbySaysHi

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 115 posts
  • Gender:Male
I did follow your guide, and I did download server, which is what the second edit of my first post said. I think the problem is actually that my processor (a Pentium M) is incompatible with the PAE instruction set.

#4
leopard.pwnd

leopard.pwnd

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

<br />VMware Server is free and it can run OSx86 fine. Download a copy of VMware Server and follow my guide:<br /><br /><a href="http://######.com/so...mwareosx86.htm" target="_blank">http://######.com/so...sx86.htm</a><br />

<br /><br /><br />

wow, that makes absolutely no sense. Why on earth would discourage someone who wants to use open source? If you really would wanna live up your name "pcwiz" open source is the way to go. Sorry to brake this news to you. Besides it's Vmware is NOT FREE. They give you a cripple version to make you happy about but not full features like VirtualBox. On top of that is not even open source, therefore IT IS NOT FREE. They are just using "free" as a gimmick.

KirbySaysHi I fully support your idea. I am also looking forward for InsanelyMAC to create a VirtualBox section. It should be a perfect alternative to propiertary Vmware. Don't stop trying to use VirtualBox because ONE lone hater.

And please, err... ~PCWIZ, inform yourself before discouraging ppl of alternatives http://forum.insanel...showtopic=40487 and http://forums.virtua...opic.php?t=2076

Open Source Power!!

#5
~pcwiz

~pcwiz

    InsanelyMac V.I.P.

  • Retired
  • 5,900 posts
  • Gender:Male
OK, this could be a nice arguementFirst of all,

I fully support open-source software but for the majority of people, Virtual Box did not work although for some it did. I don't hate VirtualBox, no need to get so harsh. Did I make any mention that I hate VirtualBox? I am downloading a copy of Virtual Box right now and I am gonna give it a try on JaS 10.4.8. I will see if it works.

And I agree that VMware is not free but VMware Server is NOT a crippled version. It has all or most of the features of Workstation. I think by
CRIPPLED you mean VMware Player which can only run VMs, not make them.Next time read and think better before you post something like that :(

EDIT: Just tested it now

My verdict:Doesn't work. With JaS 10.4.8 anyway. I get a constant "EBIOS Read Error" when booting the DVD. And the guy in this thread:

http://forums.virtua...opic.php?t=2076

Mentions that he is using the Deadmoo image. No wonder JaS didn't work. Who uses Deadmoo nowadays? If you want to use Deadmoo, go straight ahead with VirtualBox but if you want something more modern then use VMware. Its not a matter of that I don't like VirtualBox. I don't really have a choice, do I?

#6
hut

hut

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
The important aspect of VirtualBox vs. VmWare is that because VB is open-source, it should be possible to develop the equivalent of VM tools for OS/X, i.e : resizable screen, quick mouse grab, perhaps even CI/QE.

#7
~pcwiz

~pcwiz

    InsanelyMac V.I.P.

  • Retired
  • 5,900 posts
  • Gender:Male
Well if the only OS X working on VirtualBox is Deadmoo, you can assure that a VMware tools clone won't be developed when OS X doesn't even work (cause Deadmoo isn't even worth developing tools for)

#8
JustInSane

JustInSane

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 67 posts
delete (lol.. sorry.. thought I was on that other mac board.. won't mention the name :()

#9
NSCXP2005

NSCXP2005

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 585 posts
  • Location:Manchester UK
pcwiz, is JaS Mac OS X 10.4.8 Intel/AMD SSE2 SSE3 PPF1+PPF2, better than iATKOS?

#10
godzilla8nj

godzilla8nj

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
Has anyone considered porting it from VMWare to VirtualBox?
https://wiki.ubuntu...._Qemu_ _VdiTool
(I'm not claiming it would run, though we'd be at least further than crashing before install. The directions are a little involved for me, but I may give it a shot if no one has.)

#11
codingrobot

codingrobot

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 13 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:AT
What do you need to port ?!
VMWare disks are working perfectly in VirtualBox.

#12
Donk

Donk

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,922 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Manchester UK

What do you need to port ?!
VMWare disks are working perfectly in VirtualBox.


VirtualBox needs to be able to support Darwin hardware requirements. A good overview is here http://sites.google....pers/virtualbox. Although the VB forums seem to think that the work isn't likely to be done, due to misunderstanding of Leopard EULA and the new clause to allow virtualization.

#13
Galen

Galen

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 54 posts
Here's the Tiger process with VirtualBox, should anybody be interested:
http://forums.virtua...opic.php?t=2076

This is really compelling, because VirtualBox beats VMWare in terms of performance when running deadmoo. And VirtualBox is free, open source, and available for even more platforms than VMWare!

It seems possible to use VirtualBox with Leopard too:
http://alex.csgraf.de/self/?qemu/

Problem is that I can't get it to work. I've been using the pcwiz vmware vmdk as a handy starting point. Even with safe mode, adjusting the res down, setting all the backwards compatibility flags I can think of (-f, x86pc, etc.) I can't get it to fully boot. It loads the kexts, then VirtualBox either just abruptly closes, or reports a fatal error and gives a logfile that is (to me) both long and meaningless.

I've also tried almost every combination of settings in VirtualBox. Nothing seems to work. I've tried the native and ToH kernels. I will occasionally hack at it, but if I knew the source of the issue, it would go so far in helping guide the process.

It's so close, I can smell it. Anybody want to help? Contribute suggestions?

#14
gizmoarena

gizmoarena

    OS X fanatic

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 266 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Melbourne, Australia

<br /><br /><br />

wow, that makes absolutely no sense. Why on earth would discourage someone who wants to use open source? If you really would wanna live up your name "pcwiz" open source is the way to go. Sorry to brake this news to you. Besides it's Vmware is NOT FREE. They give you a cripple version to make you happy about but not full features like VirtualBox. On top of that is not even open source, therefore IT IS NOT FREE. They are just using "free" as a gimmick.

KirbySaysHi I fully support your idea. I am also looking forward for InsanelyMAC to create a VirtualBox section. It should be a perfect alternative to propiertary Vmware. Don't stop trying to use VirtualBox because ONE lone hater.

And please, err... ~PCWIZ, inform yourself before discouraging ppl of alternatives http://forum.insanel...showtopic=40487 and http://forums.virtua...opic.php?t=2076

Open Source Power!!


I am a VBox fan by the way.

Now, only VMware isn't the only proprietary software, VirtualBox is under the SUN hood and declared as proprietary software. Yes, there is a open source version, known as VirtualBox OSE. Which is way crippled version comparing to the VirtualBox non-open source version itself (let alone the VMware). Try using USB devices and shared folders with the OSE version).

I personally do not like VMware,
#1 - it takes a lot of spaces
#2 - it creates some services, that I do not like
#3 - it creates 2 virtual network interfaces, which VBox doesnt
#4 - better integration, better support by the gues OS's

VBox is
#1 - takes ignorable space
#2 - faster, really faster

I'd call it a tie, and stop arguing about which one is better. Both are nice free softwares, both has pros and cons. None is best.

I tried, both tiger and leo using VBox. Both of them stopped working before loading the GUI installer. I forgot the error message, but I lost hope. :D

#15
Donk

Donk

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,922 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Manchester UK

It's so close, I can smell it. Anybody want to help? Contribute suggestions?

http://sites.google....pers/virtualbox explains what is still needed. Certainly looks like VirtualBox hackers will need to do some work similar to that done on Qemu.

#16
Galen

Galen

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 54 posts
I don't think VirtualBox even needs to be necessarily hacked for basic OS X functionality. I think some little changes to OS X would be sufficient to get it booting, if I am understanding properly.

Obviously, a lot of enhancements could be ahead to make it even better :P

#17
Donk

Donk

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,922 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Manchester UK

I don't think VirtualBox even needs to be necessarily hacked for basic OS X functionality. I think some little changes to OS X would be sufficient to get it booting, if I am understanding properly.

Obviously, a lot of enhancements could be ahead to make it even better :blink:


I'm not so sure, especially regarding some of those low level issues. Maybe the latest voodoo kernel might be useful, as could overcome things like the FSB problem.

#18
Galen

Galen

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 54 posts
Yeah, the FSB issue isn't an issue with those "voodoo kernels" :D

Actually, I didn't have FSB issues even before I brought out the voodoo...

The problem I'm stuck on is that the VM dies at a certain point during boot, right after all or almost all the kexts have loaded. I'm pretty sure some kext is killing the VM, but I'm not sure which one.

#19
nikoncanon

nikoncanon

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 32 posts
  • Gender:Male
bump

Cause i want to see this happen cause I don't have a pc that can run osx.







Asus G50VT X1

#20
sunsu

sunsu

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Texas

bump

Cause i want to see this happen cause I don't have a pc that can run osx.







Asus G50VT X1


bumpers! I'd love this. I have a legit copy of vmware workstation, but it just doesn't compare with the performance of virtualbox. Also, vmware workstation 6.5 doesnt support hardware virtualization on AMD Windsor CPUs (though they fully support amd-v??!?!!?).





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy