Web Browser Loading Time

10 posts in this topic

OK,

I'm relatively new to the Mac Universe. I've tried several web browsers for OS X, Safari, Opera, Camino, and Firefox, and for some reason they all render web pages rather slowly compared to a Windows based machine running Vista with Firefox and Explorer on the same network. Are there some settings that need to be tweaked? It happens using both wireless-g and wired network connections.

Thanks,

Dave

MacBook2,1

OS X 10.4.10

Qwest DSL

Go to websites with less images.

Wow! I never thought of that. Smart :) !

Knowing that Unix-like OSs are a lot more robust than Windows ever hoped on being, I broke down and took a page from my Windows tweaking days. I figured if it works in Windows, it should do as well in OS X. I just put in the DSN server addresses directly in the network setup. The Windows based machines on this network don't seem to need it and they still work just fine. I thought the router did all that. Seems silly this MacBook would... oh well. It finally works as one might expect. No more waiting on the web pages to start loading. :D

My question would now be, if this MacBook were ever to connect through a different ISP, would the user have to delete these DSN addresses in the network setup that are specific to this ISP? Yes, I'm a little vague on certain aspects of the technology. :P

Thanks,

Dave

Thanks for the interest.

Sorry I didn't make it clear. It was actually a DSN server issue. The Windows based machines on this network seem fine having the router take care of it... the lonely Mac, however, really experienced delays. I just entered the DSN server addresses directly into the network setup and now it's just fine.

Does anyone know why there would be such a difference?

Is IPv6 turned off in OS X?

Nope... I don't think so. At the bottom of the TCP/IP settings I am showing a IPv6 address and when I click "Configure Ipv6" it is set to "Automatically."