Jump to content

Maya 8.5 / 2008


  • Please log in to reply
42 replies to this topic

#1
arhopkins3

arhopkins3

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 33 posts
When you try to "activate" Maya on a PC or Mac, you supply the FlexLM licensing application with a key based on your ethernet's mac address. That's generated by editing the aw.dat file and applying it over awkeygen.exe on a PC.

That much I understand because I've done it several times for my PC... but it never works for my mac installation. When I use the EN2 mac address (the one that my Net is accessed through), it doesnt work... it says Invalid Host Identifier.

When I use the software utility to tell me which hardware identifiers it can use, on the PC I get about 5 mac addresses, on the Mac installation I get nothing. So how do I know which mac address to use, and if the FlexLM licensing utility isnt giving me any hardware identifiers to choose from, what do I do?

I badly need Maya on my mac installation for college.. any ideas guys?

--------------------------------------------------------------
UPDATE : PROBLEM FIXED...
--------------------------------------------------------------

Thanks VERY much for the advice/links smile.gif I now have Maya 2008 working on my Hackintosh (10.4.10 from 10.4.8)

For those reading this thread, here is a simple rundown of what to do

1. Download THIS FILE
2. Extract the kext file
3. Move it to /System/Library/Extensions and Authenticate the move/replace with your password
4. Open a terminal (Finder>go>utilities>terminal)
5. Type (without "" marks) "sudo su", press enter
6. When prompted, type your user password, press enter
7. Type "cd /System/Library/Extensions", press enter
8. Type "chown root:wheel IONetworkingFamily.kext", press enter
9. Type "chmod 755 IONetworkingFamily.kext", press enter
10. Type "rm /System/Library/Extensions.*", press enter
11. IMPORTANT: Go to Finder>Utilities and open DISK UTILITY.
12. Click on your MAC partition and click Repair Permissions
13. Reboot, licence maya as per instruction (ie, Aw.dat/awkeygen.exe)

Enjoy Maya and thanks OSX86MX



#2
pestana

pestana

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 22 posts
i have the same problem, no ethernet found tell me the Terminal with lmhostid command

#3
lucaspeed

lucaspeed

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 50 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Italy
Just launch System Prefs - Network and double click on "Integrated Ethernet" (don't worry if you don't use it for accessing the net).
In the "Ethernet" tab you'll find the MAC address to enter in the aw.dat file.

#4
arhopkins3

arhopkins3

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 33 posts
Its not that *I* can't find the MAC address, its that Mayas licensing utility doesnt seem to be able to. When you ask it for a list of hardware identifiers that it would accept for the mac address, it shows none (same pc on vista shows 5)

#5
pestana

pestana

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 22 posts
if we use a ethernet pci card from Intel, for example, that can be identified has native by the osx86 can solve this problem?????

#6
lucaspeed

lucaspeed

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 50 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Italy
Maya looks for "Integrated Ethernet" MAC address and you don't need to bother with any "licensing utility".
Just enter the SysPrefs MAC address in the aw.dat file and drop it on the keygen utility *IN WINDOWS*.
The resulting file goes in /var/flexlm/ (create it as necessary).

It works 100% of the time.

#7
arhopkins3

arhopkins3

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 33 posts
This is the problem I have. I've used lmcrypt and awkeygen on PC, as per instructions on both a Maya 8.5 and a Maya 2008 install but neither work.
When I check which hardware identifiers Maya is expecting to see, I see the image below. Any help/ideas? I've successfully gotten MacOS working on my PC and I've gotten CS3 Suite working etc... so I'm not being dumb... or am I?


Posted Image
Posted Image

#8
arhopkins3

arhopkins3

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 33 posts
Update: Still not working, not sure why :P

#9
blackfire920

blackfire920

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 58 posts
DearAll

Just want to addd some note on this matter, I did sucess on the MBP, but no light on x86, my x86 equipted with broadcom 5789 and it was able to connected the net and surf, but there's no Ethernet ID under system peference , than I check again via terminal, it did show the Ethernet ID, so I follow the usual way and no luck....so anyone score under x86; mind to shed more light....lastly anyone can tell me how to manually add the Ethernet ID before Boot (@ Darwin bootloader menu).... :rolleyes:

Cheers/Blackfire920

#10
TigerK_69

TigerK_69

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 38 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA
I have the same problem, anyone found a solution?

#11
ratmandu

ratmandu

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 16 posts
I believe there is a solution to this somewhere on the board. I will search for it now. I had the same problem a bit ago, and it was fixed by editing something either in the network controller kext file, or in the source for the driver, then compiling it. It has something to do with tricking OSX into thinking it is a built in (or "Integrated") network device. Once i did it, it had worked perfectly.. but this was several months ago.


EDIT: Here's a posting from Semthex's blog on how to do this. It involves recompiling the IONetwork.kext to make the network interface a "Primary" one.
http://www.semthex.c...o...22&Itemid=2

Good Luck!

#12
arhopkins3

arhopkins3

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 33 posts
Hey thanks for the information.... It sounds just what I need, unfortunately I'm new to kext editing and compiling. I'll use that page as a basis for further research. If anybody has any handy hints on how to edit then re-compile the kext mentioned in that semthex page, I'd be very grateful to get it.

#13
fagosu

fagosu

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 76 posts
  • Gender:Male
Have a look here:

http://forum.insanel...&...st&p=284019

It worked for me

#14
arhopkins3

arhopkins3

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 33 posts
Thanks VERY much for the advice/links :) I now have Maya 2008 working on my Hackintosh (10.4.10 from 10.4.8)

For those reading this thread, here is a simple rundown of what to do

1. Download THIS FILE
2. Extract the kext file
3. Move it to /System/Library/Extensions and Authenticate the move/replace with your password
4. Open a terminal (Finder>go>utilities>terminal)
5. Type (without "" marks) "sudo su", press enter
6. When prompted, type your user password, press enter
7. Type "cd /System/Library/Extensions", press enter
8. Type "chown root:wheel IONetworkingFamily.kext", press enter
9. Type "chmod 755 IONetworkingFamily.kext", press enter
10. Type "rm /System/Library/Extensions.*", press enter
11. IMPORTANT: Go to Finder>Utilities and open DISK UTILITY.
12. Click on your MAC partition and click Repair Permissions
13. Reboot, licence maya as per instruction (ie, Aw.dat/awkeygen.exe)

Enjoy Maya :) and thanks OSX86MX

#15
knobsi

knobsi

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 58 posts
@arhopkins3:

can you tell me your upgrade steps form 4.8 to 4.10 and with which kernel?
on my rig, maya2008 will not start. installation with aw.dat file was accepted.

with 10.4.8 jas on my intel rig maya starts without any problem. after updating to 10.4.9
it stops with the grey "you need to reboot" screen in the famous 4 different languages.

can you help me in this case?

knobsi

#16
xaax69

xaax69

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
pls help~
i hv done the steps you provided
but i cannot connect to the network...
it says: "could not find a PPPoE server."
wht can i do now..??.
pls help~~urgent :D

#17
arhopkins3

arhopkins3

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 33 posts

@arhopkins3:

can you tell me your upgrade steps form 4.8 to 4.10 and with which kernel?
on my rig, maya2008 will not start. installation with aw.dat file was accepted.

with 10.4.8 jas on my intel rig maya starts without any problem. after updating to 10.4.9
it stops with the grey "you need to reboot" screen in the famous 4 different languages.

can you help me in this case?

knobsi



I simply used Apple's Software Update to upgrade the Kernel from 10.4.8 to 10.4.10. I am using an uphuck install dvd (the latest release, intel only). It worked first time without bother.

As for your Maya not starting... I can't help as mine starts normally. If your aw.dat file is accepted correctly by the PCW app then its maybe worth just re-installing Maya ?

#18
legolas96

legolas96

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 27 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Vienna
what is the 13th step?

please help
thx

#19
fagosu

fagosu

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 76 posts
  • Gender:Male

Thanks VERY much for the advice/links :( I now have Maya 2008 working on my Hackintosh (10.4.10 from 10.4.8)

For those reading this thread, here is a simple rundown of what to do

1. Download THIS FILE
2. Extract the kext file
3. Move it to /System/Library/Extensions and Authenticate the move/replace with your password
4. Open a terminal (Finder>go>utilities>terminal)
5. Type (without "" marks) "sudo su", press enter
6. When prompted, type your user password, press enter
7. Type "cd /System/Library/Extensions", press enter
8. Type "chown root:wheel IONetworkingFamily.kext", press enter
9. Type "chmod 755 IONetworkingFamily.kext", press enter
10. Type "rm /System/Library/Extensions.*", press enter
11. IMPORTANT: Go to Finder>Utilities and open DISK UTILITY.
12. Click on your MAC partition and click Repair Permissions
13. Reboot, licence maya as per instruction (ie, Aw.dat/awkeygen.exe)

Enjoy Maya :D and thanks OSX86MX



No Problem, glad I was able to help .

#20
meandmysky

meandmysky

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
just wanna say thank you..

now i have maya 8.5 in hackintosh,





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy