MAC OS X vs. Linux

ChesWiz

23 posts in this topic

Hello PPL

I'm quite new to the MAC OS-X86 scene, and I am rather enthusiastic, so please forgive me if this issue was raised before, and kindly refer me to the correct forum thread...

A little history:

As a very long time computer user (does the model ZX-81 rings a bell anyone?), I've been in this computer industry for quite a while.

I looked into the OS-X history and found that it is built upon Darwin OS, which is based on some form of BSD, that in turn is derived from AT&T Unix => which means that OS-X is basically Unix.

Nothing new so far!

I've noticed that there is severe lack of device drivers for the upcoming OSx86 (essentially 3D Acc, Audio, etc.).

I also know that there are many Linux/Unix dist. that have many of these drivers available, and, being based and distributed under GPL/BSD License, allow the re-use of such code. though I am not familiar with the lisence under which the OS-X is distributed, but as it seems, most users on this forums don't give a donkie's tail about licenses (neither do I).

Anyway, my point is, (and correct me if I'm wrong), that those open drivers from linux can be used in OS-X with some minor modifications and a re-compilation.

all is needed is the source code for those drivers.

now, here comes the tricky part, can these sources be obtained from the hardware mfg.?

I believe so, since it's the mfg. interest to sell those products to MAC machines. (charge absurd prices for a piece of hardware that would cost fifth as much for PC). As far as I know, these drivers are consisted of small Binaries that actually handles the Hardware, and some HAL function providers, that are open coded.

I think that taking the binaries and fitting the code to the system, the result can run on any OS, namely OS-X

This all sounds simple, but is it really so? can someone enlighten me ?

oh, and here's another teaser, and maybe the subject of a whole new thread: